Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.955
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 6, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 7, 2013

CORD is a charitable organization whose philosophy is " Don't give fish, teach how to fish"; "CORD is a bond of love and understanding, encouraging a process of sharing which enriches both the giver a... more

September 6, 2014

CORD represents the ultimate in Chatitable work. It was inspired by the great saint master Chinmayananda Swamy forty years ago and has been serving the poor all over India. It has low overhead and uses the philosophy of teaching to fish instead of giving fish to eat. It empowers women by small loans, education, health care and many many ways. It has continued to grow in recent years.
June 7, 2013

CORD is a charitable organization whose philosophy is " Don't give fish, teach how to fish"; "CORD is a bond of love and understanding, encouraging a process of sharing which enriches both the giver and the receiver. ” CORD has been serving the poorest of the poor for over 50 years with education, primary health care, micro loans etc with very little overhead. is activites have expanded in the last 10 years to other states in India and abroad. I am very proud of being a supporter of CORD.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

CORD epitomizes what a charity should do. Specifically, its focus is to empower less fortunate people in rural India to raise their socioeconomic status. CORD helps them achieve these goals by assisting with education and self-sustaining cottage industries. The organization particularly emphasizes the education and training of women
July 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

I have been extremely involved with CORD for over ten years. The work is very close to my heart - having witnessed the core problems and how CORD has been successful in changing the lives of the poore... more

July 31, 2014

I had the opportunity to visit two of the CORD sites in the north and south of India and have also spoken to the CORD leader in Sri Lanka. The work is truly transformative - providing sustainable solutions as opposed to handouts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

they need more help in fundraising and raising awareness of the amazing work thats going on at a grass roots level

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 13, 2012

I have been extremely involved with CORD for over ten years. The work is very close to my heart - having witnessed the core problems and how CORD has been successful in changing the lives of the poorest of the poor. By focusing on development (teaching people to earn a living) as opposed to welfare (e.g. donating food); CORD has built a sustainable and replicable model which has been successfully replicated in approximately 700 remote villages

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

My friends and I were inspired by CORD and its mission so we started a youth seva group at our Chinmaya Balavihar organization in Pittsburgh. We had different events like a football game, a cupcake class, and a yearbook sale to raise money to donate to CORD at the end of the year. We worked really hard, especially on the yearbook, but we found that we had fun and it was completely worth it. We raised over $1000 and saw that through CORD we could make a real difference.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

best non profit organization.well run and 90 percent $ goes to needed cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

more awarenes in the public

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

I am writing as a person who was inspired to contribute to this organization for a number of years now. CORD exemplifies the power of self-empowerment, and it is amazing to see the way CORD has impacted the lives of many people by giving them the skills to overcome their hardships and become more self-sufficient in their lives. I have had several high schoolers talk about their experiences volunteering at CORD supported sites, and it is clear that it is not only the people in need that are being helped, it is the volunteers themselves. There is a lot of value in being taught self-sufficiency, how to develop a positive attitude and outlook in life with what little you have, and how everyone can strive to uplift their fellow human beings as well as themselves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

donate more time, ideas and money, so that more projects can be supported, and more lives transformed!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

As an economist I believe that the true source of development is empowerment. Not recognizing it and giving funds to those in power was the major error in international aid in the post-War years. Economic growth in the long run occurs only when society breaks the chains that were holding it back. I had the fortune of growing up in India when a shift in power from the upper cast to all Hindus, from landlords to tenants and from a few industrialist to many occurred. I support CORD as it empowers those who are caught in a social trap.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I came to know about CORD a few months ago thru a friend. I was amazed by the good work they do. What most interests me is that they empower women in rural areas so its not giving money or food to them but making them independent so they can take care of themselves. Another thing that is very impressive is that they develop the women who have benefitted by CORD into future leaders, creating a exponential impact in the areas. Keep up the good work!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I work in international development and feel that CORD is a unique charity that focuses on brining real holistic results to poor people in Rural India. it is a great example of long term sustainable development by empowering the poorest to help themselves develop sustainable livelihoods with a measurable demonstration impact. CORD works to tackle rural poverty addresses corruption through empowerment at the grassroots level, healthcare and nutrition, micro-banking and income generation, rehabilitation of children with disabilities, and natural resource management. CORD has impacted close to 700 remote villages, provided income generation activities for 13,000 underprivileged villagers and created several programmes that have reached around 50,000 people directly and 500,000 indirectly.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I recently started getting to know about CORD. More and more I come to know about their activities, I feel very positive about them as an organization. Empowerment of people is their main goal and it really works in the rural projects they have undertaken in India. They operate in a structured way to channelize the funds and make sure it helps empowering people who need the support most. I feel confident that My little contribution would be well spent.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers