Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.555
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Covenant House cares for homeless and at-risk young people. They met the youth where they are - whether they need a warm meal, a place to sleep, help getting their GED or finding a good-paying, stable job. Covenant House treats each young person that walks through their door with unconditional love and absolute respect, as expressed in their mission statement. Sometimes it is the first time these young people have felt safe, loved, encouraged to believe in themselves. The work Covenant House does 24 a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year is so important, it is life changing and lifesaving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I hope that Covenant House can open additional shelters so they can help more young people leave the streets behind and move to life of self-sufficiency and hope.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

Covenant House has long impressed me with the wonderful work that it does with young adults. This age group can seem so grown up but often are hiding their suffering and injuries. If we can give them a hand to conquer their pain, they can develop into amazing persons. Covenant House is the means to making this happen.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I donated one time to this organization about 2 years ago. Since then, they have bombarded me with unsolicited mailings, each one more manipulative than the last. For a while I was getting a mailing at least every two weeks. As another reviewer said, they send junk regularly: useless, tiny blankets, mailing labels, cheap pens, tacky holiday cards, tiny gift bags and useless doodads. Clearly some fundraising company is making a mint off this outfit. According to Charity Navigator, only 67% of donations goes to actually caring for kids. Almost 20% of every dollar goes to fundraising. http://www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?bay=search.summary&orgid=4813#.UjEB0vvD9c8
If they have enough time and money to send this crap, why not spend more on actual children. Charity Navigator, a ratings aggregate web site that studies all aspects of charities, gives this group only 2 out 5 stars for handling finances.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I think I will stop contributing to this charity until those two money-hungry ones stop collecting salaries totaling over $500,000. Imagine how much help our children would receive if no salaries were paid. This is not a 100 per cent volunteer organization as their advertisements would suggest..

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

never agree to pay salaries to this degree. I would like to see promotions among volunteers with only expenses associated with conducting work for the organization reimbursed.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a donor for over 30 years and continue to be grateful for the amazing work Covenant Houe does not just for the children who come to its doors, but also, by its advocacy efforts, for all homeless, suffering children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Open more Covenant Houses.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 13, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Covenant House is an organization that i grew up with. At different times in my life almost every member of my family has done some sort of volunteer work for this organization. So I've had a pretty close hand view of the dedication and passion that this organization has for young people who are homeless, troubled and often have no place to go. This organization has weathered some difficult blows and it has grown and continued in its mission despite difficult times.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I recently attended their Night of Broadway Stars event, and this is one impressive charity! Their kids seem to have a lot of heart, even though most of them come from abusive homes and bad circumstances in general. Kevin Ryan seems to be doing a phenomenal job as President/representative. I'm very proud to say that I'm a donor and will continue to support Covenant House and their cause. - M. Carl Thomas

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
June 12, 2013

Great charity. Doing a lot for the homeless and runaway kids in so many cities of NorthAmerica. Thank you KevinRyan for doing God's work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Tell them to go to more cities to do their wonderful work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Like the song says, "Children are our future" but far too many children are in horrible circumstances with no hope for a productive future. Covenant House people work miracles with young people who are trying to better their lives. If they need education, they get that. If job search help is needed, they get that. If hungry, they are fed. If homeless, they are sheltered. My favorite charity for changing our world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure there was one in every city where young people need help.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 3, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 3, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

Ideals are great. Especially when you're over compensated for them. $301,387 Kevin Ryan President

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers