Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.931035
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have always been impressed with their initiatives geared toward criminal justice reform. Staff has passion, energy, efficiency and knowledge!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

The CA is a top nonprofit in getting legislative changes in the Criminal and Prisoner Justice arena. Their agenda is always right on time and right on the money. As well as a collective beneficial direction, the CA is always ready willing and able to assist in personal areas.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Still "a force for progressive change in the criminal justice system," I am most encouraged by the recent appointment of Soffiyah Elijah as Executive Director of the CA. The appointment of Soffiyah Elijah is emblematic, as well as signaling a recognition that while the CA mission has not changed since 1844, the communities most impacted by the criminal justice system today, in 2012, have.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

This organization is over 100 years old and is state-chartered, unlike most other NGOs. It is widely respected for its contributions to public policy and monitoring of the way our society treats those who have little voice or popular support -- detainees in jail awaiting trial, adult prison inmates, juveniles in the criminal justice system, and all their families.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

The Correctional Association Of New York has done and is still doing a phenomenal job of bringing attention to the ills of so-called penal correction in America. CANY offers concrete solutions backed by solid research which could save millions of wasted tax payer dollars and offer genuine rehabilitative alternatives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I had an absolutely amazing time working with the CA--definitely one the best volunteer experiences I've ever had. I think that it is rare to find an organization that accomplishes advocacy by working externally on the rights of women in, but which is also intimately connected with the issue through regular contact with incarcerated women. Everyone I interacted with was incredibly kind, dedicated, and above all, passionate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Does important advocacy work around conditions of confinement and juvenile justice.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Like some people, I didn't know organizations like correctional associates existed until I needed their services. My husband, who is in prison, was assulted both physically and verbally by officers in his facility. The treatment my husband received got worse with each passing day. I felt helpless and hopeless. That's when I found correctional associates while searching for help on-line. When I called, I was immediately put in contact with gina. She was so attentive and concerned about my husbands situation. She was a breath of fresh air that propelled me to continue pressing on. She was so informative and helpful. We kept each other up to date with new developements in him. Unfortunately, correctional association was not able to take my husbands case. This was fine because they opened so many other doors for me that has help me get some assistance for him. We are still copeing with a lot of issues. But until our problems are resolved, I look forward to volunteering to help someone else.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

The Correctional Association of New York has been around since 1845, created by the state legislature to visit prisons and to advise the legislature on needed reforms and policies. It is an institution that has evolved with time and has exhibited a spirit of independence that has made its work thorough, reliable, and essential. Their reports on prison conditions, their recommendations for changes, and their activism in the criminal justice arena, are straightforward and often at odds with a system in dire need of dismantling.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I believe that the Correctional Association of New York is an invaluable organization fighting the good fight for meaningful prison reform and to end the destructive policies and practices that cause and perpetuate the current and ongoing mass incarceration disproportionately of African-American and Latino citizens. Their work is vital and laudable, and strives to make a difference for many who otherwise might be voiceless and forgotten.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers