Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 11, 2012

more

October 11, 2012

We know that children are the future of our world. As a CASA, I feel that I can contribute a tiny bit to our collective future. To see small changes in children, a light in their eyes, an understanding of the larger world, a level of trust where there has been little in the past ... this is what keeps me coming back, case after case (4 children in 10 years). Plus, I have learned so much about the legal and social services systems in my county ... a personal educational benefit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012

more

October 11, 2012

I love being a CASA. It's such a tangible way to make an amazing difference in the lives of kids in my community. Not only do I feel more knowledgeable from all the training I received, I feel like I am actually making a difference in my kid's life!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012

more

October 11, 2012

As a CASA, I try to be the eyes and ears for the judge as much as possible, to help find the best permanent solution for a child that has ended up being in "the system"(often meaning in foster care). I also try to create a special time when my child and I are together, doing things that are otherwise lacking, whether sports, biking, art, singing or eating out. The child can learn to trust again, and hopefully can develop a good vision for the future. Just when you think that your falling in love with a CASA kid, was because he/she is so special, you fall in love with the next one. That's because they are all so special as we discover, and so lovable.The staff of CASA is wonderfully supportive, and the training is great.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

Becoming an advocate for CASA of Santa Cruz County is one of the best things I've ever done. The experienced and knowledgeable staff make the experience much more rewarding as they are available to assist the volunteers every step of the way. The volunteers have ample supervision and guidance to make them more effective advocates for the children in the program. I am proud to be a CASA volunteer as we are able to be the voice in court for these children. We also have the ability to become mentors and positive influences in their lives. I truly believe I am making a difference in my child's life, and that makes me feel very good.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

CASA of Santa Cruz County serves Foster Youth in our County by serving as advocates for at risk Foster Children. We meet with our CASA child weekly and report to Dependency Court on the status of our child. CASA of Santa Cruz County is a well run and professional organization that provides exceptional service to our Foster Youth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2012

more

October 6, 2012

CASA Santa Cruz is an amazing program. As a volunteer, we get some of the best training I've ever received. The staff are not only supportive, they provide fun things volunteers can do to help CASA and hang out. But of course, the biggest thing is how dedicated everyone involved in this program is to helping the foster youth of our county. Everyone works tirelessly to help these kids out - education, clothing, special needs that come up, help with placement, everything. I've never been so impressed with a non-profit, and I've been involved with many (and even ran one for a few years!)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2012

more

October 5, 2012

The Advocates, Board and staff of CASA of Santa Cruz are a truly inspirational group as demonstrated by their caring, hard work and dedication to the children they serve. My role as a volunteer for CASA has been through their Friends of CASA group. The money we raise for the Children's Fund is used by the advocates for the special needs of their child. These needs are as varied as a bicycle, tutoring, money for a school trip, music lessons, school pictures or whatever that advocate deems would make a difference to that particular child. Every volunteer hour I have put in over the past several years has only increased my respect for this group and their constant focus on the children's well-being.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

I have been the advocate for a now 15 year old girl for about 18 months. She is the oldest of 4 children and is struggling with the idea that her mom cannot appropriately take care of them. I have watched her these months change from being smart and funny and suspicious and guarded and confused to smart and funny and outspoken and trusting. Last week when she got some probably unexpected news from the court, she ran away from school and got a ride 30 miles to Grandma's house. She was surprised when I told her I understood her fears and her actions, but that she could trust her team - and could have just asked to see Grandma. She gave me a huge (rare) hug and has really opened up about her feelings. It's amazing to see her grow into a thoughtful young woman who knows it's okay to have conflicting feelings and that her future is not defined by her past. I have no doubt that the whole team at CASA has made a huge difference in this girl's life. She is now talking about doing things that didn't seem possible to her before-- what an amazing experience it has been to watch her grow!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing - the staff is available always and is consistently examining their practices to make sure they are doing their best. I have never felt so supported and encouraged!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

This experience helped me to be cognizant of how my words can influence other people and has taught me to be very clear in what I say. It has also given me such great relationships with other volunteers and staff.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

This experience is the latest in many volunteer positions I have had through the years. In too many other cases it was hard to see the result of my efforts, but in this situation I feel that I can so clearly see what my time and attention is changing in this young girl's life.

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

I had three foster children beginning in 1998. My first a teenage girl, freshman in high school. She was shipped in between 5 foster homes. I stayed with her four years.She did graduated from high school and is now a wonderful mother of 3.My second child was placed in a group care home at the age of 6 (couldn't believe it). I was with her for a little over a year. She was adopted by wonderful people. Last but not least is a young boy who was about 7 when we got together. His parents both had drug problems, mother gone, father jailed. He was adopted by a wonderful family. I am still with him even though he is adopted. His new parents asked if I could stay on with him and I am so happy to do so. All of my kids gave me much more than I gave them. Only reason I am not an active CASA now is I'm so actively involved in my last child's life.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

protecting children who are in the foster care system

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I really can't add to what they already do

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

again, very satisfied

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

profound effect. I learned to focus through court reports, opened my mind to different cultures, became less judgmental, learned how to balance my ego..it is about the children..we weren't there to save them we were there to advocate for them, protect them

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

most satisfying thing I have done, that includes my paid professional life.

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

acy:I have been an Advocate for four foster youth (twice for one of the children) for about eight years. Without a doubt volunteering as a CASA advocate has been a life changing experience for me. Spending time with these kids has been rewarding, inspiring and at times heart breaking. CASA of Santa Cruz has a wonderful, nurturing staff and and an exceptionally hard working, involved Board of Directors. Advocating for these children is supported not only by the CASA staff, but by the court system, social workers, teachers, therapists and many others who have direct involvement with these children. I cannot imagine myself not continuing to be involved in some capacity for many years to come. Working with CASA to advocate for our foster youth is where I am supposed to be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers