Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.931035
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

The Correctional Association tirelessly champions important reforms to the criminal justice system; empowers incarcerated, formerly incarcerated, and others affected by incarceration through advocacy efforts and coalitions; and shines a light on conditions of confinement through well researched reports.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I had the opportunity to intern with the CA while completing a graduate program in Social Work. From my first day at the organization, I was blown away by the passion for social justice, the level of community involvement, and the sense of family at the CA. The CA opperates from an anti-racist, anti-oppressive, anti-mass incarceration lens as it demands that legislatures, government agencies, corrections facilities, and community members address the atrocities of our current adult and youth justice systems and call for the retribution and punishment that define these systems to be replaced by love and healing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 14, 2012

Hello, I don't know where to begin. I came to CA I think 3 years ago, for an interview with the director Andrea. I thought it was going to be formal. She was real cool, I felt her warm, honest energy.... more

October 29, 2013

I'm not sure about where to begin. I found out about Correctional Assoc. 2010, I'd found a flyer for the Reconnect program while visiting Steps. Steps was then called Stepping Stones. I called to confirm the flyer, I was called in for an interview. This is when my world began to change. Over the past three years, I have been overjoyed to come across their threshold time and time again. The staff and the energy there is so amazing. I've never seen a bunch of people who work so hard and still have a smile when they see you. Most of all I am humbled by the way they go off the limb to tell you they appreciate what you do for them. Once an incarcerated woman steps across the door, you just know, "I'm in good hands", then there's a wealth of knowledge and resources there, very organized always. I was amazed at the sisterhood that was created around the table with other women that hurt and felt and had made the same mistakes like me, that was some of our common ground. We loved together, we hurt together, you don't get that everywhere. Everything is consistent. Including the care and concern for your well being.C.A. helped me to fulfill my dream of returning to college to continue my education, I'm close to graduation and loving it. When nobody else does, Correctional Association tells you, it's ok, you've got a second chance, we're here for you. As a formerly incarcerated woman still having challenges and some mountains, that means the world and makes some of those mountains disappear. Advocacy, it is a big deal!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them funding to do additional things and increase the population that they serve, help them to expand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

Hello, I don't know where to begin. I came to CA I think 3 years ago, for an interview with the director Andrea. I thought it was going to be formal. She was real cool, I felt her warm, honest energy. The program was Reconnect. I would strongly recommend that program to any and every woman returning home from incarceration. It just took off from there.Reconnect turned out to be a sisterhood I cannot describe. We laugh together, cried together, most of all we lifted one another up, and we had the most wonderful bond. Every week was a different adventure, besides the great and healthy food they fed us,we had the most awesome trainings and trainers! these trainers were well rounded, knowledgable, and empowered us with a wealth of resources. Everyone is not in the same mindset, just ingeneral in life, but if you want something outside of incaceration again, tht's the place to be. A place where opportunity is always available. Every meeting, as I glance around the table I smile knowing the hard non stop work these people do. Ms Soffiyah the best the new Director. They are always so inspiring. All the coalitions, Worth program, CCF, Steps ,I could go on. Every one there has a place in God's heart. At the end, he'll be there smiling too, saying "Well Done"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

When I met Soffiyah Elijah about three years ago, she had just been appointed the first African American woman executive director of The Correctional Association of New York. I was taken by her enthusiastic commitment to carry forward the crucial work of the CA to reform the criminal justice system. It was clear that her experience as a practicing criminal lawyer and teacher at Harvard Law School make her exceptionally well qualified to lead the CA. The CA was founded in 1844 and really makes a meaningful difference in expanding programs in prison to rehabilitate and educate those caught in the criminal justice system and reduce recidivism. These goals are at the core of resolving poverty and inequity in our society.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add to its staff and arrange for major foundation and individual large funding contributions.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

The REconnect Project of the CA helped in my transformation. They allowed a bridge back to life. The women in the group were inspirational; we are still CONNECTED 10 years later. The mentors and staff involved with the project and the CA truly care about not only the work, but the people they serve. The topics of discssions were relevant and important to teaching us to advocate for ourselves, our families and our community. I speak highly of their organization wherever I go. I am forever indebted to them. Woot Woot CA!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

October 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 14, 2012

When I came home from Prison 8 yrs ago things looked grim. I enrolled in an Advocacy Leadership Program sponsored by the Correctional Assocations Women in Prison Project "RECONNECT" and I have been so... more

October 28, 2013

After returning home from prison The Correctional Association of New York welcomed me and let me know that I mattered. Entering the Re-Connect program affored me the opportunity to be heard and to actually see real results. I have developed lifelong relationships with this orgainzation who are always available to assist with ANY situation one can encounter during re-entry or post re-entry. This is about the realist and HONEST Non-Profit that is sincere in its mission and never waivers or flip flops. The holistic approach and the sincerity in which this organization goes about its work is never changes. They are all the Real Deal. I transitoned years ago and I am still in-touch with my CA family. As a clinician who has worked at a few organization the CA is one of the ONLY agencies that is REAL

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

include in-reach not to observe prisons but to conduct trainings on navigating life on the outside prior to leaving prison. Everyone was not as fortunate as I was to engage with the CA.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I came home from Prison 8 yrs ago things looked grim. I enrolled in an Advocacy Leadership Program sponsored by the Correctional Assocations Women in Prison Project "RECONNECT" and I have been soaring every since !!!!! Today I am a Certified Alcohol Aubstance Abuse Counselor and I attend collge persuing adegree in Social Work. Without the Sincere Supporrt I recieved and still recieve at the CA I don't know where I would have ended up!!!! I am greatful for all the work they do !!!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I highly recommend the correctional association to anyone who is looking to a better tomorrow in helping change lives. The correctional association has taught me how to stand strong and fight in what I believe in. Thank you! Belky

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

THe Correctional Association provides independent evidenced-based analysis and advocacy around the fundamental issues of incarceration and its uses in New York and by extension, in the country as a whole. Soffiyah Elijah is an inspirational leader of a highly dedicated and effective staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide it with more funding

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

The Correctional Association of New York plays a vital role in ensuring that prisons are monitored by the citizenry and does an outstanding job advocating for fair and humane treatment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

The CA has been an important community resource as long as I remember. They maintain the perfect balance of advocacy, public information, and community building that has made them legendary in the circles of people that do criminal justice work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers