Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.942865
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I volunteered with CORA's Legal Department for a year and it was a truly life-altering, as well as career-altering, experience. Not only did I get to work with extremely talented and social justice-conscious attorneys, but I got hands on experience with domestic violence victims and survivors. I had no idea going in that I would take away as much knowledge as I did about domestic violence and its effects. CORA works tirelessly to provide assistance, in just about every conceivable form, to domestic violence victims and San Mateo County is extremely lucky to have them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

It has been a great experience volunteerin for CORA AT SAN MATEO. I have had the opportunity to work with victims of DV. The staff at San Mateo CORA have been great mentors. I would encouraged others to support our community and assist in educating people the importance of stopping DV.
September 21, 2014

more

September 21, 2014

CORA provides caring and confidential support to the women of San Mateo County who need it most. I volunteered with CORA doing peer teen counseling, teen outreach, and childcare and shelter assistance. The entire staff at CORA is welcoming and supportive. They work tirelessly to ensure domestic violence survivors have a safe place to go and have their voices heard.
September 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I worked for 6 months last year with CORA. I was very impressed with their mandatory training session for all volunteers, which lasted a week. The topics included (but were not limited to) date rape, physical, verbal and financial spousal abuse, and forced prostitution. The seminars also taught the importance of being culturally sensitive in interviewing a potential client who believed that they were a victim of domestic violence as well as assuring clients, who are undocumented immigrants that we are here to help them and the legal protection that they are entitled to.

As an volunteer in their legal department, I gained invaluable experience escorting
clients to their court hearings and helping the clients filling out court documents that included DV 110: Temporary Restraining Order DV-140 Child Custody and Visitation Order, CLETS-001 Confidential CLETS Information and the DV-150: Supervised Visitation & Exchange Order.
Because of my training and practical experience that I gained at CORA I have gained considerable experience in what goes on during courtroom hearings involved in the approval or denial of restraining orders hearings as well as the necessary supplemental forms that need to be submitted along with the original request for the domestic violence restraining orders. I am very impressed with both the level of concern that CORA pays to each of it's clients, whether on the telephone or in person and the quality of training that it provides for their employees. And to think that all these service to our clients is free! CORA offers the best services for victims of domestic violence of any non profit!

Sincerely,
Gregory "Greg" D. Johnson

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

CORA is amazing. I cannot say enough about how helpful and educational this non-profit is. I seriously love this place. I had referred so many people to call and get services from here. I am a volunteer and I learned so much in my training. I look forward to spreading the knowledge and word about Cora's amazing contributions to many different communities.
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

As a survivor or relationship abuse, I found CORA to be a beacon of light for those who are still trying to get out of abusive situations. They offer emotional, legal, and resource support for anyone who needs it, including counseling, emergency shelter, and assistance with legal matters like restraining orders, etc. The people there genuinely care, and I am honored to be a volunteer!!!
July 18, 2014

more

July 18, 2014

I've been involved with CORA for many years now. I learned about CORA after a friend and colleague was killed by her husband. I wish I knew about CORA before this tragedy occurred, perhaps it could have prevented it. I have had the privilege of serving on the CORA Board of Directors since 2010. Through my participation on the Board, I have personally witnessed the dedication of the staff. These people care so much about their clients and they do so much to provide a caring and healing environment for them. I'm proud to be a supporter of CORA and to be part of their Board.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 3, 2014

more

July 3, 2014

My time at CORA shifted my views about not only domestic violence, but my ability to make an impact in working with and advocating for survivors. I began my 40-hour training in September of 2013 and volunteered for several months after until departing for graduate school. My training was incredible to say the least. I was provided knowledge and knowledge and resources by a compassionate and dedicated staff. I took away so much, but most importantly was a desire to work to aid survivors in whatever ways I could.

I began working on CORA's crisis hotline and educational outreach teams right away. Both are run with expertise and efficiency. I got the opportunity to work resource tables at high schools and LGBTQ targeted events (which was especially important to me as a gay man). Tabling felt effective, as we had ample resources to distribute that were concise and informative. As a volunteer I could suggest events as well and felt like my voice was heard in planning different tabling locations.

On the crisis line I felt like a valuable team member. I received extensive training before beginning to answer phone calls from various organizations and folks who were dealing with domestic violence situations. I was giving the same responsibilities as many employed staff, which was extremely empowering; I felt like I was making a difference each day I went in.

Finally, CORA allowed me to explore my own interests and develop my skills in a setting doing important nonprofit work. I was allowed to develop a presentation about LGBTQ domestic violence and to present this presentation as a staff training. Furthermore, I was the point person for implementing changes to CORA services to make us more visible to the community as an inclusive service provider. I was give free reign to work on this initiative, further empowering me and allowing me to grow as a soon-to-be graduate student.

Ultimately, CORA is an AMAZING place to volunteer one's time - I know I hope to continue working with them in the future after receiving my doctorate. The services CORA provide to San Mateo county are infinitely valuable as well. I feel both humbled and grateful to have been a volunteer at this organization, as the work that the staff does is nothing short of outstanding. The entire staff is dedicated entirely to wiping out domestic violence, and they are worth every word of my praise.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None I can presently think of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I volunteered for CORA as a summer legal intern in 2012. I worked with legal advocates and attorneys who dedicated their career to providing assistance to domestic violence survivors. Assisting with research, court appearances and interviews, I was able to witness first hand the impact CORA has on the local community. I honestly believe that CORA save lives, helps make san mateo county a safer community and instils its citizens with a voice.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

I am a volunteer at Cora and it has been very rewarding because I have learned many skills due to the fact that Cora works with many organizations in order to help the women who suffer domestic violence. I am very satisfied with the work that Cora is doing for the community, specially women. Congratulations Cora. Ricardo Molina

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Open more branches in different counties and give more exposure to the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers