Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.941185
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
July 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

I have been extremely involved with CORD for over ten years. The work is very close to my heart - having witnessed the core problems and how CORD has been successful in changing the lives of the poore... more

July 31, 2014

I had the opportunity to visit two of the CORD sites in the north and south of India and have also spoken to the CORD leader in Sri Lanka. The work is truly transformative - providing sustainable solutions as opposed to handouts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

they need more help in fundraising and raising awareness of the amazing work thats going on at a grass roots level

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 13, 2012

I have been extremely involved with CORD for over ten years. The work is very close to my heart - having witnessed the core problems and how CORD has been successful in changing the lives of the poorest of the poor. By focusing on development (teaching people to earn a living) as opposed to welfare (e.g. donating food); CORD has built a sustainable and replicable model which has been successfully replicated in approximately 700 remote villages

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 21, 2013

more

July 21, 2013

CORD is truly a life changing organization, both to those it serves and for the volunteers. Its fundamental values of core/grassroots efforts are the key to its sustainability, which is a central goal of the organization. Furthermore, this grassroots approach also helps enact change in a way that is valuable to the locals, rather than have an outsider say what is right and what is wrong. Thus, it allows villagers to cherish the characteristics of their culture that they value, and improve upon those that they see require change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 22, 2013

more

June 22, 2013

CMLA CORD has a very good understanding of the grass roots level needs of each community and serves accordingly to fulfill those needs in the least invasive way possible. They enhance the cultural and spiritual growth of the community, while lifting them up economically. They are sensitive to other groups who work with these communities in need and coordinate their giving to enhance opportunities in partnership.
We are proud to serve with CORD.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

CORD USA is a great way of giving opportunities to people in the cities to contribute positively in various ways to people in remote parts of the world. It also encourages and inspires the youth of the world to think beyond themselves. They are encouraged to go and work in the remote areas and in the process they learn and grow much more. Also a wonderful way of making different people work together for a common cause.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

CORDUSA's work has left permanent improvements in the people they serve.
The hallmark of success to me is when the recepient of help can be brought to a stage where help is no longer needed and the in turn can help others.
I have witnessed CORD accomplish this among the impoverished,
turning lives around on a sustainble basis so that the improvement stays and the whole society benefits.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

My friends and I were inspired by CORD and its mission so we started a youth seva group at our Chinmaya Balavihar organization in Pittsburgh. We had different events like a football game, a cupcake class, and a yearbook sale to raise money to donate to CORD at the end of the year. We worked really hard, especially on the yearbook, but we found that we had fun and it was completely worth it. We raised over $1000 and saw that through CORD we could make a real difference.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

I have seen how the work of CORD inspires teenage volunteers. This organization is one of the very few to use a 100% of donated money to causes - with the admin overhead being covered by volunteers. The positive impact of this organization on rural India, by empowering people to be self-sufficient, will be felt for multiple generations!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

I have seen CORD activities in Siddhabari and I think what CORD does for women and families in need is a really great service.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

June 9, 2013

more

June 9, 2013

Many think that Chinmaya mission is a spiritual organization and has nothing to do with social welfare. It's not easy to explain to them that spirituality and social welfare go hand-in-hand. But telling them about CORD has made them feel better about the mission. I haven't walked in any of the fundraising walks myself but my daughter does and says it's lots of fun. I cannot emphasize more the greatness of the service that CORD provides. Providing life sustaining skills to the needy in India is a great humanitarian cause. I would love to be able to go to Sidhabari one day and participate first hand in all that good work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have had the good fortune of being a parent chaperone for two service trips. I went to CORD Thamaraipakkam in Decemeber, 2009 and CORD Sidhbari in June, 2011. It was a wonderful experience for both my children and myself. We saw firsthand how the volunteers at CORD serve with such love, sincerity, and devotion that it was truly inspirational. CORD is an organization that believes in empowering the individual and gives them the tools to help themselves. It is an awesome to hear individuals tell their story about how CORD has helped them change their lives for the better! We have continued to be the Ambassadors of CORD after returning to the U.S. so that we can not only help raise funds, but to help bring awareness about CORD and its outreach programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers