Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.647065
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

My two young children and I were one of the first families at the Cove. It was wonderful to be able to be with other families and share experiences together. The children each received care appropriate to their age, and I met with other parents - now alone too. At the end of each meeting we did a family activity which helped our communication and grieving. We still have a box with some of the items we made. My daughter appreciated the care so much she became a facilitator when she was in High School many years later to help grieving children like her.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

The Cove is an important organization. It helps hundreds of families cope with loss. My children have been going for 1 1/2 years. I will never know what the impact the Cove has had on them, but they are healthy and looking forward to next year.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

We attended The Cove for over three years. The Cove provided the comfort and support we needed during a very difficult time as well as connected us with others who related our sadness. The Cove was a place for my children to meet others who have also experienced a profound loss it gave them the feeling of belonging. The Volunteers are sensitive , loving compassionate people who are trained in dealing with children and grief. I would highly recommend this program to anyone who is looking to learn how to support their children after the loss of a parent.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

Most people can not imagine the pain that a family suffers when a loved one is taken too early in life. Thank goodness there are organizations like the Cove that offer a professional way to deal with the loss and grieving process. The Cove has got it all! They are true professionals in this area and they are amazing! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for all you do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

The Cove has been a wonderful addition to our family and helping my 2 children cope, deal and understand the death of their father. They were both very young when e passed, 4 1/2 years old and 1 week away from turning 2. It has helped us open the doors for better communication and understanding of our different stages of grief and opened our hearts and lives to a wonderful new support system. Every Sunday there is the excitement of heading to The Cove and seeing our new friends and the anticipation of what the activities will be. Over the past 6 months I have seen my children grow in their understanding and acceptance of not having their Dad with us. I have also seen their bravery and self confidence grow with who they are becoming. I'm proud of them and admire their strength more each day. It is partly due to workers at The Cove that have helped in understanding of their grief. Having the knowledge that The Cove will be a continued part of our lives give us all so much comfort and strength. Thank you to you all!

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

Our 6 year old son has really benefited from making friends with other children who have had loved ones die. After his little brother died he was very anger but has now learned to deal with his anger in good ways. The Cove has also been a good resource for my husband and I in learning how children deal with grief and how to help them through it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

My husband, and the father of my kids, was killed by a drunk driver 5 years ago. Two years ago, I started taking my children to The Cove. They had always felt "different" from their friends because they did not have a dad. The Cove helped them to see that they were not weird or alone. The activities my children participate in, at The Cove, allow them to express their feelings about their father's death. We have developed great freindships with the other families and I feel happy that my children have a place that can support them through their grief. We LOVE The Cove and the good work they do for so many families.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing my children work through the loss of their father

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no chnages necessary

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

I was told about it from another young widow with young children who participated in the program

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

It has changed my children's ability to express their emotions.

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

My husband died in 2008 when our children were 9 and 7. The Cove became our home away from home two Sunday evenings each month> the children were surrounded by caring volunteers and insightful, understanding peers. As a new widow I was able to connect with and learn from a peer group of parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles and foster parents of other children experiencing grief in all its stages. Through crafts, games, and shared meals, we drew strength from one another as we created new lives from loss. Even a field trip to a funeral home became a positive experience.On a Sunday evening in November, we celebrated Thanksgiving with photos of our loved ones and favorite dishes. Even when the kids just played basketball together or sat side by side drawing there was comfort in knowing of our shared past experiences. The environment that the volunteers and facilitators helped to create was one of warmth and caring.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2012

more

June 9, 2012

My daughter is 13 and her dad died after a Debilitating illness, 5 years ago. When the Cove set up a program in our area 2 years ago, we were happy to join and try it out. The program has been amazing...it's a "safe" place where the kids all have a loss and grief in common. They can express themselves freely without fear of being again the "different" one. They learn about ways to honor the memory of their missing loved one while moving on with their own lives. The volunteers are all so energetic and caring, they really enjoy helping others.. There is such a need for this service in the community and these kids-and us parents- benefit so much by having this support group.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

consider becoming a trained volunteer facilitator to support out family sites. Volunteer