Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.949155
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

In July 2013, I got the opportunity to volunteer at Sidhbari H.P. India. I really enjoyed this experience because it is unlike anything I have ever done before. Rather then donating money, the organization helps empower the underprivileged. They do not believe in handing out resources, but rather teach the skills to make people self-sufficient. This experience helped me realize that sometimes I take things for granted, and that I should appreciate and be grateful for everything around me. -Megan Mehta
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

CORD is a wonderful way to share our talents and resources with the underpriveleged. It uplifts both the giver and the receiver. i like CORD because, it is based on holistic principles and the volunteers are genuine and truly caring people. We need more and more volunteers so that we will have a world where no one is suffering.
September 7, 2014

more

September 7, 2014

In August 2013, I had the opportunity to volunteer at CORD's Chinmaya Vijaya Orphanage for GIrls. The experience truly changed my life. CORD does such incredible work for the orphaned girls by providing them with nutritious food, excellent education and healthcare, and many social/artistic opportunities. It was so heartening to see the girls thriving in CORD's outstanding facility. CORD deserves recognition for it's amazing service!
September 6, 2014

more

September 6, 2014

I volunteered with CORD at their Sidhbari center in November of 2011. I was there for just over a month. The work that CORD does in these rural areas of India is just incredible. I feel blessed to have been part of such inspiring work for even a small amount of time. I will definitely go back as soon as i get the chance.
September 6, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 7, 2013

CORD is a charitable organization whose philosophy is " Don't give fish, teach how to fish"; "CORD is a bond of love and understanding, encouraging a process of sharing which enriches both the giver a... more

September 6, 2014

CORD represents the ultimate in Chatitable work. It was inspired by the great saint master Chinmayananda Swamy forty years ago and has been serving the poor all over India. It has low overhead and uses the philosophy of teaching to fish instead of giving fish to eat. It empowers women by small loans, education, health care and many many ways. It has continued to grow in recent years.
June 7, 2013

CORD is a charitable organization whose philosophy is " Don't give fish, teach how to fish"; "CORD is a bond of love and understanding, encouraging a process of sharing which enriches both the giver and the receiver. ” CORD has been serving the poorest of the poor for over 50 years with education, primary health care, micro loans etc with very little overhead. is activites have expanded in the last 10 years to other states in India and abroad. I am very proud of being a supporter of CORD.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

CORD epitomizes what a charity should do. Specifically, its focus is to empower less fortunate people in rural India to raise their socioeconomic status. CORD helps them achieve these goals by assisting with education and self-sustaining cottage industries. The organization particularly emphasizes the education and training of women
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

I volunteered with CORD at the Sidhbari centre in Himachal Pradesh a few years ago as a high school senior. It was truly an amazing experience with an even more incredible organization. The group of volunteers were devoted to the cause and infused with positive energy, the various departments tackled the issues existing in rural development from many different angles, and most importantly, the nonprofit exemplified the long-standing sustainability concept: Don't give a man a fish, teach him how to. I can attest that their programs aim to help the populations with the greatest need--through the Community-Based Rehabilitation for the Disabled Department, teams of physiotherapists and social workers made weekly rounds of the surrounding villages for checkups with patients suffering from paraplegia, cerebral palsy, and skeletal deformities. CORD not only provided the necessary medical materials but also helped connect patients with hospitals and advocated for subsidized care from local hospitals and healthcare centers. CORD also successfully implemented microcredit theory for local women to support small business ventures, and even supplemented them with Mahila Mandals (groups designed to discuss women's issues in day-to-day life). As part of economics seminar for school I analyzed the work of CORD with Grameen Bank and found that CORD provided a much more supportive and sustainable structure for engaging local women in long-term business ventures. I was only in India for a month but I would gladly go back to spend more time with this amazing organization. Every person who worked there was inspiring in their goodness and the organization's aims are noble and well-executed. There were no internal politics; only people who strove to make a difference as best as they could.
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

CORD is a fantastic example of an organization that creates change by empowering people from their soul. They look at the most basic needs of a community and work to develop sustainable change. Especially in a country such as India, giving women their own resources through their microfinance programs strengthens the foundation of a family and breaks the cycle of illiteracy, thereby changing all of the social problems that accompany a lack of education.
July 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

I have been extremely involved with CORD for over ten years. The work is very close to my heart - having witnessed the core problems and how CORD has been successful in changing the lives of the poore... more

July 31, 2014

I had the opportunity to visit two of the CORD sites in the north and south of India and have also spoken to the CORD leader in Sri Lanka. The work is truly transformative - providing sustainable solutions as opposed to handouts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

they need more help in fundraising and raising awareness of the amazing work thats going on at a grass roots level

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 13, 2012

I have been extremely involved with CORD for over ten years. The work is very close to my heart - having witnessed the core problems and how CORD has been successful in changing the lives of the poorest of the poor. By focusing on development (teaching people to earn a living) as opposed to welfare (e.g. donating food); CORD has built a sustainable and replicable model which has been successfully replicated in approximately 700 remote villages

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 21, 2013

more

July 21, 2013

CORD is truly a life changing organization, both to those it serves and for the volunteers. Its fundamental values of core/grassroots efforts are the key to its sustainability, which is a central goal of the organization. Furthermore, this grassroots approach also helps enact change in a way that is valuable to the locals, rather than have an outsider say what is right and what is wrong. Thus, it allows villagers to cherish the characteristics of their culture that they value, and improve upon those that they see require change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers