Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.647065
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

Our 6 year old son has really benefited from making friends with other children who have had loved ones die. After his little brother died he was very anger but has now learned to deal with his anger in good ways. The Cove has also been a good resource for my husband and I in learning how children deal with grief and how to help them through it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

The Cove Center for Grieving Children is a non-profit that truly impacts the development of children and their families. Through the work that facilitators, board members, volunteers and contributors do this supportive environment helps children learn to cope with their loss and successfully grow through this difficult change in their lives. It brings children together with other children their age who have experienced a similar loss, which makes them feel supported and more importantly not alone in their experience. Through creative activities and group work children are able to process and learn from their grief, and I have seen many children become happier kids that go on to help others like themselves. This unique non-profit also support the family as a whole, enabling families to learn together and grow as a family unit. Death is a hard topic and The Cove makes it a safe and loving environment to process feelings and emotions that others may not comprehend. I am grateful for this non-profit and all the hard work it does to support children and families. The growth of this non-profit is a testament to the positive impact it has on grieving children and families!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

My husband, and the father of my kids, was killed by a drunk driver 5 years ago. Two years ago, I started taking my children to The Cove. They had always felt "different" from their friends because they did not have a dad. The Cove helped them to see that they were not weird or alone. The activities my children participate in, at The Cove, allow them to express their feelings about their father's death. We have developed great freindships with the other families and I feel happy that my children have a place that can support them through their grief. We LOVE The Cove and the good work they do for so many families.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing my children work through the loss of their father

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no chnages necessary

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

I was told about it from another young widow with young children who participated in the program

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

It has changed my children's ability to express their emotions.

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

The Cove’s mission is unique. They are providing 5 star programming to a population that is awfully overlooked. My experience as a volunteer has been incredibly rewarding. The Cove is efficient and understands the unique needs of each child it serves. It is a place where families experience a profoundly positive experience. I look forward to continue to volunteer with The Cove. Great mission. Great people. Profound impact.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

My husband died in 2008 when our children were 9 and 7. The Cove became our home away from home two Sunday evenings each month> the children were surrounded by caring volunteers and insightful, understanding peers. As a new widow I was able to connect with and learn from a peer group of parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles and foster parents of other children experiencing grief in all its stages. Through crafts, games, and shared meals, we drew strength from one another as we created new lives from loss. Even a field trip to a funeral home became a positive experience.On a Sunday evening in November, we celebrated Thanksgiving with photos of our loved ones and favorite dishes. Even when the kids just played basketball together or sat side by side drawing there was comfort in knowing of our shared past experiences. The environment that the volunteers and facilitators helped to create was one of warmth and caring.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 10, 2012

more

June 10, 2012

The Cove is a wonderful resource to grieving families in Connecticut. It provides an atmosphere of trust and lets children and teens find comfort. I am proud to be a part of the Cove Center for Grieving Children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2012

more

June 9, 2012

My daughter is 13 and her dad died after a Debilitating illness, 5 years ago. When the Cove set up a program in our area 2 years ago, we were happy to join and try it out. The program has been amazing...it's a "safe" place where the kids all have a loss and grief in common. They can express themselves freely without fear of being again the "different" one. They learn about ways to honor the memory of their missing loved one while moving on with their own lives. The volunteers are all so energetic and caring, they really enjoy helping others.. There is such a need for this service in the community and these kids-and us parents- benefit so much by having this support group.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

consider becoming a trained volunteer facilitator to support out family sites. Volunteer