Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 1, 2014

more

November 1, 2014

Cooking With Gabby is an organization that makes a difference in the lives of children, families and communities DAILY. Many organizations throw fundraisers throughout the year and host a Christmas Drive where they farm out toys or a Back-to-School drive where they give away book bags and pencils. Cooking With Gabby is different. Monday through Friday Cooking With Gabby is in local schools teaching both nutrition education through interactive cooking classes and physical activity on the playgrounds. On the weekends they're at local health fairs and community outreaches handing out bags of organic fruits and vegetables along with healthy recipes and tips. In a world where obesity among the youth is increasing, they teach children, families and communities how to eat healthy and stay fit EVERY DAY.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Cooking with Gabby is an amazing organization! The whole experience was so enlightening, educational and fun! We were blessed to have the program presented to our youth department of our church here in New Orleans. The children and their parents still speak about how the information taught has encouraged positive change in their families. We are looking forward to the day when the program will be available here full time!
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

Cooking with Gabby is an exceptional organization. My family and I got to experience Cooking with Gabby event in our travels to Los Angeles from Houston, TX. I loved the way she made eating healthy fun for my son and the kids at the event. My son loved the yogurt topped with all the goodies such as granola, strawberries and blueberries. I wish there were more groups like Cooking with Gabby in my area.
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

Cooking With Gabby has been doing some great things around the LA area. I first got involved with CWG when asked to film some of their events. Which led me to helping with the programs and showing the kids how to make healthy treats. As someone who's in the Big Brother Big Sisters Program I 100% believe this is something these kids need. This is something that can help guide these young men and women in the right direction. Keep it up CWG!
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

Cooking With Gabby is an exceptional organization that truly educates and empowers the community to live healthier lives! Giving children the knowledge on how to prepare healthy meals is crucial to the battle against obesity in America.
October 19, 2014

more

October 19, 2014

Cooking With Gabby is a wonderful organization that works in communities to educate children and families on the importance of eating healthy and staying fit. After volunteering with the organization for the past two years, I can say first hand that the work they are doing is helping a lot. As a volunteer, I've seen my effort greatly benefit the people I've connected with personally in South LA. Great experiences!
April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

As a vegetarian, I am always excited to learn of remarkable organizations like Cooking with Gabby. The knowledge CWG provides to the various children they work with is insightful, encouraging and an overall fun learning experience. The ability to get kids excited about eating healthy is a challenging task; the team at CWG seems to have mastered. In today's society out of innocent ignorance; we equate eating "right" with eating food that doesn't always taste good. One great aspect of "Cooking with Gabby" is their ability to get kids excited about eating healthy by providing a multitude of healthy meals that always taste delicious! CWG is helping to tackle one of the biggest threats in our society: childhood obesity, and for that I applaud them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2012

more

April 7, 2012

What an ingenius concept of helping children to foster healthy relationships with food while developing self esteem and encouraging peer support all at the same time rolled up into a big bang of fun.The Kids Eat for Life Programs offered free to children and families provide vital educational resources in lower income " food desert communities". Hard to believe that in the United States of America, we actually have children who have never eaten a real blueberry !!! Cooking with Gabby not only educates but stimulates the tastebuds and desire to explore with courage, confidence and self sufficiency. Prepared to make positive and healthy choices. I love being involved in this charity!! You will too. Get involved . See the results for yourself. We are not yet Africa, but coming close to having starving, under nourished children growing up right under our noses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2012

more

April 7, 2012

Cooking With Gabby is a wonderful organization that does so much in the community. As a teacher, I know first hand the health needs of children in low-income communities. Cooking With Gabby provides a wonderful service that reinforces the benefits of healthy eating and staying active, while giving real strategies to families for eating healthy on a budget. Working with this organization is an absolutely wonderful experience and I encourage others to check them out and get involved!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2012

more

April 7, 2012

Working with Cooking With Gabby has been an extremely rewarding experience as I've gotten not only to learn about healthier living for myself, but also gained leadership experience in helping spread the message to underrepresented children who rarely get taught these important living principles. The team at CWG is composed of people from various industries, gifts, talents and blessings with one common thread - a passion for helping break the cycle of obesity and unhealthy living in the most precious of our country's assets - our children. I look forward to continued service with CWG!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us assemble grocery bags for our families or volunteer with the actually program at one of the parks we are currently holding our program in. Volunteer