Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 13, 2012

more

October 13, 2012

Working with foster youth is rewarding for the youth and for you--the volunteer. CASA's training is outstanding and the support continues. I can't imagine doing anything more rewarding or beneficial.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 13, 2012

more

October 13, 2012

As a manager with a local social service agency for over 20 years I’m well aware of the many barriers foster children face. When I started thinking about retirement becoming a CASA volunteer was at the top of my list. CASA of Santa Cruz County is a terrific organization with a great staff providing excellent support and training for advocates as well as maintaining strong ties to the local Children’s Protective Services agency and other community agencies.
As a CASA advocate I’ve been the only consistent person in my child’s life for over five years. I’ve had excellent relations with his social workers and other professional staff over the years and am always impressed by how CASA is respected by the courts and how my recommendations have been accepted and made a difference in his life. Vivian Brown, Santa Cruz

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012

more

October 11, 2012

We know that children are the future of our world. As a CASA, I feel that I can contribute a tiny bit to our collective future. To see small changes in children, a light in their eyes, an understanding of the larger world, a level of trust where there has been little in the past ... this is what keeps me coming back, case after case (4 children in 10 years). Plus, I have learned so much about the legal and social services systems in my county ... a personal educational benefit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012

more

October 11, 2012

I love being a CASA. It's such a tangible way to make an amazing difference in the lives of kids in my community. Not only do I feel more knowledgeable from all the training I received, I feel like I am actually making a difference in my kid's life!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012

more

October 11, 2012

As a CASA, I try to be the eyes and ears for the judge as much as possible, to help find the best permanent solution for a child that has ended up being in "the system"(often meaning in foster care). I also try to create a special time when my child and I are together, doing things that are otherwise lacking, whether sports, biking, art, singing or eating out. The child can learn to trust again, and hopefully can develop a good vision for the future. Just when you think that your falling in love with a CASA kid, was because he/she is so special, you fall in love with the next one. That's because they are all so special as we discover, and so lovable.The staff of CASA is wonderfully supportive, and the training is great.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

Becoming an advocate for CASA of Santa Cruz County is one of the best things I've ever done. The experienced and knowledgeable staff make the experience much more rewarding as they are available to assist the volunteers every step of the way. The volunteers have ample supervision and guidance to make them more effective advocates for the children in the program. I am proud to be a CASA volunteer as we are able to be the voice in court for these children. We also have the ability to become mentors and positive influences in their lives. I truly believe I am making a difference in my child's life, and that makes me feel very good.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

CASA of Santa Cruz County serves Foster Youth in our County by serving as advocates for at risk Foster Children. We meet with our CASA child weekly and report to Dependency Court on the status of our child. CASA of Santa Cruz County is a well run and professional organization that provides exceptional service to our Foster Youth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2012

more

October 6, 2012

Santa Cruz Chapter of CASAis helping more children than ever in our county who need the help of a CASA Advocate while the child is in the court system due to abuse or neglect. We are sure if we stabilize these children that our county will have fewer criminals & jail/prison inmates in the future. Every child deserves a chance in y=this world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2012

more

October 6, 2012

CASA Santa Cruz is an amazing program. As a volunteer, we get some of the best training I've ever received. The staff are not only supportive, they provide fun things volunteers can do to help CASA and hang out. But of course, the biggest thing is how dedicated everyone involved in this program is to helping the foster youth of our county. Everyone works tirelessly to help these kids out - education, clothing, special needs that come up, help with placement, everything. I've never been so impressed with a non-profit, and I've been involved with many (and even ran one for a few years!)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2012

more

October 5, 2012

The Advocates, Board and staff of CASA of Santa Cruz are a truly inspirational group as demonstrated by their caring, hard work and dedication to the children they serve. My role as a volunteer for CASA has been through their Friends of CASA group. The money we raise for the Children's Fund is used by the advocates for the special needs of their child. These needs are as varied as a bicycle, tutoring, money for a school trip, music lessons, school pictures or whatever that advocate deems would make a difference to that particular child. Every volunteer hour I have put in over the past several years has only increased my respect for this group and their constant focus on the children's well-being.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers