Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.951225
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
February 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Wow! What an experience. I took my fiancé on this trip(my second trip). He was so emotional he had to sit down and take it all in. One little girl at the orphanage we were visiting noticed him and came over to offer comfort. Unbelievable...SHE was offering HIM comfort. Needless to day that trip was a life changer for him. He can't stop thinking about them and what more he can do. We will definitely become more involved! Corazon de Vida is an organization is truly doing this from the heart and we are more than happy to offer what we can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My 2nd trip was just recently 2/16/13 "Angelitos" orphanage, this is truly where the rubber meets the road in terms of doing something..being the cause of the change u wish to see..the smiles, laughter of the children are like therapy..it goes both ways im sure..i only wish i had more money, more resources to help out these children and to contribute..everyone there is amazing! the children, the folks that run these places..it will indeed alter certain aspects of your life..make u more complete and grounded..this is one of the best organizations i've come across, i simply feel lucky to have found them..the only drawback is that time seems to fly by so fast..of course it does!..lol..once you go you will be hooked.."Be the Cause". :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I can't believe I am the first one to write a review about the last trip on December 1st, 2012! It was amazing. I had the best time of my life. I visited " Door of Faith Orphanage" in La Mision and the orphanage is unbelievable nice. The orphanage still needs improvement but you easily can see how helpfull all the money and donations are. Dj ( orphanage manager ) is doing an awesome job, Hilda was extremely nice, she answered all my questions and concerns my husband had (because I was traveling by myself). The kids were very polite and full of love !! The only NEGATIVE point is that the day ended too FAST !! I wish we could spend the whole weekend there with the kids. They crave so much attention. They want to take pictures with you, talk, play .... I miss them! Fernanda, Pequenina, Emanuel, Sophie, Tony, Cintia, ... I can't wait to see them again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 12, 2012

Corazon de Vida provides a unique contribution to destitute children living in orphanages in northern Baja California through financial contributions from volunteers. These resources go to the orpha... more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer and child sponsor with Corazon de Vida for ten years. This is a very effective organization providing the necessities of life for hundreds of orphans across northern Baja Mexico. Corazon de Vida support includes food, utilities, medical missions, as well as, educational expenses for primary and college age young people who would not be able to gain essential skills for making a living later in life. I enthusiastically support Corazon de Vida.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Corazon de Vida provides a unique contribution to destitute children living in orphanages in northern Baja California through financial contributions from volunteers. These resources go to the orphanages to help pay for food, shelter, utilities, and school supplies. The goal is to provide the basic minimum that indigent children need to survive. In addition to basic support, CDV provides special needs assistance in the form of scholarships to children who continue with their education beyond high school. Also provided are regularly scheduled medical, eye care, and dental missions, and material support for building maintenance, kitchen and laundry equipment, and vehicles for school transportation.

Another important aspect of CDV's contribution to the lives of the children has been to provide a reliable means for ongoing visits of scores of volunteers who visit orphanages month after month, year after year. For many of the children served by CDV this is a primary opportunity for interaction with adults. I believe the importance of these visits and the certainty in the minds of the children that they will continue is an an invaluable contribution of the organization. I am grateful that Corazon de Vida has made it possible for me to participate in this exceptional effort.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2011

As far as I know, Corazon de Vida provides a unique contribution to destitute children living in orphanages in northern Baja California. The primary forms of the support are ongoing financial contributions from volunteers to the homes for food, utilities, and school supplies, the basic minimum that indigent children need to survive and have a chance for a future. In addition to this basic support, CDV also provides considerable special needs assistance in the form of financial support and scholarships to children who continue with their education beyond high school. Also provided are regularly scheduled medical, eye care, and dental missions, and material support for building maintenance, kitchen and laundry equipment, and vehicles for school transportation.

Another important aspect of CDV's contribution to the lives of the children has been to provide a reliable means for ongoing visits of scores of volunteers who visit orphanages month after month, year after year. For many of the children served by CDV this is their primary opportunity for interaction with adults. I believe the importance of these visits and the certainty in the minds of the children that they will continue is an an invaluable contribution of the organization. I am grateful that Corazon de Vida has made it possible for me to participate in this exceptional effort.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've been a program subscriber since August 2006. Over that time I have visited homes regularly on monthly volunteer trips.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to work on growing the volunteer base.

July 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Spending the whole day at the orphanage was truly a grounding and a life changing experience. You give the kids the attention that they sorely need by simply playing with them, helping them do arts and crafts and at the same time you'll be giving the staff a much needed break by volunteering in the kitchen. Nowadays, I pray for more opportunities like this because I would surely love to go back and hopefully make a difference in these kids' life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I went on a Corazon trip to Tijuana to visit and orphanage and I will never forget it. These kids have nothing. It is so rewarding to visit with them and help them out. I strongly encourage taking a trip. The money and goods you donate go directly to the orphanage. Mexico does not provide any government support so these types of orphanages are the only place where abandoned children can be taken care of. In some cases they were found living under cars or in abandoned shacks. I would like to go back. Here's the newspaper story I wrote about it: http://www.ocregister.com/travel/children-19014-perez-mother.html

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 22, 2012

more


1 previous review
August 9, 2011

Volunteering for Corazon de Vida is a WONDERFUL way to make a difference in the lives of so MANY babies, children & teenagers living in orphanages in (Tijuana/ Ensenada) Mexico. When you volunteer yo... more

July 22, 2012

Corazon de vida lets you play, share smiles, and interact with the children/ teenagers of the orphanages of Baja Mexico. To see the kids smile and laugh who have so little can impact your heart. One of the few organizations that impacts the lives of the kids across our border. By spending a day in Baja your life will be altered. A great way to spend the day hugging, giving piggy back rides, helping with art projects, playing soccer, chopping fruit (or other tasks to help with lunch), etc. You get to Baja with a nice air conditioned bus with like minded individuals. Lunch, which is usually pizza, is given to the volunteers and kids. You arrive back to your house before 7 pm.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Volunteering for Corazon de Vida is a WONDERFUL way to make a difference in the lives of so MANY babies, children & teenagers living in orphanages in (Tijuana/ Ensenada) Mexico. When you volunteer you are taken safely from a bus from LA/Irvine/San Diego. When you arrive you are greeted by smiles, hugs, and laughter from the kids/ teens. You interact, play, laugh, and eat with the kids. By doing crafts, playing, or helping to prepare or clean up after a meal you are helping the kids. An AMAZING organization!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

that kids are going to college. Their lives are getting better.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more frequent bus trips to the orphanages.

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I recently became involved with Corazon De Vida and can say that I am so happy I came across this organization. Driving to our "meeting location" that morning, I remember my stomach being in knots because I did not know what to expect, however, I calmed down the minute I got out of my car and was welcomed by such friendly faces. As the group waited for the bus and others to arrive, they shared their experiences with me and through their stories I could see how passionate they were. When we got to the orphanage, we literally spent the day with the kids. Getting to know them, playing games, coloring, painting, etc. It was pretty amazing to see how at the end of the four hours the kids were already asking when we would be back! That alone made it worth the trip. On the way back, I could not help but thank my lucky stars for the people I have in my life. If you are thinking of joining a group on one of the Corazon De Vida trips...stop thinking about it and just do it! You'd be surprised how much you get out of the experience and how much you learn from these kids!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Many other people have written good things about Corazon de Vida, and how much it helps the orphans. I agree completely, but rather than repeat all of that, I will focus on four things you might want to know if you are thinking about going on one of the trips:

1. First, the trips are in a
big, comfortable bus with reclining seats and a restroom. We aren't packed into little vans.

2. Second, the children are not pathetic. Before my first trip, I was afraid that the children would be hungry, dirty, sad and sick. Actually, the children are generally clean, healthy, bright and cheerful - and very friendly. Many of the children are very successful in their schools. They are a hard working, motivated group of students.

3. As to what we do when we arrive at the orphanages, the short answer is, "have fun." We don't paint the walls or repair anything or build anything. We play card games, do arts-and-craft projects with the children, kick soccer balls around with them, read books to them and carry the little ones around on our shoulders. And, of course, we eat a delicious pizza lunch with the children.

4. Finally, there is the big issue that is on the minds of everyone who has never gone on the trips before: Is it safe? The answer: YES! There are trips every month. There is never any violence. We never feel that we are in any danger. This is not a worry for people who have gone on the trips before.

One advantage of going on the trips is that you will see what is really happening such a short distance south of us. I can tell you here that Tijuana is a big place with a lot of normal activities, but you won't really get the idea from my words. And you certainly won't get the real picture just by visiting Avenida Revolución. Traveling though the different neighborhoods to get to the orphanages, you get a much better feel for what's really going on.

So, that's all that I will write here. I have gone on the orphanage trips with Corazon de Vida almost every month for the past two years. I agree with all of the other reviews about Corazon de Vida being amazing, awesome, and all that. I wrote more in a note on Facebook, at https://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=2733138975635

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen the children. I have talked to them. I have seen where they live.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It made me want to study Spanish more. Knowing Spanish isn't necessary, but if you go on a lot of trips, knowing a little Spanish is an advantage.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me feel good. Very good. Tired, but very good.

February 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Joining Corazon De Vida has truly opened my heart to new possibilities. Being able to go on an organized trip, not having to worry about anything besides spending time with the kids has been the most rewarding Saturday activity I've done thus far in my life. These kids only care for one thing, someone to hold and hug, someone to play with... someone who cares... Since joining I've been telling all my friends and inviting as many ppl as I can to go! If you have the opportunity this is a must visit, must see for your self and must contribute the most important thing you can... your time! :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers