Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.090915
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I worked with Cornerstone Theater Company from 2010- 2013. I absolutely love Cornerstone, respect all of the people (Community, Ensemble, Staff and Board) that makes the organization run. I had the unique opportunity to work on the Artistic and Administrative Management time while at Cornerstone. I started out as a management fellow, became a part-time employee, then a full-time employee and finally was in the producer role.

During the time that i was at Cornerstone, the organization was coming of age and going through some very difficult transition. However, just like in life; when organizations reach a certain age there is time for reflection, re-evaluation and implementing systems that will support an organization executing its mission and moving (on the administrative side) to the next level.

COMMUNITY is what Cornerstone does! It has always been good at this and hopefully will continue to be a leader in the field. I was there when the transition of General Management happened. I can say that this was a difficult transition along with the soon after firing mentioned in the other review. When new folks come in; it can take time to adopt the Cornerstone culture. I will say that the General Manager is a worker, goes above and beyond for the company and has put in place some important policies and systems that allows the organization to function better administratively. Could the transition been handled differently? Maybe. However, I respect the leadership that was and is at Cornerstone and as a member of the staff I have agreed to trust the decisions that they make. Along with that; I understand many of the concerns of the staff.

The work that Cornerstone does in the community by creating a space for opening dialogue, skill sharing and transformation outshines any of the office talk. That is the reason I spent over 700 days engaging in the work of the company and why so many people have done and do this work.

Cornerstone is an amazing place and so many lives have been changed because of creating plays in community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Cornerstone does absolutely life changing work. It is not easy work, but it certainly alters every one of the communities in which they work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am most impressed with Cornerstone Theatre Company.
Cornerstone brings the power of theatre to people who have never (or rarely) been exposed to it. When I was in college I had the fortune of taking an acting class with an extraordinary couple who completely opened me up to the
possibilities of life. I was a shy kid with a severe stutter. The fact that I have gone on to have a career in theatre is almost beside the point. They, through theatre, opened all sorts of doors within me. The act of creating theatre is a very empowering experience. It breeds confidence. It fosters self expression. It encourages us to step outside the boundaries that we tend to draw around ourselves. It lends us a voice when we thought we had none. It can be a magical experience for someone who has never set foot onstage before. And most in America have not.
I am most impressed with the quality of Cornerstone plays. All are completely original. Established playwrights are commissioned and sent into a community to investigate a particular issue of great concern to the community. Many interviews throughout the community take place. All sides of an issue are investigated and woven into the scripts. Community members often see their concepts, words and opinions wind up in the finished plays, again, a very empowering experience for somebody who has never been heard. Playwrights use their skills to shape the various facets of the issue into compelling drama. Questions are raised rather than answers given. Factions of a community are often brought together through the play production process. Barriers get dropped, future bonds formed.
I am most impressed with the level of production that Cornerstone regularly achieves. The directors and designers are top professionals. Full professionalism is brought to the rehearsal process, though many involved have never been onstage before. I love the way that Cornerstone sprinkles the community cast with Cornerstone ensemble members, all top professional actors themselves. The ensemble members usually play the more difficult roles, as well as teaching, mentoring, coaching and being role models for the first-time actors. I am amazed at how good the community performances can end up being. It's really fun to see the glow, the excitement on their faces as they participate in an endeavor this accomplished. The excitement of the audience is likewise fun to see. Many are of the community. It's their people on stage, their issues, their voices being laid out in a public forum. It is most empowering. The power of theatre.
I am most impressed with the staff and organization of Cornerstone. There is a lot at play here. Many, many people are usually involved in any one project. Other projects at different stages of development are usually happening at the same time. Managing communities of people unschooled in the ways and means of theatre with all of their real life issues added in can be a huge challenge. The Cornerstone ensemble members and all their needs have to be attended to, as well. The commissioned playwrights working on future projects have to be guided and monitored. There are always workshops going on, the training of Cornerstone techniques and the development of new ones. Relationship building with institutions, theatrical and otherwise, are always taking place. This, along with the normal hustle and bustle that it takes to run a theatre company keeps staff members extremely busy. Cornerstone is a unique and invaluable institution. They know what they are doing, and what they do, they do very, very well.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

As a donor and former Cornerstone employee I can say without equivocation that this company gives no quarter. I spent a number of years as the Director of Community Partnerships and was on the front lines acting as a conduit between the company and the communities they work in collaboration with to create art. During my tenure I also say a number of people evolve and grow in their connection to Cornerstone: story circle participant to actor; actor to volunteer; volunteer to staff member. CTC commits themselves to communities and participants not just for one play, but for the life of the artist. They remember. They circle back. They invite you in. This generosity of spirit is the central nervous system of the company. As a nonprofit arts supporter myself I rarely have an abundance of cash, but I will always carve out a small amount to give to Cornerstone. That's how it works with family.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My first experience with Cornerstone was seeing a play at the Central Library in 1997 in downtown Los Angeles. I have been an avid fan of the company ever since. I have enjoyed many shows since then and I have travelled to many interesting and diverse communities of California. I worked on staff for 5 years and have been a Board member for over 2 years.
The entire staff of Cornerstone, including Artistic Director Michael Garces, Managing Director Tali Pressman and General Manager Sara Adelman, are all dedicated to the mission of Cornerstone and are very professional and kind. Working at a non-profit can be both stressful and challenging, but is also very rewarding. I am impressed how the company has grown and flourished under their leadership.
Cornerstone uses the generous donations of individuals and organizations to create memorable artistic events and also to create opportunities for dialogue and social change.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 7, 2013

more

March 7, 2013

I have been fortunate to participate in various ways with Cornerstone Theater Company. First, was as an audience member where the two productions I experienced left me with a sense of gratitude and wonder at the company's ability to frame issues well and inclusively. Although there is an obvious mixture of experience - I remember - how I felt in watching them - completely present ...
I also worked with the staff when they were asked to host a program on cross-sector collaborations targeted mainly to arts leadership. I was so impressed with their welcoming and supportive role in hosting and participating in the program. It was a day when there was filming on the street - meaning that parking was difficult. The staff jumped in with solution - without stress - and never made me feel badly about this added level of work. I also greatly respect the ways in which the various and extensive partnerships stretches Cornerstone - in terms of imagining the perspectives of others - in sharing control over ideas and outcomes and being flexible in considering the needs of their partners - to assure their authentic participation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 7, 2013

more

March 7, 2013

As an audience member and fan, I have benefited from the great work Cornerstone does to bring theatre to the community. I have engaged with various members of the team at shows they sponsored and supported. I have found all of the employees (including Sara, the general manager) to be incredibly fun, outgoing, and passionate about the work they do. I look forward to engaging with this organization more and continuing to check out the amazing work they enable!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As an audience member and donor to Cornerstone Theatre Co., but also as a former Educational Consultant to Shakespeare Center LA's youth programs and former Board Chair of About...Productions, another LA-based small, community-centered theatre company, I wanted to share my experience.

Making high-quality theatre in collaboration with community members and artists, often on a shoestring budget is a demanding proposition in our city. Few do it with the generosity of spirit, honesty, ethics, and sheer doggedness as does Cornerstone. I have been delighted with the quality of productions under John Michael Garces. And I have known Sara Adelman for many years. She is a pro who knows her job and performs it with heart, intelligence, and dignity. And in a hardworking field, you will find fewer harder workers than Sara.

I have participated in limited ways, as a facilitator, with the work of Cornerstone and have found them all to be professional and kind. I am happy and confident that my donations have been thoughtfully used towards the mission of the company.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Mi nombre es Lorena Moran y soy la directora de Teatro Jornalero Sin Fronteras programa de Cornerstone Theater Company, deseo compartir mi experiencia de los últimos cinco años de convivencia, colaboración y trabajo como miembro del Staff de Cornerstone Theater Company y los puedo resumir, en igualdad, oportunidades, desarrollo, amor y respeto, razón por la cual me incomoda saber de comentarios negativos en contra de Cornerstone Theater Company así como y para alguno de mis colegas, no es cuestión de camaraderismo sino es una realidad, en el Sr. Michael John Garces quien es nuestro Director Artístico, siempre he encontrado un extraordinario director, un colega profesional y ético, una persona sensata y justa, y por ultimo pero no por eso lo menos importante un ser humano excepcional y un buen amigo.

Sobre la Sra. Sara Adelman nuestra General Manager puedo decir que admiro de sobremanera su capacidad para organizar, dirigir y coordinar la administración de Cornerstone Theater Company, es la persona ideal para lograr mantener el equilibrio de los requerimientos, responsabilidades, obligaciones y compromisos de una organización como Cornerstone Theater Company. Siempre he encontrado en ella una respuesta respetuosa y eficiente a mis requerimientos, colaboración y ayuda para resolverlos.

Muy atentamente,

Lorena Moran

My name is Lorena Moran and I am the director of Teatro Jornalero Sin Fronteras, a program of Cornerstone Theater Company. Our mission is to improve the lives of day laborers everywhere through the creation of plays by and for the day labor community. I wish to share my experience of the last five years of coexistence, cooperation and working as a former community particiapnt, and current staff member of Cornerstone Theater Company I can sum up my experience in these words: equality, opportunities, development, love and respect, which is why it bothers me to hear about negative comments against Cornerstone Theater Company and some of my colleagues, this is not a matter of camraderism but is a reality on the individuals addressed in previous comments. I always found Mr. Michael John Garces, our Art Director, as an extraordinary director, a professional colleague who is ethical, sensible and fair, and last but certainly not least important an exceptional human being and a good friend.

Regarding Ms. Sara Adelman our General Manager I can say I greatly admire her ability to organize, direct and coordinate the administration of Cornerstone Theater Company, she is the ideal person to achieve balance of the requirements, responsibilities, obligations and commitments of an organization such as Cornerstone Theater Company. I've always found her to provide respectful, friendly and efficient responses to my requirements, always working in collaboration, in helping to resolve them.

Sincerely,

Lorena Moran

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
February 27, 2013

Unfortunately, I have to agree with Elizabeth. I was a volunteer at Cornerstone a couple years back and I loved the experience. I felt that the work was thrilling and impactful and the team was supportive and on mission. However, since the hiring of the new general manager the mission and love that Cornerstone used work around is diminishing. I had an interview for a position there and the general manager was rude and condescending. She didn't even know what the mission was! She seems to see the staff and community not as unique and valuable individuals but as resources to be used and disposed of. It is very sad to see that this great organization has fallen into such reckless and unequipped hands and, like Elizabeth, I hope it is able to get back on track.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers