Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.666675
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

After my father passed all I wanted to do was be a service to others especially help the youth with healing and art.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 30, 2014

more

January 30, 2014

After my family donated a significant amount of money, we soon realized how poorly run and managed this organization is. Their executive director is unappreciative, disrespectful, and alienates its supporters. While the cause they serve is amazing, the waste is apparent at the most important level. I will never donate again after my experience with who runs this "ship". My advice, find another organization who will appreciate your donations. I already have.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They need a new Executive Director if they intend on continued support from donors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

The Cove helps grieving kids better than anyone else can. Getting together with others of their own age and learning about the manifestations of grief & strategies to handle their own confusing emotions after a family member's death has helped many young people I have known over the years as a therapist. And the youngsters have fun while doing all this work with their new friends at The Cove. "Priceless."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have no changes to suggest.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 24, 2013

more

August 24, 2013

Back in the 1990's, I lost my wife to ovarian cancer. I have three children who now are in their 30's and, even today, are haunted by that tragic event. Although The Cove was in its infancy at that time, unfortunately, I was unaware of its existence. So I am very committed as Chair of The Cove's Trustees to touch as many lives of grieving children as we can and help them journey the path to healing. The Cove has just opened a new Family Site in Easton, CT to service the grieving children and families in Fairfield County, CT including those affected by the tragic events in Newtown.

The Cove fully relies on donations of individuals and organizations. As we push to expand our geographic reach with the goal of providing services to all children across Connecticut, our finances continue to be stretched and our need of support continues to grow. I personally do not want any grieving child or family to have to walk that very difficult journey alone so I ask that The Cove Center for Grieving Children be selected to receive a grant.

Thank you.

Simon Etzel

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand our geographic reach to be able to provide services to all children and families across Connecticut.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

My two young children and I were one of the first families at the Cove. It was wonderful to be able to be with other families and share experiences together. The children each received care appropriate to their age, and I met with other parents - now alone too. At the end of each meeting we did a family activity which helped our communication and grieving. We still have a box with some of the items we made. My daughter appreciated the care so much she became a facilitator when she was in High School many years later to help grieving children like her.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

This charity does very important work, helping children deal with grief. It is surprising that there are little resources available to address this area. Thankfully, The Cove exists to address this.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

The Cove is an important organization. It helps hundreds of families cope with loss. My children have been going for 1 1/2 years. I will never know what the impact the Cove has had on them, but they are healthy and looking forward to next year.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 17, 2012

more

June 17, 2012

Children are truly the forgotten grievers. Consequently bereavement groups for children don't exist in the state....except for The Cove. The Cove does an incredible job of supporting grieving children and adolescents. Simply being together with grieving peers helps to reduce the tremendous isolation associated with grief. The age-appropriate activities help to normalize the grieving process and provide coping skills. Imagine the impact on a child/adolescent grieving the recent death of a loved one when a peer states, "It does get easier with time." Imagine the impact on the grieving participant when the facilitator talks about taking a break from their grief to participate in an activity they enjoy. Imagine the chance to express regrets in a supportive environment. Research has shown that how a child/adolescent copes with grief is directly impacted by how the parent(s) or caregivers cope with their grief. Thus The Cove offers a professionally-facilitated support group for parents while the children are in their groups. My volunteer experience with The Cove was incredible. I have no doubt that the organization has made a tremendous difference in the lives of hundreds of grieving families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

We attended The Cove for over three years. The Cove provided the comfort and support we needed during a very difficult time as well as connected us with others who related our sadness. The Cove was a place for my children to meet others who have also experienced a profound loss it gave them the feeling of belonging. The Volunteers are sensitive , loving compassionate people who are trained in dealing with children and grief. I would highly recommend this program to anyone who is looking to learn how to support their children after the loss of a parent.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

Most people can not imagine the pain that a family suffers when a loved one is taken too early in life. Thank goodness there are organizations like the Cove that offer a professional way to deal with the loss and grieving process. The Cove has got it all! They are true professionals in this area and they are amazing! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for all you do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

consider becoming a trained volunteer facilitator to support out family sites. Volunteer