Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.933335
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I volunteered with CORA's Legal Department for a year and it was a truly life-altering, as well as career-altering, experience. Not only did I get to work with extremely talented and social justice-conscious attorneys, but I got hands on experience with domestic violence victims and survivors. I had no idea going in that I would take away as much knowledge as I did about domestic violence and its effects. CORA works tirelessly to provide assistance, in just about every conceivable form, to domestic violence victims and San Mateo County is extremely lucky to have them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 18, 2014

more

July 18, 2014

I've been involved with CORA for many years now. I learned about CORA after a friend and colleague was killed by her husband. I wish I knew about CORA before this tragedy occurred, perhaps it could have prevented it. I have had the privilege of serving on the CORA Board of Directors since 2010. Through my participation on the Board, I have personally witnessed the dedication of the staff. These people care so much about their clients and they do so much to provide a caring and healing environment for them. I'm proud to be a supporter of CORA and to be part of their Board.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 9, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
February 19, 2012

CORA has been serving those in San Mateo County affected by domestic abuse for many years and has done so effectively and compassionately. despite budgetary constraints resulting from the country's ec... more

July 9, 2014

I have been involved with CORA since 2005. I was initially on the Board of Directors and am currently on the Advisory Board. The professionals and volunteers that comprise the CORA staff are an energetic, dedicated, financially responsible and scrupulous group who bring great passion to what they do. Because the organization provides an incredibly vital and invaluable service to those of San Mateo County whose lives have been shattered by family violence, it deserves the unwavering support of our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of any major changes needed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

February 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

CORA has been serving those in San Mateo County affected by domestic abuse for many years and has done so effectively and compassionately. despite budgetary constraints resulting from the country's economic downturn. CORA remains a vibrant, vital agency against all odds and deserves the highest rating that GREATNONPROFITS can confer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The only comprehensive domestic violence service agency in San Mateo County, CORA (Community Overcoming Relationship Abuse) provides vital services to women and children impacted by abuse. CORA helps clients to attain a renewed sense of self-worth and gives them the tools to forge a violence-free future - these services are provided with dedication, compassion, conviction and discretion.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have served on either the Board of Directors or on the Advisory Board for CORA since 2005.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Magically provide them with all the funding they need to increase services, expand available housing and children's therapy programs.

July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

I found out about CORA when I attended one of their fund raising events. I was very impressed with the full scope of services they provide to empower people in abusive relationships to become independent. CORA goes beyond just providing a 24*7 hot line service, they provide education, emergency shelter, transitional housing, legal services, etc. their staff is compassionate, understanding and extremely knowledgeable & professional. I'm very proud to be a member of their board.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to get more funds from Big Corporations and Government funds. But, we all need to understand that domestic violence happens at all economic and social levels. Education is critical to stop the cycle of domestic violence. It is less expensive to prevent thru education than to provide all the resources required to help a person in an abusive relationship.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 3, 2014

more

July 3, 2014

My time at CORA shifted my views about not only domestic violence, but my ability to make an impact in working with and advocating for survivors. I began my 40-hour training in September of 2013 and volunteered for several months after until departing for graduate school. My training was incredible to say the least. I was provided knowledge and knowledge and resources by a compassionate and dedicated staff. I took away so much, but most importantly was a desire to work to aid survivors in whatever ways I could.

I began working on CORA's crisis hotline and educational outreach teams right away. Both are run with expertise and efficiency. I got the opportunity to work resource tables at high schools and LGBTQ targeted events (which was especially important to me as a gay man). Tabling felt effective, as we had ample resources to distribute that were concise and informative. As a volunteer I could suggest events as well and felt like my voice was heard in planning different tabling locations.

On the crisis line I felt like a valuable team member. I received extensive training before beginning to answer phone calls from various organizations and folks who were dealing with domestic violence situations. I was giving the same responsibilities as many employed staff, which was extremely empowering; I felt like I was making a difference each day I went in.

Finally, CORA allowed me to explore my own interests and develop my skills in a setting doing important nonprofit work. I was allowed to develop a presentation about LGBTQ domestic violence and to present this presentation as a staff training. Furthermore, I was the point person for implementing changes to CORA services to make us more visible to the community as an inclusive service provider. I was give free reign to work on this initiative, further empowering me and allowing me to grow as a soon-to-be graduate student.

Ultimately, CORA is an AMAZING place to volunteer one's time - I know I hope to continue working with them in the future after receiving my doctorate. The services CORA provide to San Mateo county are infinitely valuable as well. I feel both humbled and grateful to have been a volunteer at this organization, as the work that the staff does is nothing short of outstanding. The entire staff is dedicated entirely to wiping out domestic violence, and they are worth every word of my praise.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None I can presently think of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

I joined the Board of CORA in 2013 after attending the Spring fundraiser. I am a Director for Kaiser Permanente's Department of Psychiatry in SSF. KP has an extremely active and committed program for DV. I am proud to be a partner with CORA in our efforts to treat and prevent DV.

CORAs
staff and volunteers have helped countless numbers of our KP clients and staff. The do this work with such dedication and compassion. They all have an undying committment to all affected by DV.

I have been so impressed with CORA's committement to all affected by DV. We are one for few DV shelters that will accept men in our housing programs. DV is not only a women's issue and men can be abused or be in the abusive household. We have so many Asian and Latino families that have male children the household that have turned 18 but still dependent on family, We have families with elderly parents. Where are these male family member supposed to go if the shelter or housing program will not accept men? CORA also has deep committments to the LGBTI communities and provides excellent care to this community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love for CORA to grow with staff, emergency housing slots, and transitional housing. I urge everyone to support CORA in your thoughts and financial gifts. Government and Foundation money has drastically diminished and CORA is most reliant on the kindness of its donors. Please give with hearfelt generosity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

It has been a privilege to volunteer on the Board of an organization full of people committed to making a difference in the lives of domestic abuse survivors. The leadership team is inspirational and dedicated to the cause that most people even refuse to acknowledge.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Focus on getting the word out on the great service provided by CORA for all of San Mateo County, and educating more people on the high incidence of domestic violence in our communities

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

I have just joined the CORA Board of Directors, and I feel great positive energy and inspiration from all the staff members as well as my fellow board members. CORA's team is devoted to serving as many in the community as possible, and carefully utilizing resources. I am very excited to be lending a hand on CORA's Board. Assisting people in the crisis of domestic violence is critical to healing our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that everyone in San Mateo County knows about CORA's work and considers supporting it!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

It has been a long time since I've seen such a large number of staff from one organization demostrate the same amount of thoughtfulness and helpfullness to this community in need. Whether 40% or 100% of the needs are met, the clients who come through here are always appreciative and move on with a better state of mind.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I volunteered for CORA as a summer legal intern in 2012. I worked with legal advocates and attorneys who dedicated their career to providing assistance to domestic violence survivors. Assisting with research, court appearances and interviews, I was able to witness first hand the impact CORA has on the local community. I honestly believe that CORA save lives, helps make san mateo county a safer community and instils its citizens with a voice.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers