Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.931035
Write A Review
November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

Wonderful, just wonderful. I love the work the CA does.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

The CA is a top nonprofit in getting legislative changes in the Criminal and Prisoner Justice arena. Their agenda is always right on time and right on the money. As well as a collective beneficial direction, the CA is always ready willing and able to assist in personal areas.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

The Correctional Association Of New York has done and is still doing a phenomenal job of bringing attention to the ills of so-called penal correction in America. CANY offers concrete solutions backed by solid research which could save millions of wasted tax payer dollars and offer genuine rehabilitative alternatives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I believe that the Correctional Association of New York is an invaluable organization fighting the good fight for meaningful prison reform and to end the destructive policies and practices that cause and perpetuate the current and ongoing mass incarceration disproportionately of African-American and Latino citizens. Their work is vital and laudable, and strives to make a difference for many who otherwise might be voiceless and forgotten.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I first became aware of the Correctional Association in 2006 while in a treatment facility, and I found them to be very helpful in assisting the women they served become responsible and assertive despite their backgrounds. They were also given both the tools and information necessary to return to their families and communities with a better sense of self-worth and self-motivation to regain their rightful place in society. I have maintained my connection with the association over the years and I find their commitment to helping women improve their quality of life exemplary, and I will continue to support their efforts because of the work I see them doing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

The Correctional Association serves as a voice for a population that society prefers to forget. If not for the tireless work of the dedicated staff at the Association over the many years of its existence the conditions in our prisons and lives of the former prisoners and their families would be much different, and not for the better. The ethusiasm of the current staff will surely lead the Assiciation to even better work in the future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

What this group is doing is fabulous. I was very impress by the several meetings I attended. The great enthusiasm of people helping people and the one who cannot speak for themselves. Anything I could do for them I would like giving my photography work for them to raise money. If I had money I would help out but i don't so instead I could do something with my artist work. I think the president is a fabulous beautiful human being. I am lucky I came across your path as we share the same ideas and vision in life. Keep up the good work for each one of us. Martine

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I am an attorney working in the Immigration field and Ms. Elijah and the Correctional Association have been of invaluable assistance to me and my detained clients who are often jailed for no reason other than their immigration status. I came upon the Correctional Association when they participated in a panel discussing juvenile rights, and particularly immigrant juvenile rights. I am so very glad to have made this connection that has been so helpful over the years.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I was on the Board of an organization JusticeWorks Comunity that part of a coalition called Drop the Rock that was advocating to do away with the Rockefeller Drug Laws. The Correctional Association was the lead organization and s in a position the advocate in Albany.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I am a formerly incarcerated woman who has worked as an editor at a magazine for people with HIV and hepatitis C for ten years. I am now involved with work toward prison justice. In both areas, CANY has been a huge help and support, and the most innovative partner in every sort of research. Their monitoring of conditions in the state's prisons is an enormous comfort and support to the people I know who are behind bars. The office staff is always either able to answer any question or will quickly find the answer and reply to phone and email requests. I frequently see representatives of CANY at public events and forums. They are unfailingly warm, helpful and incisive in their comments. Prisoners and social justice activists could not wish for a better organization to have in our corner and voicing our concerns. (I checked "general member of public" because I have been a donor, a volunteer, a professional with expertise in the field, and informally a client of CANY. I hope to volunteer there in the future as well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers