Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.931035
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

I found out about CORA when I attended one of their fund raising events. I was very impressed with the full scope of services they provide to empower people in abusive relationships to become independent. CORA goes beyond just providing a 24*7 hot line service, they provide education, emergency shelter, transitional housing, legal services, etc. their staff is compassionate, understanding and extremely knowledgeable & professional. I'm very proud to be a member of their board.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to get more funds from Big Corporations and Government funds. But, we all need to understand that domestic violence happens at all economic and social levels. Education is critical to stop the cycle of domestic violence. It is less expensive to prevent thru education than to provide all the resources required to help a person in an abusive relationship.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

I joined the Board of CORA in 2013 after attending the Spring fundraiser. I am a Director for Kaiser Permanente's Department of Psychiatry in SSF. KP has an extremely active and committed program for DV. I am proud to be a partner with CORA in our efforts to treat and prevent DV.

CORAs
staff and volunteers have helped countless numbers of our KP clients and staff. The do this work with such dedication and compassion. They all have an undying committment to all affected by DV.

I have been so impressed with CORA's committement to all affected by DV. We are one for few DV shelters that will accept men in our housing programs. DV is not only a women's issue and men can be abused or be in the abusive household. We have so many Asian and Latino families that have male children the household that have turned 18 but still dependent on family, We have families with elderly parents. Where are these male family member supposed to go if the shelter or housing program will not accept men? CORA also has deep committments to the LGBTI communities and provides excellent care to this community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love for CORA to grow with staff, emergency housing slots, and transitional housing. I urge everyone to support CORA in your thoughts and financial gifts. Government and Foundation money has drastically diminished and CORA is most reliant on the kindness of its donors. Please give with hearfelt generosity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

It has been a privilege to volunteer on the Board of an organization full of people committed to making a difference in the lives of domestic abuse survivors. The leadership team is inspirational and dedicated to the cause that most people even refuse to acknowledge.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Focus on getting the word out on the great service provided by CORA for all of San Mateo County, and educating more people on the high incidence of domestic violence in our communities

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

I have just joined the CORA Board of Directors, and I feel great positive energy and inspiration from all the staff members as well as my fellow board members. CORA's team is devoted to serving as many in the community as possible, and carefully utilizing resources. I am very excited to be lending a hand on CORA's Board. Assisting people in the crisis of domestic violence is critical to healing our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that everyone in San Mateo County knows about CORA's work and considers supporting it!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I became actively involved with CORA following the tragic murder of a colleague, her 4-year old daughter and unborn baby. The more I learned about relationship abuse, and CORA specifically, the more I wanted to help.

CORA's has earned a leadership role in the community through
education, strong collaboration with other agencies, and by being a clear voice of advocacy for the victims of DV. But perhaps most importantly, CORA is best know as an organization with great heart - every member of the staff is a treasure - they treat victims with deep respect while providing what they need most - hope and a way forward.

I've served on CORA's board and advisory board in the past and have recently re-joined the board. This is a very special organization that I'm honored to be a part of.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to fund even greater outreach to educate young people on healthy relationship - and the danger signs of unhealthy ones.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have been on the Board for CORA for less than a year, but in that time am so impressed by the number of people that they help on a daily basis and the amount of services that they can provide. Their 24 hot line has been a life saver for numerous people. They have their shelter full at most times. When a woman (or man) or placed in their shelter their children are included and they are provided with case mgmt, food and food cards to buy food items that are perishable. They provide childcare, play structures at their shelter to make the shelter feel more like home. They go out of their way to make the children feel loved and welcomed. They also provide counseling, group and individual, and help for the future, whether it is to get involved in a school program or locating a job. CORA has only the well being of those affected by domestic violence in front of all their activities.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By learning of the number of people that this organization helps monthly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to establish another shelter

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers