Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 14, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 14, 2012

COSACOSA has partnered with my community center for over 15 years, working creatively on issues of diversity and conflict resolution. The organization has become the "go to" resource whenever we need assistance with civic planning. The art we've created together as a neighbors helps us find ways to work together on other projects too. COSACOSA helps us make the community really "belong" to all of us!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

i have been involved with Cosa Cosa for over 10 years and am currently a board member. The organization enriches children's and community lives by involving people in improving their neighborhoods with art and gardens and Cosa Cosa comes away with renewed self confidence, hope and energy to help others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I met Kim a few months ago when I volunteered to help with a mosaic for CHOP. As an local artist it felt great to be able to express myself in my community and help students and families make Philadelphia a more beautiful city. I was surprised and humbled by Kim's instant inclusion and warmth. She has inspired me to be a more involved person in my community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Cosacosa has been working with my students for three years now. They come out to our location and work with students who would not otherwise have an opportunity to create art. The work our students have done is beautiful as well as educational. Our projects have celebrated the multicultural diversity in our school. Showing that all cultures are celebrated shows the equality in all cultures. The folks from Cosacosa work with the students asking what they want to see, what do they think represents them. This gives the students a real ownership in the project. Since the murals Cosacosa creates with our students are on the outside of the building, students can and do come back to reflect. Cosacosa helps out students make our school look better which makes the community better. The art work they create shows the multicultural community in which our school is located.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I met Kim, the director through a program COSACOSA was conducting about community volunteers and was so happy to be able to call her shortly after with the prospect of partnering on a public school mural. COSACOSA has been involved with the school now for several years, has created parts of an expanding mural each year, and have established themselves as a true partner at the school. The organization is extremely conscientious and has a true understanding - and I think love - of partnership with all the different players in community work. They even helped find and obtain funding for the projects, and then found a way to tailor the project to the available funds. I recommend this group whole-heartedly and with no reservations.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I am an architect and member of the PSCA education committee and we are entering our 3rd year of partnering with COSA COSA to bring art programs to an under-served public school, Andrew Jackson. They are able to help the students truly express themselves and find an artistic voice, while integrating educational material with the curriculum. The students seem moved by the work they do, and the beautiful murals on the exterior of the school bring a great sense of pride to the community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

As an Art teacher, I was very impressed by COSACOSA's organization and personnel. They are professionals with expertise doing wonderful work for the greater good!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

COSACOSA is unbelievable and a tremendous assest to the Philadelphia community and beyond. They are a model for social justice and service learning. They completely under gird all their efforts with a deep understanding of the differing communities they are serving and the unique personality and complexity that they seek to give voice to. Art is a form of voice and expression and COSACOSA seeks to empower these communities in such creative expressions. I am the director of Service Learning at The Shipley School in Bryn Mawr PA and we have partnered with COSACOSA over the last several years in a variety of venues. COSACOSA serves as an important bridge to the Philadelphia school system and we have brought our entire upper school over three service day to work in the schools with their guidance and planning. We also have had our seniors partner and complete their three week service partnerships with COSACOSA and they have 100% found it one of the most inspiring sites with a felt impact in their three weeks of service. I feel honored to call them our partner in effective social impact and we are a better educational institution because of them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 6, 2012

COSA COSA is a partner you can count on to help solve problems in the nieghborhood, in the schools, and to make our city a better place to live. COSA COSA brought my community organization together with others with similar goals from all parts of Philadelphia. We may come from different places and speak different languages, but together we empower each other to do the necessary work for our neighborhoods that need help.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 5, 2012

Cosa Cosa Art at Large is a true gift to the people of Philadelphia and those who have been lucky enough to have been a part of any of their many programs. I have watched as this organization has grown under the sure and steady guidance of Kim Niemela whose unending passion for reaching out to our under served communities is boundless. Cosa Cosa has done amazing work with the sickest children in our local hospitals,created beautiful community gardens, brought art and literacy to our schools and created dialogues between neighboring communities. I have been fortunate to serve as a board member as well as volunteer on various projects for many years for Cosa Cosa and look forward to many more years of serving them in any way I can.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers