Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
91 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
September 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 21, 2013

Cookies for Kids' Cancer is my passion! Since I met the Witts a few years ago while their son was undergoing treatment, they have served as my inspiration in many aspects of life. This family, along w... more

September 19, 2014

Since meeting the organization's founder, Gretchen Witt, and her son, Liam, several years ago through work, Cookies for Kids' Cancer and the fight against pediatric cancer have been my personal passion. Gretchen is a consummate PR and communications professional, which enables her to effectively share with others WHY and HOW we should and can help. The small CFKC administrative team is extremely supportive and genuine! The organization is grassroots, but volunteers around the country support each other by sharing ideas, photos and motivational thoughts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 21, 2013

Cookies for Kids' Cancer is my passion! Since I met the Witts a few years ago while their son was undergoing treatment, they have served as my inspiration in many aspects of life. This family, along with CFKC board members and staff are some of the most genuine people I've ever met, and the authenticity is an important part of what keeps me going in my volunteer work. As long as there are families and children battling pediatric cancer, our work is not done. This organization provides easy-to-understand information about the need for funds as well as tons of resources for how to raise money and inspire others. Plus, they're business-savvy and super-creative, which makes a sad subject a whole lot more fun!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

When our neighbor's daughter was diagnosed with neuroblastoma, I started doing my research, and I learned about the lack of funding for pediatric cancers. I also learned that my friend's tiny daughter would be treated with drugs designed for a full grown adult. I desperately wanted to help in some way, and then I heard about Cookies for Kids' Cancer. The concept is so simple, that it's brilliant! Anyone can get involved, by holding a tiny, one table bake sale, or by organizing an all day event, like a family fun day, 5k, car wash, etc. There are so many ways to help, and the organizations founders stress that no amount is too small, every penny counts. There are no high paid executive salaries to pay, as there are with many of the larger, well-known charities that we all hear about. When you hold an event for CFKC, you can rest assured that the money you raise is going directly to fund clinical trials that just might save a child's life. There are small administrative costs, but the majority of the money raised goes straight to research. There are several volunteers who help with event support, and they are all so personable, and will do whatever they can to help make your event a success. ANYONE can get involved with CFKC. It's as easy as pie (or cookies)! I'm eternally grateful for the positive impact it's had on my life, and I'm looking forward to hosting my 7th CFKC event this December.
September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

Cookies for Kids' Cancer is an empowering organization that gives anyone who cares the means and the support to DO SOMETHING to fight against pediatric cancer. Gretchen Holt Witt and her team are remarkable in their energetic, nonstop drive to raise awareness and funding for cancer research for children, and it's an honor to work with them to give sick children and their families the hope they deserve. I became involved in honor of two young children in my life who were diagnosed with cancer, and I stay involved because I am constantly inspired by Gretchen and the Cookies staff, as well as their many dedicated supporters. I plan to keep fighting for and with Cookies for Kids' Cancer until the letter C really does stand for cookie!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

I LOVE Cookies for Kids' Cancer! Last year as Mrs. SC Strawberry Festival Queen I chose to support CFKC during my reign! I love that over 90% of fundraising dollars goes directly to childhood cancer research! I love that a bake sale is simple enough for all ages to take part in! My community loves the idea of being a "Good Cookie"! I am excited to be a Good Cookie Ambassador for the organization! Last year I raised over $41,000 and this year I'm hoping to top that number with the second annual 30 Days for a Cure - Fort Mill!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 5, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 18, 2013

Cookies for Kids Cancer was founded by 2 dear friends of mine Gretchen and Larry Witt. They have built a wonderful organization, filled with dedicated and committed volunteers who fight every day to ... more

September 5, 2014

Cookies for Kids Cancer is a wonderful, inspiring organization dedicated to raising the much needed funding for pediatric cancer research...It is filled with volunteers and a small but very committed staff that continues to make huge progress raising funding, creating awareness and expanding it's very wide network of individuals and events. It's a simple and easy to execute concept that allows ANYONE to get involved and make a difference in the lives of children.
September 18, 2013

Cookies for Kids Cancer was founded by 2 dear friends of mine Gretchen and Larry Witt. They have built a wonderful organization, filled with dedicated and committed volunteers who fight every day to raise the much needed funding for pediatric cancer research...their unwavering commitment is an inspiration for each and every one of us...Although we have made tremendous progress, there is still so much more than can and needs to be done...

One of the best parts of my involvement is all of the wonderful people that I have met along this journey...they are a true inspiration and I am eternally grateful for all of the support that I have been given.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them get more administrative help to organize the countless number of volunteers and events that are held every week though out the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Cookies for Kids Cancer is a wonderful organization founded by Gretchen and Larry Witt. It is all about giving back and raising funds to help cure the "ugly monster". Their tenacity and commitment to this cause encourages others to get involved and give back...It is really an great opportunity for kids, parents, friends (new and old) to get involved. Whether you hold a bake sale, bake treats and deliver to a local sale or make a donation, you are contributing..."if we all do a little, together we will do a lot". Love Like Liam

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

This November will be my organization's 4th opportunity to collect funds for Cookies for Kids Cancer. It has become a family affair that we look forward to and plan for all year long. We are a family of bakers and love to share our wares. More than all of this, is knowing that our efforts are helping families at a time when they are in need more than any other time in their lives. Further, we like that the organization is nonprofit and research is their purpose. Research is the answer and we are doing all we can to help eliminate childhood cancers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

I am so proud to be a volunteer for Cookies For Kids Cancer. I absolutely love to bake and this wonderful organizations gives me a great avenue do what I love while also supporting this very important cause. I fell in love when them as soon as I came across their site. I actually feel like we can make a difference one cookie at a time : )

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

Cookies for Kids Cancer is an amazing organization that allows me to do what I can to help support the ongoing fight against pediatric cancer. I love that this group connects me to all these wonderful people around the country doing what they can to help fund research that is ALREADY making a difference in the lives of children battling cancer. I love that I include lots of children and their moms at my annual event and how grateful everyone is to be there. We are honored to be of help to families who aren't as lucky as we are to support all the amazing kids who so courageously battle this disease.
Kate Meyers, Louisville, CO

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

Cookies for Kids Cancer grew out of one mother's love for her son who was struggling with cancer at the very young age of 2. That mother saw the Mount Everest of pediatric cancer care that lay in front on her and her family and screamed "I can make a difference in making our needs heard around the cancer community." Ultimately she lost her son, but she did not loose her resolve to help as many people as possible fight the savage that is pediatric cancer. CFKC is a grass roots, one bakesale at a time, group that makes it easy for anyone to pick up a sword and fight. All you need to do is host a bakesale, or a rainbow loom sale, or a penny drive and collect donations and send them in via snail mail or online donation. It's that easy. They have a thorough and easy to navigate website that has all the tools one needs to have a great community event that will raise both awareness and much needed funds for pediatric cancer research. Get baking!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to see the struggles of overcoming pediatric cancer take a bigger stage - like breast cancer or ovarian cancer does.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 1, 2011

I think lots of people have dreams and ideas about making a difference, but few people can actually make things happen. When the Witt's learned that their sweet Prince Liam had cancer, one that was no... more

September 23, 2013

Cookies for Kids' Cancer is a great organization. They make it so easy to get involved and raise money for the cause. They provide all the tools necessary to host a great event and most importantly, are so clear at communication where the much needed funds go.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I think lots of people have dreams and ideas about making a difference, but few people can actually make things happen. When the Witt's learned that their sweet Prince Liam had cancer, one that was not "profitiable" for pharmaceutical companies to invest in, they did something about it, they started Cookies for Kids Cancer. They did this while their sweet Liam had no evidence of disease, they did it for all the other children who were fighting and suffering. After losing their son, they continue to inspire and motivate people everywhere to do what they can to make a difference and raise money for this important cause.
While there are thousands of non profits that people can choose to give their time and money to, CFKC is doing wonderful things with the money they raise and will no doubt be the reason that children will survive childhood cancer.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing what they are funding with the money raised.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure EVERYONE knows how little funding pediatric cancer gets and why we HAVE to support organizations like CFKC.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers