Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
1234.95
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 25, 2013

more

July 25, 2013

I am new to COPE. They have been BEYOND wonderful from the very fisrt phone call & several phone tag Grief brained missed messages on through my First meetings. LOVE it and feel so at home was very afraid going to new group & telling OUR Story about OUR beloved son. ALL were beyond supportive and loving thank you. They have Countless support group programs, resources and events throughout Long Island, NYC, online. I cant thank them enough for being there for us and the frequent emails. This is a group NO ONE wants to belong to Losing a beloved Child is worst thing imaginable for most. NOW we are now One of THOSE people we are THEM, the we would always pray fo . COPE has really Helped keep us going through the trip through the Valley of the Shadow of Death. Due to thef our ONLY child/son past summer on his Dads Birthday no less. Bless each Leader,counselor, volunteers, fellow parents and also the Spiritual Centers who allow meetings in their buildings. Bless you all and may each find strength,some peace to get through each day. as you too travel this winding bumpy roller coaster road. We learn to take each day as it is something we must learn to Live with NOT get over. Peace blessing and Love for all. Hope to make the Sept Walk to give back.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep up adding new locations as many days/nights, events as you can. THANK YOU ALL!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have participated in several training sessions for clergy in how to be supportive and helpful when a family loses a child. These classes have enriched my Rabbinate and heightened my sensitivity. It is wonderful to have such a special resource to go to and to refers others to. Thank you COPE.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I lost my sister almost 6 years ago. I felt completely alone until I met my friends at COPE. There is nothing that isn't spoken about and there is a bond that connects us all forever. As a sibling, we can sometimes be overlooked at the loss of a young child; however we are victims also. COPE has been incredible to my group and I.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I came to COPE about 5 years ago, broken-hearted, after losing my daughter. Upon arrival I was received by the director in the warmest way. Everyone there had experienced the loss of a child & could, therefore, what I was feeling. If you haven't lost a child, you cannot possibly really know how it feels. We all expect to lose our parents & that's a terribly sad loss, but it just isn't natural for us to survive our children. So COPE is a wonderful organization that does so much to help us grieving parents survive. This group is unique.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it a larger house in which to do the marvelous work they do. No other changes please.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I lost our 19 yr. old son & only child 6 months ago and were devastated. One of my husbands' coworkers gave him an article about COPE and we contacted them. A social worker contacted us and we started attending a group for bereaved parents. It was very helpful and healing to be able to speak to other grieving parents. We also have tried the writing workshop and the COPE Bowling fundraiser and met parents going through a similar struggle as we are. They go above and beyond to offer different programs that enable you to work through and channel your grief so that you can heal. I'm so grateful that the COPE Foundation is in our area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In 2005 I lost my son and never thought I could smile or laugh again. COPE was told to me by a friend who had suffered the same type of loss and shared with me how much COPE had helped her. I never could have imagined that an organization could give me so much to hold onto. COPE offered me many different modalities that helped me reenter daily life and how to appreciate life again. They offer art therepy, spiritual evenings, group meetings for parents and siblings who understand this type of unimaginable grief, special events all geared towards losing a child or sibling. It is truly a remarkable non-profit organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

COPE offered me a lifeline during the darkest days after my son died. Their wonderful programs and supportive and loving staff were an essential component of my healing. I can not say enough positive things about COPE! Their group meetings are well-run and extremely professional, they present interesting speakers and varied programs, have groups for many different ages and categories -- bringing together grieving parents from all walks of life with one dreadful thing in common, the death of our beloved children.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

COPE is an exceptional nonprofit that helps parents that have lost a child or children. Losing a child is the most difficult thing that anyone can ever experience. It's actually very devastating. I was referred to COPE by a caring friend. I called the COPE hotline (which can be found on the COPE website) and spoke to someone very caring and understanding. It happened to be Lilly Julian the founder, she had so much to tell me that day. I have attended many COPE events from Counseling, art therapy, to healing yoga, many types of Spirituality nights (there is usually a different spirituality night each month to help heal), walks, fundraisers, special events and dinners. Cope has brought to me modes of healing I would never have know of. I have changed the way I look at grief and passing. I am very appreciative for all COPE has offered me. Lilly Julian truly touches the lives of the COPE members in a very positive way and does an excellent job!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

They have programs to help grieving parents, siblings and other family members deal with the loss of a child. Spiritual and emotional support is given by trained professionals and they provide a much needed service for surviving parents to heal and live when they have lost the joy of life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization has been nothing but kind, respectful, and caring. Donations were made on my families behalf by others and myself. Receipts and notifications were always timely and followup communications were excellent. I will continue to support this organization, I think the work they do is very important and should continue.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers