Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.645
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Covenant House is often the last buffer between homeless kids and fulfillment of their high at-risk status for predators. Covenant House's advocacy for homeless kids is most evident in their tremendous outreach program and they fill in the gap that families, schools and government agencies cannot begin to complete...the kid's emotional need for love and protection and a promise that though these kids may have nothing, they are indeed important and can rise above street life and its material limitations to become productive, faithful and conscientious members of society. They offer hope to those who have none.
October 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 12, 2013

What people don't realize is that Covenant House welcomes kids who truly have no other place on earth to go. These are kids who runaway from abuse by the very people who should be loving them. They ... more

October 29, 2014

Instead of providing "three hots and a cot" like traditional shelters, Covenant House offers this wide array of services which help homeless kids become self-sufficient.

I think that's what sets them apart from so many organizations. They don't just provide a temporary fix to the
situation... they invest a tremendous amount of time in each young person's life so they transform into successful adults. There is job training and placement, life skills classes, independent living coaches and so much more. But most importantly, Covenant House's loving staff is ready to step in and be the family that most of these kids never had.
June 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

What people don't realize is that Covenant House welcomes kids who truly have no other place on earth to go. These are kids who runaway from abuse by the very people who should be loving them. They runaway from traffickers and pimps. And sometimes they run away from the unavoidable circumstances of having to survive alone on the streets.

From the leadership of Kevin Ryan down to the receptionist who greets young people when they take that courageous first step through the doors of Covenant House, this organization is wholeheartedly committee to saving lives.

God bless everyone who works at Covenant House and God bless the young people who find solace there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

In the past I've attended their "Deck The Halls" Event. I helped decorate the shelter s well as wrap Xmas gifts donated to the residents. I'm looking forward to doing it again this year as I enjoyed volunteering their. The kids seem to enjoy the atmosphere there and that's something that I can support!
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I recently saw this charity featured on Good Morning America. The story focused on a young girl named Nigeria, and truly inspired me to want to help homeless youth. I know I'll be supporting these folks for a VERY long time. - Travis
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I've been donating to Covenant House for about 2 years after a friend of mine participated in one of their sleepouts. Since then he's continued to volunteer and talk about how worthy of a cause they are to support. I've heard a few success stories, and the resources are definitely going to the right places. Hope they can keep it up.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Covenant House is such an inspirational program. I was able to sleep out in the past with friends in order to support the many youth who receive support from Covenant House. It was a great learning experience and I look forward to participating and bringing more friends with me in future.
October 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 12, 2013

Like the song says, "Children are our future" but far too many children are in horrible circumstances with no hope for a productive future. Covenant House people work miracles with young people who a... more

October 23, 2014

Covenant House continues to impress me with its tremendous commitment to saving kids and helping them realize their full potential.
June 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Like the song says, "Children are our future" but far too many children are in horrible circumstances with no hope for a productive future. Covenant House people work miracles with young people who are trying to better their lives. If they need education, they get that. If job search help is needed, they get that. If hungry, they are fed. If homeless, they are sheltered. My favorite charity for changing our world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure there was one in every city where young people need help.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

For two years I have participated in their Broadway Sleep Out and volunteered. I've met the kids whose lives have been forever impacted by the good Covenant House does, seen the pride the staff takes in their facilities, and directed homeless kids to a warm meal and the help they need. I wholeheartedly endorse the vital work they do here!
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

Covenant House is truly an inspirational organization. I suggested that my younger Cousin after a major falling out with my Aunt. Covenant House took him right him and supplied him with food,clothing, and shelter. They've even helped him continue his education, maintain a job, and taught him how to save money for his very own apartment.

The change in my Cousin's behavior and the impact that Covenant House has had on him may have saved his life. He's raved about the staff and how it's easy to tell that they truly care about the residents. For the first time I feel that he's respecting other people, and sincerely trying to maximize his potential. Also, he took the first step and mended his relationship with my Aunt :-) .

I've seen first hand how Covenant House can help homeless youth, and troubled teens in general. I thank them for their effort and dedication, and will continue to support them moving forward.
June 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

So I volunteer at Covenant House. I'm a active duty military member that has served over +10 years. I've two degrees. I'm not an idiot. Copy all, on the salaries...thought however. If this non-profit has survived as long as it has, do you want to pay a good leader to stay there? Or should they be selfless and work modestly? I dunno. That's above my pay grade but I'd be willing to hear both sides of the argument a bit more.

I have a comment on those complaining about all the stuff the Covenant House sends to people. You may not be homeless--but you may know someone who is. Or you may know someone who knows someone who is. Also you may donate to the organization. Free food, free laundry, free clothes, free job search, free resume building, free medical (location dependent). And they still have to pay salaries, benefits, upkeep, etc. I can say the key to fund raising is connections and social networks....from what I've seen anyway. Again I may be full of it and none of you may believe me but guess what I'll doing most weeks? I'll be out in the city every Friday night handing out covenant house sunscreen, chapstick, business cards, wrist bands along with snacks and water just to let boys know they don't have to get beat and girls that don't deserve to be touched at night.

Again maybe I'm wearing rose colored sunglasses. But I see more good than bad.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The turn over rate with staff is high. I think they could be more effective if they could retain their staff long term. I have no idea how to do this though. The military takes care of us pretty good. The covenant house I fear doesn't have the same resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers