Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.942865
Write A Review
July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

I joined the Board of CORA in 2013 after attending the Spring fundraiser. I am a Director for Kaiser Permanente's Department of Psychiatry in SSF. KP has an extremely active and committed program for DV. I am proud to be a partner with CORA in our efforts to treat and prevent DV.

CORAs
staff and volunteers have helped countless numbers of our KP clients and staff. The do this work with such dedication and compassion. They all have an undying committment to all affected by DV.

I have been so impressed with CORA's committement to all affected by DV. We are one for few DV shelters that will accept men in our housing programs. DV is not only a women's issue and men can be abused or be in the abusive household. We have so many Asian and Latino families that have male children the household that have turned 18 but still dependent on family, We have families with elderly parents. Where are these male family member supposed to go if the shelter or housing program will not accept men? CORA also has deep committments to the LGBTI communities and provides excellent care to this community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love for CORA to grow with staff, emergency housing slots, and transitional housing. I urge everyone to support CORA in your thoughts and financial gifts. Government and Foundation money has drastically diminished and CORA is most reliant on the kindness of its donors. Please give with hearfelt generosity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

It has been a privilege to volunteer on the Board of an organization full of people committed to making a difference in the lives of domestic abuse survivors. The leadership team is inspirational and dedicated to the cause that most people even refuse to acknowledge.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Focus on getting the word out on the great service provided by CORA for all of San Mateo County, and educating more people on the high incidence of domestic violence in our communities

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

I have just joined the CORA Board of Directors, and I feel great positive energy and inspiration from all the staff members as well as my fellow board members. CORA's team is devoted to serving as many in the community as possible, and carefully utilizing resources. I am very excited to be lending a hand on CORA's Board. Assisting people in the crisis of domestic violence is critical to healing our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that everyone in San Mateo County knows about CORA's work and considers supporting it!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

It has been a long time since I've seen such a large number of staff from one organization demostrate the same amount of thoughtfulness and helpfullness to this community in need. Whether 40% or 100% of the needs are met, the clients who come through here are always appreciative and move on with a better state of mind.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I volunteered for CORA as a summer legal intern in 2012. I worked with legal advocates and attorneys who dedicated their career to providing assistance to domestic violence survivors. Assisting with research, court appearances and interviews, I was able to witness first hand the impact CORA has on the local community. I honestly believe that CORA save lives, helps make san mateo county a safer community and instils its citizens with a voice.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I am a concerned citizen, residing in San Mateo County. During this period in time I am seeing more violence directed at women and children. This is an epidemic, it is local, nationwide, and worldwide. It appears anger management is needed. Are people becoming less tolerant when dealt with difficult situations?

In the last year I heard about CORA and the wonderful work they do in assisting those who are in need of rescue from their abusers. In reading about CORA I was surprised to learn that they are the only agency in San Mateo County that assists those who are verbally or physically abused. I also learned that 30% of their clients are men, I was very surprised at the high number.

My husband and I have become CORA supporters. We both feel this is a very necessary agency that needs our support, hopefully many others will acquaint themselves of the good work CORA performs and will also become supporters of this wonderful agency. Their staff is very dedicated and professional.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see more locations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I proudly donate to CORA because they work tirelessly to make my community a better, safer place to live by helping victims of domestic violence break the cycle and become independent, healthy individuals and families. CORA’s dedicated staff provides emergency hotline counseling and court services as well as long-term housing, education, therapy, financial assistance and job-training support. When children in San Mateo County grow up in a safe and healthy home instead of an environment clouded by anxiety and anger, when individuals reach their full potential and contribute to the community instead of feeling powerless and helpless while living in fear and pain, I know that my money has been well spent.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I became actively involved with CORA following the tragic murder of a colleague, her 4-year old daughter and unborn baby. The more I learned about relationship abuse, and CORA specifically, the more I wanted to help.

CORA's has earned a leadership role in the community through
education, strong collaboration with other agencies, and by being a clear voice of advocacy for the victims of DV. But perhaps most importantly, CORA is best know as an organization with great heart - every member of the staff is a treasure - they treat victims with deep respect while providing what they need most - hope and a way forward.

I've served on CORA's board and advisory board in the past and have recently re-joined the board. This is a very special organization that I'm honored to be a part of.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to fund even greater outreach to educate young people on healthy relationship - and the danger signs of unhealthy ones.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Hello,

I work for Kaiser as a social worker/therapist and have referred many clients to CORA. These clients have found their services to be incredibly helpful, more so transformative and life changing! Happy to nominate such an incredible organziation.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

I am a volunteer at Cora and it has been very rewarding because I have learned many skills due to the fact that Cora works with many organizations in order to help the women who suffer domestic violence. I am very satisfied with the work that Cora is doing for the community, specially women. Congratulations Cora. Ricardo Molina

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Open more branches in different counties and give more exposure to the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers