Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.931035
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I had the opportunity to intern with the CA while completing a graduate program in Social Work. From my first day at the organization, I was blown away by the passion for social justice, the level of community involvement, and the sense of family at the CA. The CA opperates from an anti-racist, anti-oppressive, anti-mass incarceration lens as it demands that legislatures, government agencies, corrections facilities, and community members address the atrocities of our current adult and youth justice systems and call for the retribution and punishment that define these systems to be replaced by love and healing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 14, 2012

Hello, I don't know where to begin. I came to CA I think 3 years ago, for an interview with the director Andrea. I thought it was going to be formal. She was real cool, I felt her warm, honest energy.... more

October 29, 2013

I'm not sure about where to begin. I found out about Correctional Assoc. 2010, I'd found a flyer for the Reconnect program while visiting Steps. Steps was then called Stepping Stones. I called to confirm the flyer, I was called in for an interview. This is when my world began to change. Over the past three years, I have been overjoyed to come across their threshold time and time again. The staff and the energy there is so amazing. I've never seen a bunch of people who work so hard and still have a smile when they see you. Most of all I am humbled by the way they go off the limb to tell you they appreciate what you do for them. Once an incarcerated woman steps across the door, you just know, "I'm in good hands", then there's a wealth of knowledge and resources there, very organized always. I was amazed at the sisterhood that was created around the table with other women that hurt and felt and had made the same mistakes like me, that was some of our common ground. We loved together, we hurt together, you don't get that everywhere. Everything is consistent. Including the care and concern for your well being.C.A. helped me to fulfill my dream of returning to college to continue my education, I'm close to graduation and loving it. When nobody else does, Correctional Association tells you, it's ok, you've got a second chance, we're here for you. As a formerly incarcerated woman still having challenges and some mountains, that means the world and makes some of those mountains disappear. Advocacy, it is a big deal!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them funding to do additional things and increase the population that they serve, help them to expand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

Hello, I don't know where to begin. I came to CA I think 3 years ago, for an interview with the director Andrea. I thought it was going to be formal. She was real cool, I felt her warm, honest energy. The program was Reconnect. I would strongly recommend that program to any and every woman returning home from incarceration. It just took off from there.Reconnect turned out to be a sisterhood I cannot describe. We laugh together, cried together, most of all we lifted one another up, and we had the most wonderful bond. Every week was a different adventure, besides the great and healthy food they fed us,we had the most awesome trainings and trainers! these trainers were well rounded, knowledgable, and empowered us with a wealth of resources. Everyone is not in the same mindset, just ingeneral in life, but if you want something outside of incaceration again, tht's the place to be. A place where opportunity is always available. Every meeting, as I glance around the table I smile knowing the hard non stop work these people do. Ms Soffiyah the best the new Director. They are always so inspiring. All the coalitions, Worth program, CCF, Steps ,I could go on. Every one there has a place in God's heart. At the end, he'll be there smiling too, saying "Well Done"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I highly recommend the correctional association to anyone who is looking to a better tomorrow in helping change lives. The correctional association has taught me how to stand strong and fight in what I believe in. Thank you! Belky

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

THe Correctional Association provides independent evidenced-based analysis and advocacy around the fundamental issues of incarceration and its uses in New York and by extension, in the country as a whole. Soffiyah Elijah is an inspirational leader of a highly dedicated and effective staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide it with more funding

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

The CA does wonderful work. They are supportive to the formerly incarcerated community and for that reason always have plenty of volunteers for any endeavor they undertake. They deserve to be merited. Carole Eady

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

ADVOCACY is the buzz word when describing the work of The Correctional Association of New York. Our organization Wakefield AARP Chapter #5396 has participated along with officers and members of NCNW North Bronx Section in the Northeast Bronx on bus trips to ALBANY. The Committee meetings cover areas of concern that brings information to local community organizations. Input from as many people young and old as possible is a goal I feel has been achieved by Correctional Association of New York.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

The work that the CA does is so important to our nation and our world. In an age where it has become socially acceptable to openly discriminate against people behind bars, criminalize mental illness and lock up children with adults--the demand for change within our criminal justice system is higher than ever. The CA works to put an end to this oppression through policy and advocacy work, and is an incredible force that should be modeled throughout our country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I had an absolutely amazing time working with the CA--definitely one the best volunteer experiences I've ever had. I think that it is rare to find an organization that accomplishes advocacy by working externally on the rights of women in, but which is also intimately connected with the issue through regular contact with incarcerated women. Everyone I interacted with was incredibly kind, dedicated, and above all, passionate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have never worked with such an amazing group of people like those at the CA. Each and every person at the CA is passionate about their work and puts forth their greatest efforts to make New York prison conditions more rehabilitative, fairer and safer. During my seven months working for the CA, I visited five NYS prisons, drafted reports on our observations and recommendations for improvements, lobbied in Albany three times, published an article on substance abuse treatment in NYS prisons, visited NYC arraignment holding cells, and wrote countless letters to inmates answering questions and sending them resources. Every day was a busy one, but I knew I was truly helping individuals turn their lives around.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I interned for the Correctional Association of New York's Women in Prison Project during the summer of 2010. During my time there, I was truly inspired by the CA's work and its passionate staff. I learned about prison conditions and the issues that women face in prison, such as access to adequate medical care. The CA advocates tirelessly to create a criminal justice system that treats persons justly and humanely. I was proud to be part of the CA and enjoyed working with such wonderful people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers