Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
75 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 12, 2012

Cookies for Kids Cancer is an amazing organization that raises awareness and much needed funds for pediatric cancer research. Their bake sales and cookies for order are creative and optimistic ways to... more

September 19, 2013

We are in our 4th year as a corporate supporter of Cookies for Kids Cancer and their team is amazing. They are incredible at assisting and supporting our fundraising efforts. Our team and the communities we fundraise in feel so positively about this organization and cause. We also purchase their cookies for corporate gifts and each year people tell us how it is the favorite item they receive. I would encourage anyone and everyone to support this group in any way you can.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Cookies for Kids Cancer is an amazing organization that raises awareness and much needed funds for pediatric cancer research. Their bake sales and cookies for order are creative and optimistic ways to raise funds and allow donors like myself to participate at varying levels. Their communications and messaging are top notch. Great ambassadors for this cause.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

My daughter was diagnosed with cancer 4 years ago and after her treatment was finished I wanted to help raise awareness and funds for pediatric cancer research. I researched different organizations and was drawn to Cookies for Kids Cancer because they represent all children with cancer. I am also impressed with how they make the most out of every dollar donated to do the most good for the most children. Because baking is not my greatest love, I decided to hold a Dodge Ball Tournament with all funds raised donated to CFKC. They were behind me every step of the way to offer support and words of encouragement. Gretchen is an inspiration and I am honored to be able to support such an amazing organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I love Cookies for Kids' Cancer! I've worked with several members of this organization and they are all super-kind people who are doing amazing things. They have brought together a whole community of loving people who are trying to make a difference for families and children affected by this disease. I'm grateful for all they do! - - Cami, a mother of a 5 year old survivor.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've had the unique pleasure of hearing Gretchen's story and getting to know her personally. Cookies for Kids Cancer is a charity with a vision that's clear and a heart that's pure. Not only do proceeds go to charity, CFKC creates a community and atmosphere of giving and sharing in it's donors and bake sale hosts that goes beyond a simple donation. I cannot think of a more deserving organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Over the years I have come to learn that childhood cancer is shockingly underfunded. Cancer is the leading cause of death by disease of our children. In 20 years the FDA has initially approved only two drugs for any childhood cancer - 1/2 of all chemotherapies used for children’s cancers are over 25 years old. Yet the National Cancer Institute spends less than 4% of its budget on children’s cancers. How is this right? I knew more needed to be done and I am grateful to Cookies For Kids' Cancer for being such a lean organization so the money can get to who needs it...the kids! This year President Obama signed legislation into law for something called the (bipartisan) Creating Hope Act. The President and creators of this act recognized that there is a dire lack of drug development by pharmaceutical companies expressly for children with rare and deadly diseases. Why? Because it's not profitable for them. Philanthropy is CRITICAL in the fight against childhood cancer and Cookies For Kids' Cancer makes sure the money you donate goes directly to find new and improved therapies for kids in the fight of their lives.

Photos

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Why did you make your donation at this time?

My donations to this cause via Cookies For Kids Cancer are ongoing because I know my funds are going to the cause...fighting childhood cancer.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Cookies For Kids' Cancer is a leader in fundraising for childhood cancer.

June 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

In my experience planning fund-raisers, I've never worked with such an accommodating organization. Cookies for Kids' Cancer has a web site filled with resources (signs, templates, graphics) to assist anyone who would like to take on their cause and pull together a successful event. They kept in touch with us as we began our planning process, and were great with follow-up after the event. Particularly useful was the ability to set up our own personalized donation center online.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen the results of Cookies for Kids' Cancer at work right here in my own home town -- through the progress made in treatments for children's cancer at our Children's Hospital in Milwaukee.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them access to more matching donations so that EVERY bake sale could receive matching funds.

June 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I came across Liam Witt's story a while ago and was in awe of the kindness, strength, courage of this kid but also his mother, who instead of be depressed and sad decided to not only help her own son by raising funds for a cure but at the same time to help many other kids battling this disease. After Liam passed away, his mom could have stayed home sad and mourning the loss of her son, she had all the right in the world to do that, instead she decided to call to the fight against cancer. I admire Gretchen's effort to end this horrible disease. CFKC raises money for childhood cancer and 100% of the funds go to research and they are an amazing organization, with lots of support and with a heart-wrenching story behind it all that serves as the fire that has ignited that fight against childhood cancer.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I follow CFKC because I believe they do a great job in dedicated funds for childhood cancer research and I have witnessed the numerous grants they give in order to find a cure.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make any change AT ALL.

June 21, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 11, 2012

This year, our family and friends helped raise $50,000 in the fight against childhood cancer - we had a big bake sale in the Flatiron District of NYC - what a day that was! People from all over the wo... more

June 21, 2013

I am a volunteer and donor along with my family and am proud to support this organization 100% in the fight against childhood cancer. This year we held a campaign during Mother's Day where we baked 3300+ cookies and gave them out in acts of kindness to local hospitals, our local Ronald McDonald House, and to those who consistently do good for others in our NYC community (ie. firefighters and our local police precincts) - Our Team Cookies NYC giving page is still active on the Cookies For Kids' Cancer website and we are close to raising $100,000 in order to help fund a childhood cancer research trial. Thank you to those who share our vision & continue to donate!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...help figure out a way to get even more big philanthropists to donate. This organization is so efficient in how they get funds to the kids who really need them. What a plus!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012

This year, our family and friends helped raise $50,000 in the fight against childhood cancer - we had a big bake sale in the Flatiron District of NYC - what a day that was! People from all over the world stopped by to help fight childhood cancer and many of NYC's top restaurants joined in the fight with donations of baked goods. It was truly a magical day! Cookies For Kids' Cancer is by far one of the leaders to come out in the fight against pediatric cancer. They have a top tier medical advisory board and allow you to direct funds towards specific pediatric cancers or you can allow the board to make the call. Their concept of bake sales as a way to raise funds is a great forum for families to get involved together and for children to know they are making a difference for other children by being involved in this family fun activity.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the faces of families facing childhood cancer who stopped by our bake sale. They were so grateful knowing the proceeds were going directly to fund safer and more effective therapies for children battling cancer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wish that a committed philanthropist with A LOT of money would donate to help spread awareness about childhood cancer and the need for better therapies and make a giant media splash in doing so. Childhood cancer is so underfunded.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

nothing

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It changed my life forever knowing that something can be done to combat childhood cancer. That you can take an action as simple as a bake sale and make it so much more for a great cause!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

This volunteer experience make me feel full of gratitude and beyond hopeful that this world will be a better place for my kids to grow up in.

April 5, 2011

This organization is by far one of the leaders to come out in the fight against pediatric cancer. They have a top tier medical advisory board and allow you to direct funds towards specific pediatric cancers or you can allow the board to make the call. Their concept of bake sales as a way to raise funds is a great forum for families to get involved together and for children to know they are making a difference for other children by being involved in this family fun activity.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

...hearing feedback from parents who have children with cancer. They appreciate this organization so much!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...quit my job in a utopian world and focus my energies full time to sharing their message and raising funds.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers