Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.58145
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

For two years I have participated in their Broadway Sleep Out and volunteered. I've met the kids whose lives have been forever impacted by the good Covenant House does, seen the pride the staff takes in their facilities, and directed homeless kids to a warm meal and the help they need. I wholeheartedly endorse the vital work they do here!
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

Covenant House is truly an inspirational organization. I suggested that my younger Cousin after a major falling out with my Aunt. Covenant House took him right him and supplied him with food,clothing, and shelter. They've even helped him continue his education, maintain a job, and taught him how to save money for his very own apartment.

The change in my Cousin's behavior and the impact that Covenant House has had on him may have saved his life. He's raved about the staff and how it's easy to tell that they truly care about the residents. For the first time I feel that he's respecting other people, and sincerely trying to maximize his potential. Also, he took the first step and mended his relationship with my Aunt :-) .

I've seen first hand how Covenant House can help homeless youth, and troubled teens in general. I thank them for their effort and dedication, and will continue to support them moving forward.
June 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

So I volunteer at Covenant House. I'm a active duty military member that has served over +10 years. I've two degrees. I'm not an idiot. Copy all, on the salaries...thought however. If this non-profit has survived as long as it has, do you want to pay a good leader to stay there? Or should they be selfless and work modestly? I dunno. That's above my pay grade but I'd be willing to hear both sides of the argument a bit more.

I have a comment on those complaining about all the stuff the Covenant House sends to people. You may not be homeless--but you may know someone who is. Or you may know someone who knows someone who is. Also you may donate to the organization. Free food, free laundry, free clothes, free job search, free resume building, free medical (location dependent). And they still have to pay salaries, benefits, upkeep, etc. I can say the key to fund raising is connections and social networks....from what I've seen anyway. Again I may be full of it and none of you may believe me but guess what I'll doing most weeks? I'll be out in the city every Friday night handing out covenant house sunscreen, chapstick, business cards, wrist bands along with snacks and water just to let boys know they don't have to get beat and girls that don't deserve to be touched at night.

Again maybe I'm wearing rose colored sunglasses. But I see more good than bad.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The turn over rate with staff is high. I think they could be more effective if they could retain their staff long term. I have no idea how to do this though. The military takes care of us pretty good. The covenant house I fear doesn't have the same resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 9, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 9, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

In 2008, I mustered up the courage to leave home and went to the Covenant house. At the time, I was both fearful of the idea of staying at home and going to a homeless shelter. Here was my dilemma, if I stay at home, I faced more verbal and physical abuse everyday, if I went to the homeless shelter, I was going to get beat up, robbed, and basically anything else they portrayed in movies about homeless shelters because that was the only reference I had at the time. Looking back now, it sounds even funny to me, but at the time, it was my reality. As I was on the train headed for the Covenant House, I thought of every possible outcome, one of which was being rejected and sent home. I broke a sweat and thought to myself? How could I go home after leaving? Am I doomed to wander the streets? My duffel bag is pretty heavy. To my surprise, when I got there, I was accepted right away and then the rest is history.

Last spring, I graduated from SUNY Plattsburgh with a bachelors in Theatre and Marketing. Currently, I am working on my masters so that I can open up my own homeless shelter for teens to give back the help I once received. I believe that those who receive help and don't give it back it never deserved it in the first place. Covenant House gave me reason, provided me with safety, and ultimately saved my future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

September 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Covenant House cares for homeless and at-risk young people. They met the youth where they are - whether they need a warm meal, a place to sleep, help getting their GED or finding a good-paying, stable job. Covenant House treats each young person that walks through their door with unconditional love and absolute respect, as expressed in their mission statement. Sometimes it is the first time these young people have felt safe, loved, encouraged to believe in themselves. The work Covenant House does 24 a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year is so important, it is life changing and lifesaving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I hope that Covenant House can open additional shelters so they can help more young people leave the streets behind and move to life of self-sufficiency and hope.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

Covenant House has long impressed me with the wonderful work that it does with young adults. This age group can seem so grown up but often are hiding their suffering and injuries. If we can give them a hand to conquer their pain, they can develop into amazing persons. Covenant House is the means to making this happen.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I donated one time to this organization about 2 years ago. Since then, they have bombarded me with unsolicited mailings, each one more manipulative than the last. For a while I was getting a mailing at least every two weeks. As another reviewer said, they send junk regularly: useless, tiny blankets, mailing labels, cheap pens, tacky holiday cards, tiny gift bags and useless doodads. Clearly some fundraising company is making a mint off this outfit. According to Charity Navigator, only 67% of donations goes to actually caring for kids. Almost 20% of every dollar goes to fundraising. http://www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?bay=search.summary&orgid=4813#.UjEB0vvD9c8
If they have enough time and money to send this crap, why not spend more on actual children. Charity Navigator, a ratings aggregate web site that studies all aspects of charities, gives this group only 2 out 5 stars for handling finances.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I think I will stop contributing to this charity until those two money-hungry ones stop collecting salaries totaling over $500,000. Imagine how much help our children would receive if no salaries were paid. This is not a 100 per cent volunteer organization as their advertisements would suggest..

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

never agree to pay salaries to this degree. I would like to see promotions among volunteers with only expenses associated with conducting work for the organization reimbursed.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a donor for over 30 years and continue to be grateful for the amazing work Covenant Houe does not just for the children who come to its doors, but also, by its advocacy efforts, for all homeless, suffering children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Open more Covenant Houses.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 13, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Covenant House is an organization that i grew up with. At different times in my life almost every member of my family has done some sort of volunteer work for this organization. So I've had a pretty close hand view of the dedication and passion that this organization has for young people who are homeless, troubled and often have no place to go. This organization has weathered some difficult blows and it has grown and continued in its mission despite difficult times.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers