Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.956525
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

Great non-profit organization. I went on my first trip to the orphanage August 2014,and it's safe to say it's not my last... I already signed up for the September trip :)

Coming from LA, I had to meet the bus at 5:30 am. Parking is free and is not a hassle Don't worry about breakfast
because the bus will stop by a Mexican restaurant and a Starbucks after we pick up the Orange Country group of people.

We arrive at the orphanage at about 10 am and it's all fun and games from there on out. The children get so excited to finally see visitors and are ready to play! (one advice is to make sure you wear shoes if you plan to play soccer or basketball with the kids). With all that these kids go through, to see their joyful/child-like spirits is a huge inspiration and I loved spending time with them. It's something you definitely need to experience because my words don't do it justice. You arrive back in Los Angeles around 6:30pm to 7pm.

One concern I've heard from friends I tried to push to come on the next trip with me is the "Safety of the trip." CDV is so professionally run and have been doing this for YEARS! The trip ran so smoothly it almost didn't feel like we were crossing the border. Safety is NOT AN ISSUE, and definitely nothing you should be worried about! CDV takes care of everything from transportation to food to the games and activities you will play with the kid. All you have to do is show-up, bring some donations, and willing to participate and show these kids a good time :)

Please do yourself a favor and sign-up for at least one trip. I can guarantee you will be hooked and will make a point to come back often!
September 21, 2014

more

September 21, 2014

AMAZING nonprofit. They give amazing care to the kids that live in these orphanages and provide education, medical needs, and more. These kids are saved from the streets and from an abusive environment and are now healthy and happy with amazing caregivers. Funding helps them thrive and live a good live
September 21, 2014

more

September 21, 2014

The most caring & organized nonprofit organization I have ever worked with.
September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

I have been involved with Corazon de Vida for the last 2 years and everyone in this organization is incredible: the founder and the management staff all do this for the right reasons! The non profit is truly transparent and you know exactly where your money goes. The cause is extremely valuable and the kids are fantastic. They all need love and care and it feels incredibly good to be able to provide them with a place to grow safely. They are also very strong on pushing these kids to be educated by locating sponsors and paying for their education after they turn 18. All in all, it's an amazing organization that deserves 5 stars!
September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

Supporting children with basic needs of hot clean water , protein in their diet and basic education. This nonprofit has a very low overhead and the majority of your donation goes directly to help the children. Worth your time and Worth your money!
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

Making a difference directly where it matters!! Feeding the mouths, hearts & minds of so many children! Awesome
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

I went on a bus with Corazon de Vida down to Tijuana to one of the orphanages they serve. It was so moving to see how they're helping kids who have absolutely no one, and no help from the Mexican government, either. I would give them 10 stars if I could.
August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

I’ve been a volunteer with other organizations locally and throughout the world but I must say that the work that Corazon de Vida does with all of the children in the orphanages in Baja, Mexico is truly amazing. CDV provides assistance to hundreds of children for food, housing, education, etc.. I’ve been involved with a couple fundraising events to assist their cause with these beautiful ninos and I know that they squeeze almost every penny of it to go straight to the children. The board members and staff are a hard-working, compassionate group and give their life to these orphans. Over the last few years, I’ve made dozens of trips to the orphanages whether it was CDV’s monthly bus trip or overnight trip to Casa de Paz and the Valle de Guadalupe wine country. I go there to spend time with the children and try to bring some hope into their lives. Lo and behold, they always seem to give me joy and hope and bless my life every time I see them! It's truly a life changing experience and I would definitely recommend visiting one of the orphanages on one of the monthly bus trips and see what the meaning of life is really about! Just a smile can make a difference to these kids….”I will never understand all the good that a simple smile can accomplish.” Mother Teresa

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

My trips to the orphanages in Tijuana have been incredible. I began volunteering and funding this organization as soon as I understood that not only do they help to feed, house and keep the children healthy, they educate the children. There are currently 40+ children going to college. Education is key to changing the lives of these children as well as the future of their country. Everyone that is involved with Corazon de Vida as well as everyone who works in the orphanages and the children have changed my life and they way I think about it. These trips bring one's perspective back to what is important.
If you have the chance, take a trip just south of the border and see the smiles on everyone's faces when you get off the bus. You will not be disappointed and you will return.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 22, 2014

more

January 22, 2014

If you're looking to make a small difference in this world, make Corazon De Vida your next project. This non-profit organization and it's board members are well worth your time and effort. They truly love the orphans they help and are dedicated to them and them alone. The founder was herself an orphan and is now making a huge difference in the lives of these orphans. The children are not given any monetary help from their government. It's all left up to volunteers and donations. I've seen first-hand how much the children love their caretakers and all of the board members, and yet they're still willing to give huge hugs to the volunteers that visit. Writing this review makes me remember these wonderful children who are so quickly to smile and welcome you into their home. Don't hesitate to visit any one of these orphanages in Tijuana. You'll have a safe and very comfortable bus ride. I'll rate this trip a {MUST GO}

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more bus pick up spots.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers