Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.931035
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

The REconnect Project of the CA helped in my transformation. They allowed a bridge back to life. The women in the group were inspirational; we are still CONNECTED 10 years later. The mentors and staff involved with the project and the CA truly care about not only the work, but the people they serve. The topics of discssions were relevant and important to teaching us to advocate for ourselves, our families and our community. I speak highly of their organization wherever I go. I am forever indebted to them. Woot Woot CA!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

October 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 14, 2012

When I came home from Prison 8 yrs ago things looked grim. I enrolled in an Advocacy Leadership Program sponsored by the Correctional Assocations Women in Prison Project "RECONNECT" and I have been so... more

October 28, 2013

After returning home from prison The Correctional Association of New York welcomed me and let me know that I mattered. Entering the Re-Connect program affored me the opportunity to be heard and to actually see real results. I have developed lifelong relationships with this orgainzation who are always available to assist with ANY situation one can encounter during re-entry or post re-entry. This is about the realist and HONEST Non-Profit that is sincere in its mission and never waivers or flip flops. The holistic approach and the sincerity in which this organization goes about its work is never changes. They are all the Real Deal. I transitoned years ago and I am still in-touch with my CA family. As a clinician who has worked at a few organization the CA is one of the ONLY agencies that is REAL

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

include in-reach not to observe prisons but to conduct trainings on navigating life on the outside prior to leaving prison. Everyone was not as fortunate as I was to engage with the CA.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I came home from Prison 8 yrs ago things looked grim. I enrolled in an Advocacy Leadership Program sponsored by the Correctional Assocations Women in Prison Project "RECONNECT" and I have been soaring every since !!!!! Today I am a Certified Alcohol Aubstance Abuse Counselor and I attend collge persuing adegree in Social Work. Without the Sincere Supporrt I recieved and still recieve at the CA I don't know where I would have ended up!!!! I am greatful for all the work they do !!!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Like some people, I didn't know organizations like correctional associates existed until I needed their services. My husband, who is in prison, was assulted both physically and verbally by officers in his facility. The treatment my husband received got worse with each passing day. I felt helpless and hopeless. That's when I found correctional associates while searching for help on-line. When I called, I was immediately put in contact with gina. She was so attentive and concerned about my husbands situation. She was a breath of fresh air that propelled me to continue pressing on. She was so informative and helpful. We kept each other up to date with new developements in him. Unfortunately, correctional association was not able to take my husbands case. This was fine because they opened so many other doors for me that has help me get some assistance for him. We are still copeing with a lot of issues. But until our problems are resolved, I look forward to volunteering to help someone else.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers