Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.645
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Covenant House is often the last buffer between homeless kids and fulfillment of their high at-risk status for predators. Covenant House's advocacy for homeless kids is most evident in their tremendous outreach program and they fill in the gap that families, schools and government agencies cannot begin to complete...the kid's emotional need for love and protection and a promise that though these kids may have nothing, they are indeed important and can rise above street life and its material limitations to become productive, faithful and conscientious members of society. They offer hope to those who have none.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

In the past I've attended their "Deck The Halls" Event. I helped decorate the shelter s well as wrap Xmas gifts donated to the residents. I'm looking forward to doing it again this year as I enjoyed volunteering their. The kids seem to enjoy the atmosphere there and that's something that I can support!
June 7, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 7, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

So I volunteer at Covenant House. I'm a active duty military member that has served over +10 years. I've two degrees. I'm not an idiot. Copy all, on the salaries...thought however. If this non-profit has survived as long as it has, do you want to pay a good leader to stay there? Or should they be selfless and work modestly? I dunno. That's above my pay grade but I'd be willing to hear both sides of the argument a bit more.

I have a comment on those complaining about all the stuff the Covenant House sends to people. You may not be homeless--but you may know someone who is. Or you may know someone who knows someone who is. Also you may donate to the organization. Free food, free laundry, free clothes, free job search, free resume building, free medical (location dependent). And they still have to pay salaries, benefits, upkeep, etc. I can say the key to fund raising is connections and social networks....from what I've seen anyway. Again I may be full of it and none of you may believe me but guess what I'll doing most weeks? I'll be out in the city every Friday night handing out covenant house sunscreen, chapstick, business cards, wrist bands along with snacks and water just to let boys know they don't have to get beat and girls that don't deserve to be touched at night.

Again maybe I'm wearing rose colored sunglasses. But I see more good than bad.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The turn over rate with staff is high. I think they could be more effective if they could retain their staff long term. I have no idea how to do this though. The military takes care of us pretty good. The covenant house I fear doesn't have the same resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 30, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

Covenant House is an excellent organization working with disadvantaged youths throughout North and Central America. I got to know it very well when I was a volunteer for their NINE-LINE - a hotline for youths at risk -(800-999-9999). Definitely, a donation worthy organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By working on their Hotline, the NINE-LINE

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers