Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.590915
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
June 13, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 13, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Covenant House is an organization that i grew up with. At different times in my life almost every member of my family has done some sort of volunteer work for this organization. So I've had a pretty close hand view of the dedication and passion that this organization has for young people who are homeless, troubled and often have no place to go. This organization has weathered some difficult blows and it has grown and continued in its mission despite difficult times.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I recently attended their Night of Broadway Stars event, and this is one impressive charity! Their kids seem to have a lot of heart, even though most of them come from abusive homes and bad circumstances in general. Kevin Ryan seems to be doing a phenomenal job as President/representative. I'm very proud to say that I'm a donor and will continue to support Covenant House and their cause. - M. Carl Thomas

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

What people don't realize is that Covenant House welcomes kids who truly have no other place on earth to go. These are kids who runaway from abuse by the very people who should be loving them. They runaway from traffickers and pimps. And sometimes they run away from the unavoidable circumstances of having to survive alone on the streets.

From the leadership of Kevin Ryan down to the receptionist who greets young people when they take that courageous first step through the doors of Covenant House, this organization is wholeheartedly committee to saving lives.

God bless everyone who works at Covenant House and God bless the young people who find solace there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

There is place where the doors are open 24/7 365 days a year -- and any young person in need can walk in and be greeting with unconditional love, safe shelter and life-changing services. That place is called Covenant House.

Youth homelessness has become epidemic in this country, but
thanks to Covenant House more than 51,00 kids escaped life on the streets last year. If you visit www.covenanthouse.org, you will see that this organization has a 40 year history of providing lasting solutions that help kids transition from homelessness to self-sufficiency. Isn't that what America needs right now?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help Covenant House open more locations so that even more kids could receive a second chance at life.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
June 12, 2013

Great charity. Doing a lot for the homeless and runaway kids in so many cities of NorthAmerica. Thank you KevinRyan for doing God's work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Tell them to go to more cities to do their wonderful work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 3, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 3, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

Ideals are great. Especially when you're over compensated for them. $301,387 Kevin Ryan President

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 1, 2012
15 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 1, 2012
15 people found this review helpful

I work hard for my money and like to see that it is used for the reason I donate. I think the Covenant House concept is wonderful...we don't do enough to help our "throw away" children. However, I cannot donate to a charity where the two top people make over 500K total. Is this necesary? I donate to NJ Special Olympics. The Head make 150K. This is a good salary but reasonable....Why does Covenant house have to have TWO people making this kind of money. Why two people. Seems very over the top to me...I bet it didn't start out this way. I did get unsolicited mailings with a book. The book was very moving so I wanted to donate and see where my money would go. I don't think it would touch these children since these two people have to get paid their over-the-top salary. It's unfortunate.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 25, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

The work that Covenant House does in Latin America is hands-down the best work I've seen done with street children anywhere in the world. In Honduras they serve more homeless kids than the government, and they NEVER shut their doors. Who else in the world takes on the expense of being completely funded by individuals (thus the high fundraising costs) so that they have the flexibility to do this? No one. It's so much easier to accept grants and shut your doors when you reach your expected results or when the grant ends, but Covenant House has a real commitment to these kids. Stunning work, I promise you. Keep it up, Kevin Ryan & team, and keep those doors open.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Covenant House first touched my heart when I was still just a child myself. The organization's philosophy that all children deserve "absolute respect and unconditional love" is not only correct, but has been proven effective in rescuing tens of thousands of homeless children and young adults. Covenant House does not just give out charity, it gives a path to self sufficiency. Its success has been proven, there are business owners and doctors working today that once lived at Covenant House. Covenant House provides a clear, attainable and permanent escape from life on the street.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have never served on a Board before and I was lucky to have been asked to join the Covenant House team 2 years ago. I am constantly inspired by the pure HEART of this organization. From the youth they serve to the staff who work with the youth every day to the administrative team who keeps CH running, I have never seen a group so committed to serving their mission and so willing to change when it is necessary. The youth come first here. They have saved so many lives, they are a home to those without. I feel blessed to be a part of the family...

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a board member, volunteer, through the testimonials of youth (and adults) whose lives have been changed for the better because of Covenant House.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We need more beds, outreach vans and more funding to serve the many kids in need.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers