Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I can say firsthand how important the work Cookies for Kids' Cancer is. I had NH Lymphoma, so I've been involved in orgs. like LLS, whose efforts have led to treatments so effective that I was lucky enough to be cancer-free within months. I went on to work for the hospital and non-profits, where I became all too familiar with rarer, more complex cancers like Sarcomas and Blastomas. I've seen 10-year-old children who have relapsed 3 times. For some of these cancers, chances of survival are less than 25%. "Cookies" is so special, because what they do is donate to Phase I research hospitals. These are the places that conduct clinical trials and research needed to get new and better treatments to the next levels where they can be widely adopted and receive federal funding. The best thing is that it's such a simple and sweet idea: Cookies. They've made it so easy to make a huge difference. Nationwide, people are hosting bake sales and fundraising events. You can also purchase their cookies and other items as gifts online. It's just incredible all around, and there are not enough kind words in the world to describe them. One of the most amazing causes hands-down.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

My event planning company (Blast Events NYC) was hired by a local private school to help plan an day based upon giving back to the community. We planned a cookies event at the school and had an amazing experience. Everyone came out and donated, time, baked goods and great energy. The organization was easy to work with and we can't wait to plan another event. VERY easy to plan, VERY responsive to questions, VERY great charity. -Annie NYC

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In 2009 my 3 year old daughter was diagnosed with cancer. Even as physicians, my husband and I were shocked to learn how out-dated and dangerous the treatments our precious 3-year-old would undergo. Even more shocking was the reality that she may not survive. She didn't. The truth is, children are small and economically powerless, and sick children even more so. Pediatric cancer research simply does not receive the attention or the funding it deserves. Because of that, kids have not seen the improved survivals seen in many well-funded, well-researched adult cancers. Cookies for Kids' Cancer is truly a grassroots-run organization that is working to chnge that. CFKC gives 100% of bake sale proceeds directly to pediatric cancer researchers who have ideas that very well may lead to a cure. Volunteers from any community and from any background can put on a bake sale. The CFKC website has many tips and ideas about how to put together a bake sale, and they provide support to anyone who registers a sale. Furthermore, the experience of putting on a bake sale is a wonderful learning opportunity for children of all ages. From baking to making signs to dressing up as cookies to drum up support, kids get phenomenal experience from putting on a bake sale. Plus it is a great opportunity to develop not only empathy and responsibility, but to help kids realize they really can accomplish their goals. What a proud moment it is to count the donations at the end of the sale!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Childhood cancer is the leading cause of death by disease for children in the US. Approximately 1 in 300 children will be diagnosed with cancer before age 20. 1 in 4 of those children will not survive. Survivors face a 2/3 chance of long-term health effects (e.g., major organ damage from the cure, secondary cancers, learning disabilities, etc).

As childhood cancer is considered "rare", a significant amount of research funding is raised by private charities. The National Cancer Institute contributes around 3% of its Federal funding for childhood cancer research, and big pharma invests virtually nothing into childhood cancer research as it would not be profitable.

Cookies for Kids Cancer is a wonderful organization that raises funds directly for childhood cancer research. Overhead costs are keep low by using volunteers to operate bake sales. All funds are directed at research into a cure.

As the dad of a 14 year old son who I lost to childhood cancer 3 years ago, I've learned that research is the key to better treatments and a cure. I wholeheartedly support Cookies for Kids Cancer.

AJs Dad

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Knowledge of the funding it provides to childhood cancer research.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the number of cookies sold.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers