Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.909095
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I volunteered with CORA's Legal Department for a year and it was a truly life-altering, as well as career-altering, experience. Not only did I get to work with extremely talented and social justice-conscious attorneys, but I got hands on experience with domestic violence victims and survivors. I had no idea going in that I would take away as much knowledge as I did about domestic violence and its effects. CORA works tirelessly to provide assistance, in just about every conceivable form, to domestic violence victims and San Mateo County is extremely lucky to have them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I volunteered for CORA as a summer legal intern in 2012. I worked with legal advocates and attorneys who dedicated their career to providing assistance to domestic violence survivors. Assisting with research, court appearances and interviews, I was able to witness first hand the impact CORA has on the local community. I honestly believe that CORA save lives, helps make san mateo county a safer community and instils its citizens with a voice.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I am a concerned citizen, residing in San Mateo County. During this period in time I am seeing more violence directed at women and children. This is an epidemic, it is local, nationwide, and worldwide. It appears anger management is needed. Are people becoming less tolerant when dealt with difficult situations?

In the last year I heard about CORA and the wonderful work they do in assisting those who are in need of rescue from their abusers. In reading about CORA I was surprised to learn that they are the only agency in San Mateo County that assists those who are verbally or physically abused. I also learned that 30% of their clients are men, I was very surprised at the high number.

My husband and I have become CORA supporters. We both feel this is a very necessary agency that needs our support, hopefully many others will acquaint themselves of the good work CORA performs and will also become supporters of this wonderful agency. Their staff is very dedicated and professional.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see more locations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I proudly donate to CORA because they work tirelessly to make my community a better, safer place to live by helping victims of domestic violence break the cycle and become independent, healthy individuals and families. CORA’s dedicated staff provides emergency hotline counseling and court services as well as long-term housing, education, therapy, financial assistance and job-training support. When children in San Mateo County grow up in a safe and healthy home instead of an environment clouded by anxiety and anger, when individuals reach their full potential and contribute to the community instead of feeling powerless and helpless while living in fear and pain, I know that my money has been well spent.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I became actively involved with CORA following the tragic murder of a colleague, her 4-year old daughter and unborn baby. The more I learned about relationship abuse, and CORA specifically, the more I wanted to help.

CORA's has earned a leadership role in the community through
education, strong collaboration with other agencies, and by being a clear voice of advocacy for the victims of DV. But perhaps most importantly, CORA is best know as an organization with great heart - every member of the staff is a treasure - they treat victims with deep respect while providing what they need most - hope and a way forward.

I've served on CORA's board and advisory board in the past and have recently re-joined the board. This is a very special organization that I'm honored to be a part of.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to fund even greater outreach to educate young people on healthy relationship - and the danger signs of unhealthy ones.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Hello,

I work for Kaiser as a social worker/therapist and have referred many clients to CORA. These clients have found their services to be incredibly helpful, more so transformative and life changing! Happy to nominate such an incredible organziation.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

I am a volunteer at Cora and it has been very rewarding because I have learned many skills due to the fact that Cora works with many organizations in order to help the women who suffer domestic violence. I am very satisfied with the work that Cora is doing for the community, specially women. Congratulations Cora. Ricardo Molina

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Open more branches in different counties and give more exposure to the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization does an amazing job providing their clients with a variety of services. All of CORA's staff is highly skilled and passionate about helping those going through domestic violence. Whether it is helping with child care or helping with administrative work, I've always felt that I make a difference and welcomed by the staff. This is an organization that I would highly recommend others to volunteer at or recommend to those going through domestic violence. CORA also provides an excellent 40 hour training to all of their volunteers and staff members. Volunteering at CORA has been a life changing experience!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer at Cora and is a great organization who helps women who suffer domestic violence. It not easy for a woman specially if they are financially dependent from her partner to make a decision to leave an abusive relationship but Cora give these women alternatives so they can be free from the domestic violence. Thank you Cora for helping our women in the Bay Area in this matter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more personnel, more funding and more marketing to help more women

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Cora is an organization that helps people get out of grave danger.
Some people live with a partner whose main desire is to subjugate
or enslave them. The dominant person will use any means to control
them..including emotional blackmail and physical violence. Cora educates
and
helps the victims get real about their situation and even saves lives.
Cora does this with its legal team and its phone advice team as well
as its shelter (for battered spouses). Cora provides care in a sensitive
and caring way. It is an honor to work with Cora staff and to have learned
how to make the human experience (of living) better. Hooray Cora!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had a million dollars I would some of it to Cora. They are short of funds and do great work in the community. More money would help them hire more staff who could reach more people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers