Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.931035
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
November 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is a personal opinion and does not express the views of New York State's Unified Court System. I am a judge of the trial courts of the State of New York, assigned to the civil term, but I also preside over bail hearings in NYC Criminal Court about a half dozen times per year. I am also former chair of the New York chapter of the Women in Prison Committee of the National Association of Women Judges. In such capacity I have seen first hand the work of the Correctional Association, a unique organization with a 100 year old history. Mark Bennett, federal district court judge of Iowa, recently wrote an editorial criticizing mandatory minimum sentencing laws and their part in the current crisis in the prison system in our country , which incarcerates a higher percentage of its population than any nation in the world. The Correctional Association through its mandate and cutting age problem solving advocacy, is tackling the crisis head on and forging a model for a truly just system of criminal laws.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

Vital. Hard-working. Knowledgable. Needed. Passionate.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

The CA does wonderful work. They are supportive to the formerly incarcerated community and for that reason always have plenty of volunteers for any endeavor they undertake. They deserve to be merited. Carole Eady

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

Wonderful, just wonderful. I love the work the CA does.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

The Correctional Association is probably the most exciting and participatory organization I have ever known. They are working on issues that affect the most marginalized people in our society. I have worked especially with their Women In Prison Project and cannot say enough about their vision for a safer and better life for those in prison, recently released and all of us. They are the one agency that is doing this work and they do it well. The CA makes sure that formerly incarcerated individuals have a voice and a way of advocating for the change they know makes the most sense. They have an impact on legislators and policy makers. Those individuals know that when the Women In Prison Project members show up that they know the issues, can speak well and are passionate about what the legislators and policymakers need to do. I am so pleased to work along side this great organization!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

The Correctional Association, especially the womens Prison Project, is the only non profit monitoring and advocating for the conditions inside womens prisons. in fact, it seems to be the only group thinking about what it means to be a women serving time. They have advocated and been successful to make sure that women in labor are not shackled while they deliver a baby while incarcerated. They also realized that women's health is not being served especially women's reproductive health. If the CA were not around, our population in the prisons would be subject to far more injustices then they are already being penalized for. They are an exceptionally well run organization doing difficult work. I praise their tenacity and vision.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

The Correctional Association's statutory authority to visit prisons has been used for 168 years to visit state prisons and to report to legislators and the public on prison conditions. It advocates for changes in the prisons that are based on the facts of prison life. Its reports on mental health, solitary confinement, drug programs and many other matters are based in significant part on interviews with inmates and observation of programs and facilities. These reports have been used as bases for important legislation and administrative reform. Its authority to visit prisons also opens a window on what is too often a closed and hidden world. This authority means that members of the public as well as professionals in the field can observe what happens in prisons and help improve conditions there. The presence of outside visitors, their questions and their observations help make prisons better places for inmates. From its origins in prison visiting, the CA has also taken on important advocacy roles in areas like juvenile justice and drug law reform which impact the criminal justice system. Its staff is knowledgeable and dedicated, with an executive director who represents the best the field has to offer. It is a first rate organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

In reentry, I became involved with the Correctional Association when I was asked to present at Project Recconnect. As an Academic Counselor at the College Inititiative, a reentry program that assists formerly incarcerated people gain access to college, I provided information on how to pursue college, how to overcome the barriers, such as clearing up outstanding student loans, and provided a bit of inspiration because I too am formerly incarcerated who completed a graduate degree. That was the beginning of our relationship, but certainly not the end. I support such campaigns as, doemestic violence, bring back the bus, the rockefeller drug laws, and the women in prison project, just to name a few. And this is while I'm in reentry, while I was in prison, it was the Correctional Association who we wrote when rodents were taking of the Bedford Hills Correctional Facility and we needed something done. I have a long standing history with the Correctional Association and while my work has taken me to Columbia University our work together is looking to change unfair systems. I am on Team Correctional Association!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

ADVOCACY is the buzz word when describing the work of The Correctional Association of New York. Our organization Wakefield AARP Chapter #5396 has participated along with officers and members of NCNW North Bronx Section in the Northeast Bronx on bus trips to ALBANY. The Committee meetings cover areas of concern that brings information to local community organizations. Input from as many people young and old as possible is a goal I feel has been achieved by Correctional Association of New York.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

The work that the CA does is so important to our nation and our world. In an age where it has become socially acceptable to openly discriminate against people behind bars, criminalize mental illness and lock up children with adults--the demand for change within our criminal justice system is higher than ever. The CA works to put an end to this oppression through policy and advocacy work, and is an incredible force that should be modeled throughout our country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers