Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.833335
Write A Review
June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

I always am amazed with what I take away from one of CorningWorks performances. Beth's work is so deep with through-provoking images along with a close association of real life moments. I learn more about her feelings and experiences with each performance and come away feeling like she and I had the same experiences. It is funny and serious at the same time; sort of like life! On another note, Beth is so gracious with her appreciation of her fans along with those in the audience as "first-timers".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

CorningWorks is an important facet of the Pittsburgh artistic community and represents an area of artistic expression unlike any of the others. Its productions are diverse, surprising, provocative and always of an extremely high quality. CorningWorks productions are on par with anything ones sees in New York! We love it!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hope to see it better funded so that it would do more productions and see the creative vision of its founder fully realized

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

Beth's work always exudes an honesty that makes it real and have relevance to all who watch and are drawn in. From the brilliant graphic design to the lighting and props that support the pieces, her choices of collaborators enhance the work. I am always amazed that after all these years as dancer, director, and choreographer, Beth has fresh and unique concepts and a performance style that is winning - a deep respect for physicality, humor, and heart.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

Beth and her 'team' of chosen collaborators always offer a compelling look at the complexities that face a human. Funny, silly, sad and always straight from the heart, the experience that Corningworks dancers bring to the fore is unparalleled in local dance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

offer more performances throughout the year

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I am moved and invigorated by the work of this talented artist. There is depth, thoughtfulness, humor, physicality and adroit storytelling. It's what I want in dance... and well, in my life as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move it to New York where I live.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 27, 2012

Having watched the evolution of Beth Corning's career as a loyal fan, it has been a privilege to actually serve on the board and see it from an entirely different perspective. I have always know her t... more

September 4, 2013

In the often transient and frequently banal world of regional dance, Corningworks is a stunning and notable exception. The powerful creative vision of Beth Corning pushes limits while still remaining, at its core, accessible to a full spectrum of audiences. While those steeped in Modern dance will find much to admire, and imitate. The true test of art is its ability to speak to all sorts of people. Ihave sat in the audience at various performances, most recently of her landmark work, What Remains, and have been deeply impressed how transfixed teenagers, twenty somethings, middle aged professionals and non-professionals, elderly people, were. Listening to animated conversations as the audience left, one could hear the excitement of people who witnessed soemthing just a little bit life changing. This nonprofit deserves to get noticed more and more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...crack the magic code and help it be self sustaining, either through an endowment or a substantial gift.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012

Having watched the evolution of Beth Corning's career as a loyal fan, it has been a privilege to actually serve on the board and see it from an entirely different perspective. I have always know her to be a brilliant choreographer, a powerful performer, but i had no idea of how meticulously she attends to every single detail of the performance: from choreography and music, to costumes, lighting, set direction, the venue, the publicity, the graphic design, to feeding and housing her dancers. There is no aspect of creating a work that she is not completely in control of, a remarkable and impressive feat. Because in the end, the fact she has never lost sight of, is that it IS about the work, about the art. To attend a CORNINGWORKS performance is to witness dance of rare intelligence and narrative force, a performance that does what the best art does: it changes you. It haunts you. It shifts your way of looking at the world, just a little bit. That is what has always been special about Corning's work. And what continues to be special about CORNINGWORKS.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

Beth Corning is a fabulous choreographer and storyteller through dance. Using seasoned performers she creates works that stimulate and provoke.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I have attended many performances choreographed by the talented and innovative Beth Corning. She brings an exciting, very contemporary edge to the Pittsburgh dance experience. She utilizes vastly experienced performers to tell amazing stories.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

It is a fantastic opportunity to work with a creative and energetic choreographer (and dancer) who brings thought-provoking and beautiful work to Pittsburgh.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012

more

November 25, 2012

My volunteer time with Corning Dances and Company has been a bit like working for a great chef. The soup is so much more delicious than any of the vegetables I had been busy cutting.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers