Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.945955
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
January 22, 2014

more

January 22, 2014

If you're looking to make a small difference in this world, make Corazon De Vida your next project. This non-profit organization and it's board members are well worth your time and effort. They truly love the orphans they help and are dedicated to them and them alone. The founder was herself an orphan and is now making a huge difference in the lives of these orphans. The children are not given any monetary help from their government. It's all left up to volunteers and donations. I've seen first-hand how much the children love their caretakers and all of the board members, and yet they're still willing to give huge hugs to the volunteers that visit. Writing this review makes me remember these wonderful children who are so quickly to smile and welcome you into their home. Don't hesitate to visit any one of these orphanages in Tijuana. You'll have a safe and very comfortable bus ride. I'll rate this trip a {MUST GO}

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more bus pick up spots.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 20, 2014

more

January 20, 2014

I am a twenty-seven year old LA native and I have been volunteering since the Girl Scout Days. The trip to Casa Hogar Sion has been the most rewarding and memorable volunteer experience for me thus far, because I was able to see first hand who the beneficiaries of the non-profit were, which oftentimes is a rarity in the non-profit sector.

Even with just four years of Spanish under my belt, I truly connected with children who are outnumbered by a mere handful of guardians and clearly in need for affection--even if for one afternoon.

If you're looking for a volunteer experience that will change you and truly tug at the heart strings, this is the trip for you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Truly life changing! Recently, I took the first step in responding to an inner calling that I have been holding in my heart for quite some time now; namely, to give of myself more fully to the serving of the poor, abandoned, and vulnerable children in society. I have researched and contributed financially to a number of different organizations in the past. However, the Corazon de Vida Foundation (CDV) offered me something truly unique something more tangible: the opportunity to visit first-hand the very children and the orphanages that CDV volunteers and financial donors are working to support.

Last week I was privileged to be able to spend the day in Tijuana visiting the La Hacienda de la Inmaculada orphanage and its 62 children (16 of them under the age of 3) and the staff that care for them with a group of like-minded CDV volunteers. This was one of the monthly trips that Corazon de Vida organizes for volunteers to visit the orphanages that they serve. We were welcomed at the doors of the orphanage with open arms and smiles by both staff and children. The love and compassion that I felt for the children at La Hacienda was only surpassed by the outpouring of the joy and love that was showered upon me by the very children that I had come to serve. The simple acts of sharing a game of soccer, playing a game of cards, having a 4 year child take your hand and lead you out to the playground, acting silly while dancing, or having a toddler fall asleep in your arms; these were the highlights of the trip for me. These simple human interactions are what mattered most on this day and are what the children seemed to relish.

Finally, I was so impressed by the compassion and personal connection that our leader, and CDV Board Member, had with the children and the staff. He knew the children’s individual, personal stories and shared with us how CDV, through the orphanages that they support, were providing hope, stability, basic needs, safety and love to these children. He really seemed to personify the values and beliefs of CDV’s founder and be the ideal ambassador for this organization. His passion for the cause is contagious!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The work Corazon de Vida does is amazing. The employees and board members are so passionate and hard-working. The have incredible transparency and openness to hearing back from their volunteers. Their only concern is for the welfare of the orphaned & abandoned children. They are angels.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with CDV since 2010. I have visited a number of the orphanages. I have also taken my 11 yr old daughter. She loved the entire experience. I look forward to many more trips and fundraising opportunities. I wholeheartedly support the CDV's mission and will continue to support their efforts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was first made aware about Corazon de Vida over 5 years ago through word of mouth within my alumni club - University of Notre Dame. I had expressed interest on volunteering with an organization that helps children. The 1st visit still resonates with me. I didn't know what to expect and didn't know much about the organization and its impact it has on the orphaned children of Baja. What makes this non profit so unique is that it's founder was in the exact same situation as these children that it helps. She also grew up in one of the orphanages in Baja. Her success and generosity in creating an organization to help other children growing up the way she did is a positive reminder to the children it helps that there is hope and there are people that care for them. Today I'm not just a volunteer, I'm also a donor and enjoy doing what I can to raise money for CDV. The fact that such a small org can help over 720 kids is amazing. I love the kids as if they were my own. In fact my son was named like one of the kids we love visiting. He knows that too so when my son visits, big Diego takes my little Diego by the hand and in my heart they are brothers. All children are blessings from God and all deserve the best in life. CDV is doing what they can to give them a better life. Spread the message on what they do so that so that more children can realize their dreams too

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Wow! What an experience. I took my fiancé on this trip(my second trip). He was so emotional he had to sit down and take it all in. One little girl at the orphanage we were visiting noticed him and came over to offer comfort. Unbelievable...SHE was offering HIM comfort. Needless to day that trip was a life changer for him. He can't stop thinking about them and what more he can do. We will definitely become more involved! Corazon de Vida is an organization is truly doing this from the heart and we are more than happy to offer what we can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My 2nd trip was just recently 2/16/13 "Angelitos" orphanage, this is truly where the rubber meets the road in terms of doing something..being the cause of the change u wish to see..the smiles, laughter of the children are like therapy..it goes both ways im sure..i only wish i had more money, more resources to help out these children and to contribute..everyone there is amazing! the children, the folks that run these places..it will indeed alter certain aspects of your life..make u more complete and grounded..this is one of the best organizations i've come across, i simply feel lucky to have found them..the only drawback is that time seems to fly by so fast..of course it does!..lol..once you go you will be hooked.."Be the Cause". :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I can't believe I am the first one to write a review about the last trip on December 1st, 2012! It was amazing. I had the best time of my life. I visited " Door of Faith Orphanage" in La Mision and the orphanage is unbelievable nice. The orphanage still needs improvement but you easily can see how helpfull all the money and donations are. Dj ( orphanage manager ) is doing an awesome job, Hilda was extremely nice, she answered all my questions and concerns my husband had (because I was traveling by myself). The kids were very polite and full of love !! The only NEGATIVE point is that the day ended too FAST !! I wish we could spend the whole weekend there with the kids. They crave so much attention. They want to take pictures with you, talk, play .... I miss them! Fernanda, Pequenina, Emanuel, Sophie, Tony, Cintia, ... I can't wait to see them again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 12, 2012

Corazon de Vida provides a unique contribution to destitute children living in orphanages in northern Baja California through financial contributions from volunteers. These resources go to the orpha... more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer and child sponsor with Corazon de Vida for ten years. This is a very effective organization providing the necessities of life for hundreds of orphans across northern Baja Mexico. Corazon de Vida support includes food, utilities, medical missions, as well as, educational expenses for primary and college age young people who would not be able to gain essential skills for making a living later in life. I enthusiastically support Corazon de Vida.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Corazon de Vida provides a unique contribution to destitute children living in orphanages in northern Baja California through financial contributions from volunteers. These resources go to the orphanages to help pay for food, shelter, utilities, and school supplies. The goal is to provide the basic minimum that indigent children need to survive. In addition to basic support, CDV provides special needs assistance in the form of scholarships to children who continue with their education beyond high school. Also provided are regularly scheduled medical, eye care, and dental missions, and material support for building maintenance, kitchen and laundry equipment, and vehicles for school transportation.

Another important aspect of CDV's contribution to the lives of the children has been to provide a reliable means for ongoing visits of scores of volunteers who visit orphanages month after month, year after year. For many of the children served by CDV this is a primary opportunity for interaction with adults. I believe the importance of these visits and the certainty in the minds of the children that they will continue is an an invaluable contribution of the organization. I am grateful that Corazon de Vida has made it possible for me to participate in this exceptional effort.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2011

As far as I know, Corazon de Vida provides a unique contribution to destitute children living in orphanages in northern Baja California. The primary forms of the support are ongoing financial contributions from volunteers to the homes for food, utilities, and school supplies, the basic minimum that indigent children need to survive and have a chance for a future. In addition to this basic support, CDV also provides considerable special needs assistance in the form of financial support and scholarships to children who continue with their education beyond high school. Also provided are regularly scheduled medical, eye care, and dental missions, and material support for building maintenance, kitchen and laundry equipment, and vehicles for school transportation.

Another important aspect of CDV's contribution to the lives of the children has been to provide a reliable means for ongoing visits of scores of volunteers who visit orphanages month after month, year after year. For many of the children served by CDV this is their primary opportunity for interaction with adults. I believe the importance of these visits and the certainty in the minds of the children that they will continue is an an invaluable contribution of the organization. I am grateful that Corazon de Vida has made it possible for me to participate in this exceptional effort.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've been a program subscriber since August 2006. Over that time I have visited homes regularly on monthly volunteer trips.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to work on growing the volunteer base.

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers