Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.931035
Write A Review
November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

My CA internship with ReConnect helped launched my career in criminal justice. Today I am pursuing my doctorate and teaching at John Jay.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I interned with the Correctional Association a few summers ago and really enjoyed my time there. I worked with a dynamic group of leaders and was able to gain a wide range of experiences, particularly as an intern. I think this organization does great work and all of its members are very passionate about improving prisoner's rights.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I helped by writing preliminary responses to prisoners' letters, by visiting three different prisons, by trying to gather support for changes in the law on judicial discretion. I have attended many workshops and other events. I think th enew director is superb. Everyone at CA is impressive in their personal warmth and enthusiastic commitment to the cause. CA fulfills its mission with passion and creativity and rigor. I can't praise them highly enough.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have been a member of the Coalition for Women Prisoners since 2005 and I have had the pleasure to meet other people who are passionate about changing the criminal justice system. The work that the Correctional Association does is unique and goes beyond most criminal justice agencies.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I was a Social Work intern for my Masters Placement during my time at Columbia School of Social Work. The level of expertise, passion, and dedication by the staff of Correctional Association was incredible. I learned tremendously from my time there, not only because I was able to work on many of the critical and varied issues that the CA deals with-from such a progressive and well-rounded perspective-but also because I was able to observe and speak with talented staff. I truly believe that the CA is doing work from a model of anti-oppression and with truest dedication to ensuring the human rights, dignity, and well-being of all individuals directly impacted by their work and the community at large. My time there has truly made a lasting impact and informs the way I do my work as a Social Worker and an activist now, where I want to go in my career, and the policies and values I support. The CA is amazing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I interned at CA over a decade ago when I was a college student. I learned so much about local and state politics, about coalition and collaboration, and, of course, about the criminal justice system. The work of CA matters. It is one of the rare organizations that engages in policy and advocacy, but also has hands and feet on the ground.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers