Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.931035
Write A Review
November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

The Correctional Association of New York (the "CA") has an extraordinarilly talented and dedicated staff. They tirelessly advocate for improved prison conditions throughout New York State and provide a voice for those who desparately need it. The CA ably and effectively speaks on behalf of so many who are so often forgotten or written off, including the incarcerated youth, the incarcerated mothers, the incarcerated fathers and the incarcerated LGBT population. The work of the CA not only makes the world a better place for the forgotton, but for all of us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have yet to find another organization that takes on the issues surrounding incarceration with such genuine concern an action. The Coalition for Women Prisonsers remains one of the few groups which empower women to embrace their past and find their future through advocacy.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have never worked with such an amazing group of people like those at the CA. Each and every person at the CA is passionate about their work and puts forth their greatest efforts to make New York prison conditions more rehabilitative, fairer and safer. During my seven months working for the CA, I visited five NYS prisons, drafted reports on our observations and recommendations for improvements, lobbied in Albany three times, published an article on substance abuse treatment in NYS prisons, visited NYC arraignment holding cells, and wrote countless letters to inmates answering questions and sending them resources. Every day was a busy one, but I knew I was truly helping individuals turn their lives around.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I interned for the Correctional Association of New York's Women in Prison Project during the summer of 2010. During my time there, I was truly inspired by the CA's work and its passionate staff. I learned about prison conditions and the issues that women face in prison, such as access to adequate medical care. The CA advocates tirelessly to create a criminal justice system that treats persons justly and humanely. I was proud to be part of the CA and enjoyed working with such wonderful people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Under Mayor John Lindsay, I was Chairman of the Board of Corrections, a voluntary group of citizens who monitored the prisons. In that role, I saw the work of the Correctional Association. It pioneered in programs teaching prisoners the responsibility of parenting; it pressed the need to read and write;it engaged the public health field; it introduced college educational opportunities for prisoners; it monitored conditions in the prisons; it understood and worked with correction officers and prison officials; the Legislature gave it the right and power to visit prisons and recommend changes; it set up programs to help prisoners being released to find jobs; it gave special care and attention to juveniles; it organized opportunities for women prisoners to learn new skills. It is the most respected organization in the State dealing with prisons and problems of criminal justice. It has passion for justice and common sense in meeting the problems of mental health, overcrowding, and community security.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I joined the board of the CA about five years ago because I thought that the work they do is extremely important. The true measure of a civil society is in how they treat those who fall through the cracks of society's mainstream mechanisms and rules. I have been amazed, particularly during the past two years as our new Executive Director, Soffiyah Elijah has brought her amazing energy, passion and quiet diplomacy to bear on major issues facing New York' prison system, at how much of a difference a well-led, highly motivated staff can make. I am proud to be able to play my part.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

My CA internship with ReConnect helped launched my career in criminal justice. Today I am pursuing my doctorate and teaching at John Jay.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I first became aware of the Correctional Association in 2006 while in a treatment facility, and I found them to be very helpful in assisting the women they served become responsible and assertive despite their backgrounds. They were also given both the tools and information necessary to return to their families and communities with a better sense of self-worth and self-motivation to regain their rightful place in society. I have maintained my connection with the association over the years and I find their commitment to helping women improve their quality of life exemplary, and I will continue to support their efforts because of the work I see them doing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I interned with the Correctional Association a few summers ago and really enjoyed my time there. I worked with a dynamic group of leaders and was able to gain a wide range of experiences, particularly as an intern. I think this organization does great work and all of its members are very passionate about improving prisoner's rights.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have been a board member of the Correctional Association of New York for over 40 years. While the CA was founded nearly 175 years ago in 1844, the organization's real growth and impact on the criminal justice system has occurred directly and indirectly as a result of the infamous Attica prison riots in September, 1971. The key mandate of the CA is its legislative mandate to inspect the prisons of New York State and report its findings and recommendations for constructive change to policymakers and the public. When I joined the CA's board, its staff consisted of three members, a board of directors of ten and a budget in the $100,000 range. Today the CA has a board of over 35 members, a staff of twenty-one and a budget in excess of $2 million. Importantly, the CA has grown significantly over the past year and a half under the extraordinary leadership of its able new Executive Director, Soffiyah Elijah.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers