Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
12345
| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review
October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

I have been the advocate for a now 15 year old girl for about 18 months. She is the oldest of 4 children and is struggling with the idea that her mom cannot appropriately take care of them. I have watched her these months change from being smart and funny and suspicious and guarded and confused to smart and funny and outspoken and trusting. Last week when she got some probably unexpected news from the court, she ran away from school and got a ride 30 miles to Grandma's house. She was surprised when I told her I understood her fears and her actions, but that she could trust her team - and could have just asked to see Grandma. She gave me a huge (rare) hug and has really opened up about her feelings. It's amazing to see her grow into a thoughtful young woman who knows it's okay to have conflicting feelings and that her future is not defined by her past. I have no doubt that the whole team at CASA has made a huge difference in this girl's life. She is now talking about doing things that didn't seem possible to her before-- what an amazing experience it has been to watch her grow!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing - the staff is available always and is consistently examining their practices to make sure they are doing their best. I have never felt so supported and encouraged!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

This experience helped me to be cognizant of how my words can influence other people and has taught me to be very clear in what I say. It has also given me such great relationships with other volunteers and staff.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

This experience is the latest in many volunteer positions I have had through the years. In too many other cases it was hard to see the result of my efforts, but in this situation I feel that I can so clearly see what my time and attention is changing in this young girl's life.

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

I had three foster children beginning in 1998. My first a teenage girl, freshman in high school. She was shipped in between 5 foster homes. I stayed with her four years.She did graduated from high school and is now a wonderful mother of 3.My second child was placed in a group care home at the age of 6 (couldn't believe it). I was with her for a little over a year. She was adopted by wonderful people. Last but not least is a young boy who was about 7 when we got together. His parents both had drug problems, mother gone, father jailed. He was adopted by a wonderful family. I am still with him even though he is adopted. His new parents asked if I could stay on with him and I am so happy to do so. All of my kids gave me much more than I gave them. Only reason I am not an active CASA now is I'm so actively involved in my last child's life.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

protecting children who are in the foster care system

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I really can't add to what they already do

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

again, very satisfied

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

profound effect. I learned to focus through court reports, opened my mind to different cultures, became less judgmental, learned how to balance my ego..it is about the children..we weren't there to save them we were there to advocate for them, protect them

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

most satisfying thing I have done, that includes my paid professional life.

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

acy:I have been an Advocate for four foster youth (twice for one of the children) for about eight years. Without a doubt volunteering as a CASA advocate has been a life changing experience for me. Spending time with these kids has been rewarding, inspiring and at times heart breaking. CASA of Santa Cruz has a wonderful, nurturing staff and and an exceptionally hard working, involved Board of Directors. Advocating for these children is supported not only by the CASA staff, but by the court system, social workers, teachers, therapists and many others who have direct involvement with these children. I cannot imagine myself not continuing to be involved in some capacity for many years to come. Working with CASA to advocate for our foster youth is where I am supposed to be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

I got involved with CASA of Santa Cruz 20 years ago and I have seen this non-profit develop and grow into the amazing organization that it is today. When children have CASA advocates, they have the support of well-trained volunteers who can help them get the care they need through the dependency process and beyond. The advocates work with the social workers, the foster parents. the lawyers and the Dependency Judge to determine the proper placement for these children. As a person who has seen the many sides of CASA, as a past Board member and as a current community volunteer, I can truly say that Santa Cruz is a better place for children and families because of CASA. I should also mention that my husband is a retired Santa Cruz Superior Court Judge and California Appellate Court Justice; from his judicial experience, he also knows the value of CASA of Santa Cruz County to our community, our families and, most importantly, to our children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am part of Friends of CASA, an auxiliary of CASA that helps raise funds to specifically help CASA children in the foster care system. CASA is a much needed and valuable asset to our foster youth and to the advocates who selflessly offer their time and care to support these children. The staff, Board of Directors, advocates, Friends, and everyone involved with CASA are dedicated to helping these children through a very difficult time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Casa is an amazing organization that really helps the most vulnerable children in our community. I was a teacher for23 years and had needy children in my classroom so I decided to volunteer on a individual basis with one child when I retired. Not only did I make a difference in the child's life, but I was supported so much by CASA and the support staff they have who work with you. I was a court appointed special advocate for a 16 year old, she is now 21 and finishing her college degree. She is the first in her family to go to college and I think having someone to talk to and know how much she was cared for made a difference. Presently I work as an investigator for children in Child Protective Services and when I ask them if they have a CASA there's always a smile and they tell me all of the wonderful things they have done with their CASA. It's a fantastic organization and

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers