Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
62 Reviews
1234.951615
Write A Review
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

How do you rate a charitable organization that gives 100% (OK, 99%) of its revenues directly to the targeted recipients? With 10 Stars, not 5!!

I have volunteered for this organization for the last 5 years and I can vouch for their honesty and their dedication to improving the lot of rural
Indians and Sri Lankans.

October 17, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 14, 2012

I've been volunteering and fundraising for CORD for past 6 months. What I liked about CORD is that they don't do charity, but empower the people in such a way that they don't need charity. I was very ... more

October 17, 2014

I have been a volunteer with CORD for 2 years. CORD is an organization that works directly in the remote villages in India without any overhead costs to maintain an organization. What I like about CORD is the personal touch it provides the volunteers by putting them in contact with the people who are benefitting from CORD. I also like the youth service-visits that CORD organizes, and I have seen many high school students being inspired to help others and look at life with a different perspective. The mission and vision of CORD is truly inspiring.
November 14, 2012

I've been volunteering and fundraising for CORD for past 6 months. What I liked about CORD is that they don't do charity, but empower the people in such a way that they don't need charity. I was very impressed by the well organized programs and training for people for all vocations. The best part about CORD is that they work in a very organized way to cover all aspects of life for the people in the villages - medical, social, education and livelihood.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

In July 2013, I got the opportunity to volunteer at Sidhbari H.P. India. I really enjoyed this experience because it is unlike anything I have ever done before. Rather then donating money, the organization helps empower the underprivileged. They do not believe in handing out resources, but rather teach the skills to make people self-sufficient. This experience helped me realize that sometimes I take things for granted, and that I should appreciate and be grateful for everything around me. -Megan Mehta
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

CORD is a wonderful way to share our talents and resources with the underpriveleged. It uplifts both the giver and the receiver. i like CORD because, it is based on holistic principles and the volunteers are genuine and truly caring people. We need more and more volunteers so that we will have a world where no one is suffering.
September 7, 2014

more

September 7, 2014

In August 2013, I had the opportunity to volunteer at CORD's Chinmaya Vijaya Orphanage for GIrls. The experience truly changed my life. CORD does such incredible work for the orphaned girls by providing them with nutritious food, excellent education and healthcare, and many social/artistic opportunities. It was so heartening to see the girls thriving in CORD's outstanding facility. CORD deserves recognition for it's amazing service!
September 6, 2014

more

September 6, 2014

I volunteered with CORD at their Sidhbari center in November of 2011. I was there for just over a month. The work that CORD does in these rural areas of India is just incredible. I feel blessed to have been part of such inspiring work for even a small amount of time. I will definitely go back as soon as i get the chance.
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

I volunteered with CORD at the Sidhbari centre in Himachal Pradesh a few years ago as a high school senior. It was truly an amazing experience with an even more incredible organization. The group of volunteers were devoted to the cause and infused with positive energy, the various departments tackled the issues existing in rural development from many different angles, and most importantly, the nonprofit exemplified the long-standing sustainability concept: Don't give a man a fish, teach him how to. I can attest that their programs aim to help the populations with the greatest need--through the Community-Based Rehabilitation for the Disabled Department, teams of physiotherapists and social workers made weekly rounds of the surrounding villages for checkups with patients suffering from paraplegia, cerebral palsy, and skeletal deformities. CORD not only provided the necessary medical materials but also helped connect patients with hospitals and advocated for subsidized care from local hospitals and healthcare centers. CORD also successfully implemented microcredit theory for local women to support small business ventures, and even supplemented them with Mahila Mandals (groups designed to discuss women's issues in day-to-day life). As part of economics seminar for school I analyzed the work of CORD with Grameen Bank and found that CORD provided a much more supportive and sustainable structure for engaging local women in long-term business ventures. I was only in India for a month but I would gladly go back to spend more time with this amazing organization. Every person who worked there was inspiring in their goodness and the organization's aims are noble and well-executed. There were no internal politics; only people who strove to make a difference as best as they could.
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

CORD is a fantastic example of an organization that creates change by empowering people from their soul. They look at the most basic needs of a community and work to develop sustainable change. Especially in a country such as India, giving women their own resources through their microfinance programs strengthens the foundation of a family and breaks the cycle of illiteracy, thereby changing all of the social problems that accompany a lack of education.
July 21, 2013

more

July 21, 2013

CORD is truly a life changing organization, both to those it serves and for the volunteers. Its fundamental values of core/grassroots efforts are the key to its sustainability, which is a central goal of the organization. Furthermore, this grassroots approach also helps enact change in a way that is valuable to the locals, rather than have an outsider say what is right and what is wrong. Thus, it allows villagers to cherish the characteristics of their culture that they value, and improve upon those that they see require change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 22, 2013

more

June 22, 2013

CMLA CORD has a very good understanding of the grass roots level needs of each community and serves accordingly to fulfill those needs in the least invasive way possible. They enhance the cultural and spiritual growth of the community, while lifting them up economically. They are sensitive to other groups who work with these communities in need and coordinate their giving to enhance opportunities in partnership.
We are proud to serve with CORD.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers