Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.931035
Write A Review
November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I helped by writing preliminary responses to prisoners' letters, by visiting three different prisons, by trying to gather support for changes in the law on judicial discretion. I have attended many workshops and other events. I think th enew director is superb. Everyone at CA is impressive in their personal warmth and enthusiastic commitment to the cause. CA fulfills its mission with passion and creativity and rigor. I can't praise them highly enough.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

As a former NYS Correctional Superintendent and an adjunct Prof. at John Jay college of criminal justice I have had nurmorous contacts with the CA staff over many, many, years.They collectively have kept the issues of the Rehabilitation and Reintegration of offenders in the forefront while being mindful of community safety. I'm fully appreciative of their efforts over the years that is a win-win for all concern.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

The Correctional Association of New York is a great organization that works tirelessly to protect human rights and the general well being of society. Anyone and everyone should aim to learn more about their work and help advocate for change.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

This group does prison reform work of the highest excellence and effectiveness. I am very proud to be connected with it. Prisons are a much neglected part of our society and it is so important that groups like ours are working to shine the light on prison conditions and trying to improve them

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

The Correctional Association serves as a voice for a population that society prefers to forget. If not for the tireless work of the dedicated staff at the Association over the many years of its existence the conditions in our prisons and lives of the former prisoners and their families would be much different, and not for the better. The ethusiasm of the current staff will surely lead the Assiciation to even better work in the future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

What this group is doing is fabulous. I was very impress by the several meetings I attended. The great enthusiasm of people helping people and the one who cannot speak for themselves. Anything I could do for them I would like giving my photography work for them to raise money. If I had money I would help out but i don't so instead I could do something with my artist work. I think the president is a fabulous beautiful human being. I am lucky I came across your path as we share the same ideas and vision in life. Keep up the good work for each one of us. Martine

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have worked with the Correctional Association since 1988. I have and do work with battered/formerly battered individuals, primarily women. Also, I work with battered/formerly battered women who are and have been imprisoned. The Correctional Association has been more than helpful, sharing their expertise and actually acting on circumstances of concern to women who are imprisoned without a voice. Through their Coalition for Women Prisoners, they have brought the voices of those who would be silenced out from behind the prison walls. This is no easy task. The walls of the prisons are thick not only to keep prisoners in, but to keep those out who would advocate for their rights out. The Correctional Association has for many years gone into prisons and exposed what happens behind those walls and brought that information out into the open. This is why I think the Correctional Association does excellent work and deserves to be appreciated and publicly recognized for their work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

They are experienced, knowledgable, energetic, conscientious, and extremely dedicated. They do extremely good work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have been a member of the Coalition for Women Prisoners since 2005 and I have had the pleasure to meet other people who are passionate about changing the criminal justice system. The work that the Correctional Association does is unique and goes beyond most criminal justice agencies.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I was a Social Work intern for my Masters Placement during my time at Columbia School of Social Work. The level of expertise, passion, and dedication by the staff of Correctional Association was incredible. I learned tremendously from my time there, not only because I was able to work on many of the critical and varied issues that the CA deals with-from such a progressive and well-rounded perspective-but also because I was able to observe and speak with talented staff. I truly believe that the CA is doing work from a model of anti-oppression and with truest dedication to ensuring the human rights, dignity, and well-being of all individuals directly impacted by their work and the community at large. My time there has truly made a lasting impact and informs the way I do my work as a Social Worker and an activist now, where I want to go in my career, and the policies and values I support. The CA is amazing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers