Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.931035
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I volunteered with CORA's Legal Department for a year and it was a truly life-altering, as well as career-altering, experience. Not only did I get to work with extremely talented and social justice-conscious attorneys, but I got hands on experience with domestic violence victims and survivors. I had no idea going in that I would take away as much knowledge as I did about domestic violence and its effects. CORA works tirelessly to provide assistance, in just about every conceivable form, to domestic violence victims and San Mateo County is extremely lucky to have them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 3, 2014

more

July 3, 2014

My time at CORA shifted my views about not only domestic violence, but my ability to make an impact in working with and advocating for survivors. I began my 40-hour training in September of 2013 and volunteered for several months after until departing for graduate school. My training was incredible to say the least. I was provided knowledge and knowledge and resources by a compassionate and dedicated staff. I took away so much, but most importantly was a desire to work to aid survivors in whatever ways I could.

I began working on CORA's crisis hotline and educational outreach teams right away. Both are run with expertise and efficiency. I got the opportunity to work resource tables at high schools and LGBTQ targeted events (which was especially important to me as a gay man). Tabling felt effective, as we had ample resources to distribute that were concise and informative. As a volunteer I could suggest events as well and felt like my voice was heard in planning different tabling locations.

On the crisis line I felt like a valuable team member. I received extensive training before beginning to answer phone calls from various organizations and folks who were dealing with domestic violence situations. I was giving the same responsibilities as many employed staff, which was extremely empowering; I felt like I was making a difference each day I went in.

Finally, CORA allowed me to explore my own interests and develop my skills in a setting doing important nonprofit work. I was allowed to develop a presentation about LGBTQ domestic violence and to present this presentation as a staff training. Furthermore, I was the point person for implementing changes to CORA services to make us more visible to the community as an inclusive service provider. I was give free reign to work on this initiative, further empowering me and allowing me to grow as a soon-to-be graduate student.

Ultimately, CORA is an AMAZING place to volunteer one's time - I know I hope to continue working with them in the future after receiving my doctorate. The services CORA provide to San Mateo county are infinitely valuable as well. I feel both humbled and grateful to have been a volunteer at this organization, as the work that the staff does is nothing short of outstanding. The entire staff is dedicated entirely to wiping out domestic violence, and they are worth every word of my praise.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None I can presently think of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I volunteered for CORA as a summer legal intern in 2012. I worked with legal advocates and attorneys who dedicated their career to providing assistance to domestic violence survivors. Assisting with research, court appearances and interviews, I was able to witness first hand the impact CORA has on the local community. I honestly believe that CORA save lives, helps make san mateo county a safer community and instils its citizens with a voice.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

I am a volunteer at Cora and it has been very rewarding because I have learned many skills due to the fact that Cora works with many organizations in order to help the women who suffer domestic violence. I am very satisfied with the work that Cora is doing for the community, specially women. Congratulations Cora. Ricardo Molina

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Open more branches in different counties and give more exposure to the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization does an amazing job providing their clients with a variety of services. All of CORA's staff is highly skilled and passionate about helping those going through domestic violence. Whether it is helping with child care or helping with administrative work, I've always felt that I make a difference and welcomed by the staff. This is an organization that I would highly recommend others to volunteer at or recommend to those going through domestic violence. CORA also provides an excellent 40 hour training to all of their volunteers and staff members. Volunteering at CORA has been a life changing experience!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer at Cora and is a great organization who helps women who suffer domestic violence. It not easy for a woman specially if they are financially dependent from her partner to make a decision to leave an abusive relationship but Cora give these women alternatives so they can be free from the domestic violence. Thank you Cora for helping our women in the Bay Area in this matter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more personnel, more funding and more marketing to help more women

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Cora is an organization that helps people get out of grave danger.
Some people live with a partner whose main desire is to subjugate
or enslave them. The dominant person will use any means to control
them..including emotional blackmail and physical violence. Cora educates
and
helps the victims get real about their situation and even saves lives.
Cora does this with its legal team and its phone advice team as well
as its shelter (for battered spouses). Cora provides care in a sensitive
and caring way. It is an honor to work with Cora staff and to have learned
how to make the human experience (of living) better. Hooray Cora!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had a million dollars I would some of it to Cora. They are short of funds and do great work in the community. More money would help them hire more staff who could reach more people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 7, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 7, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have helped CORA by organizing a group of interior designers to remodel their safe house in San Mateo, CA. We also provide gifts to a family every Christmas.

The work CORA does to help abused women and their children is so important. The families are given time to regroup and a leg up
to find employment and living accommodations. CORA's work is vital to the community and the desperate families they serve.

I help CORA because I too was once an abused wife, and everyone deserves a chance in life.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping abused women and their children find safety and embark on new lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them lots more money and support.

February 2, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 2, 2011

I became involved with CORA as a part of group of designers that rehabed their very old and original kitchen in one of thier shelters. They provide for victims of domestice abuse who would otherwise be out on the street. They give the clients the ongoing support and safe housing that is necessary to put their lives back together.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

yes, as a volunteer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funding.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers