Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
September 19, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
June 21, 2013

I am a volunteer and donor along with my family and am proud to support this organization 100% in the fight against childhood cancer. This year we held a campaign during Mother's Day where we baked 33... more

September 19, 2014

I am a volunteer and donor along with my family and am proud to support this organization 100% in the fight against childhood cancer. This year my husband and I served on the benefit committee for the inaugural Chefs For Kids' Cancer event in NYC where nearly $1 Million was raised. Cookies For Kids' Cancer has a stellar Medical Advisory Board that seamlessly works together to identify areas of critical need for funding. This level of commitment is unparalleled. Their partner centers include: Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, Dana Farber Cancer Institute, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital and Texas Children's Cancer Center. Since 2008 grassroots community fundraising as well as dedicated Corporate and in-kind donors have helped Cookies for Kids' Cancer fund 4 dozen childhood cancer research grants, leading to 9 promising new treatments now in clinical trial, available to children fighting cancer today. On a personal note I am endlessly grateful to this organization for providing a framework in which my children get to learn the value of giving back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 21, 2013

I am a volunteer and donor along with my family and am proud to support this organization 100% in the fight against childhood cancer. This year we held a campaign during Mother's Day where we baked 3300+ cookies and gave them out in acts of kindness to local hospitals, our local Ronald McDonald House, and to those who consistently do good for others in our NYC community (ie. firefighters and our local police precincts) - Our Team Cookies NYC giving page is still active on the Cookies For Kids' Cancer website and we are close to raising $100,000 in order to help fund a childhood cancer research trial. Thank you to those who share our vision & continue to donate!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...help figure out a way to get even more big philanthropists to donate. This organization is so efficient in how they get funds to the kids who really need them. What a plus!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012

This year, our family and friends helped raise $50,000 in the fight against childhood cancer - we had a big bake sale in the Flatiron District of NYC - what a day that was! People from all over the world stopped by to help fight childhood cancer and many of NYC's top restaurants joined in the fight with donations of baked goods. It was truly a magical day! Cookies For Kids' Cancer is by far one of the leaders to come out in the fight against pediatric cancer. They have a top tier medical advisory board and allow you to direct funds towards specific pediatric cancers or you can allow the board to make the call. Their concept of bake sales as a way to raise funds is a great forum for families to get involved together and for children to know they are making a difference for other children by being involved in this family fun activity.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the faces of families facing childhood cancer who stopped by our bake sale. They were so grateful knowing the proceeds were going directly to fund safer and more effective therapies for children battling cancer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wish that a committed philanthropist with A LOT of money would donate to help spread awareness about childhood cancer and the need for better therapies and make a giant media splash in doing so. Childhood cancer is so underfunded.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

nothing

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It changed my life forever knowing that something can be done to combat childhood cancer. That you can take an action as simple as a bake sale and make it so much more for a great cause!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

This volunteer experience make me feel full of gratitude and beyond hopeful that this world will be a better place for my kids to grow up in.

April 5, 2011

This organization is by far one of the leaders to come out in the fight against pediatric cancer. They have a top tier medical advisory board and allow you to direct funds towards specific pediatric cancers or you can allow the board to make the call. Their concept of bake sales as a way to raise funds is a great forum for families to get involved together and for children to know they are making a difference for other children by being involved in this family fun activity.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

...hearing feedback from parents who have children with cancer. They appreciate this organization so much!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...quit my job in a utopian world and focus my energies full time to sharing their message and raising funds.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 21, 2013

Cookies for Kids' Cancer is my passion! Since I met the Witts a few years ago while their son was undergoing treatment, they have served as my inspiration in many aspects of life. This family, along w... more

September 19, 2014

Since meeting the organization's founder, Gretchen Witt, and her son, Liam, several years ago through work, Cookies for Kids' Cancer and the fight against pediatric cancer have been my personal passion. Gretchen is a consummate PR and communications professional, which enables her to effectively share with others WHY and HOW we should and can help. The small CFKC administrative team is extremely supportive and genuine! The organization is grassroots, but volunteers around the country support each other by sharing ideas, photos and motivational thoughts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 21, 2013

Cookies for Kids' Cancer is my passion! Since I met the Witts a few years ago while their son was undergoing treatment, they have served as my inspiration in many aspects of life. This family, along with CFKC board members and staff are some of the most genuine people I've ever met, and the authenticity is an important part of what keeps me going in my volunteer work. As long as there are families and children battling pediatric cancer, our work is not done. This organization provides easy-to-understand information about the need for funds as well as tons of resources for how to raise money and inspire others. Plus, they're business-savvy and super-creative, which makes a sad subject a whole lot more fun!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

When our neighbor's daughter was diagnosed with neuroblastoma, I started doing my research, and I learned about the lack of funding for pediatric cancers. I also learned that my friend's tiny daughter would be treated with drugs designed for a full grown adult. I desperately wanted to help in some way, and then I heard about Cookies for Kids' Cancer. The concept is so simple, that it's brilliant! Anyone can get involved, by holding a tiny, one table bake sale, or by organizing an all day event, like a family fun day, 5k, car wash, etc. There are so many ways to help, and the organizations founders stress that no amount is too small, every penny counts. There are no high paid executive salaries to pay, as there are with many of the larger, well-known charities that we all hear about. When you hold an event for CFKC, you can rest assured that the money you raise is going directly to fund clinical trials that just might save a child's life. There are small administrative costs, but the majority of the money raised goes straight to research. There are several volunteers who help with event support, and they are all so personable, and will do whatever they can to help make your event a success. ANYONE can get involved with CFKC. It's as easy as pie (or cookies)! I'm eternally grateful for the positive impact it's had on my life, and I'm looking forward to hosting my 7th CFKC event this December.
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

Our family chose Cookies for Kids' Cancer as the memorial charity of choice when my father died last fall. I already had a connection with this organization, but was so touched by the personal outreach they made at this difficult time. They sent brochures right to the funeral home and offered to help in many ways in the weeks to follow. Most importantly they showed us the compassion and professionalism this organization is known for by all who come in contact with them...they have become like family, because once you connect with Cookies you are in a special circle of fun, talented, caring and creative souls!
September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

Cookies for Kids' Cancer is an empowering organization that gives anyone who cares the means and the support to DO SOMETHING to fight against pediatric cancer. Gretchen Holt Witt and her team are remarkable in their energetic, nonstop drive to raise awareness and funding for cancer research for children, and it's an honor to work with them to give sick children and their families the hope they deserve. I became involved in honor of two young children in my life who were diagnosed with cancer, and I stay involved because I am constantly inspired by Gretchen and the Cookies staff, as well as their many dedicated supporters. I plan to keep fighting for and with Cookies for Kids' Cancer until the letter C really does stand for cookie!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

I LOVE Cookies for Kids' Cancer! Last year as Mrs. SC Strawberry Festival Queen I chose to support CFKC during my reign! I love that over 90% of fundraising dollars goes directly to childhood cancer research! I love that a bake sale is simple enough for all ages to take part in! My community loves the idea of being a "Good Cookie"! I am excited to be a Good Cookie Ambassador for the organization! Last year I raised over $41,000 and this year I'm hoping to top that number with the second annual 30 Days for a Cure - Fort Mill!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 5, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 18, 2013

Cookies for Kids Cancer was founded by 2 dear friends of mine Gretchen and Larry Witt. They have built a wonderful organization, filled with dedicated and committed volunteers who fight every day to ... more

September 5, 2014

Cookies for Kids Cancer is a wonderful, inspiring organization dedicated to raising the much needed funding for pediatric cancer research...It is filled with volunteers and a small but very committed staff that continues to make huge progress raising funding, creating awareness and expanding it's very wide network of individuals and events. It's a simple and easy to execute concept that allows ANYONE to get involved and make a difference in the lives of children.
September 18, 2013

Cookies for Kids Cancer was founded by 2 dear friends of mine Gretchen and Larry Witt. They have built a wonderful organization, filled with dedicated and committed volunteers who fight every day to raise the much needed funding for pediatric cancer research...their unwavering commitment is an inspiration for each and every one of us...Although we have made tremendous progress, there is still so much more than can and needs to be done...

One of the best parts of my involvement is all of the wonderful people that I have met along this journey...they are a true inspiration and I am eternally grateful for all of the support that I have been given.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them get more administrative help to organize the countless number of volunteers and events that are held every week though out the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Cookies for Kids Cancer is a wonderful organization founded by Gretchen and Larry Witt. It is all about giving back and raising funds to help cure the "ugly monster". Their tenacity and commitment to this cause encourages others to get involved and give back...It is really an great opportunity for kids, parents, friends (new and old) to get involved. Whether you hold a bake sale, bake treats and deliver to a local sale or make a donation, you are contributing..."if we all do a little, together we will do a lot". Love Like Liam

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

This November will be my organization's 4th opportunity to collect funds for Cookies for Kids Cancer. It has become a family affair that we look forward to and plan for all year long. We are a family of bakers and love to share our wares. More than all of this, is knowing that our efforts are helping families at a time when they are in need more than any other time in their lives. Further, we like that the organization is nonprofit and research is their purpose. Research is the answer and we are doing all we can to help eliminate childhood cancers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

I am so proud to be a volunteer for Cookies For Kids Cancer. I absolutely love to bake and this wonderful organizations gives me a great avenue do what I love while also supporting this very important cause. I fell in love when them as soon as I came across their site. I actually feel like we can make a difference one cookie at a time : )

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

Cookies for Kids Cancer is an amazing organization that allows me to do what I can to help support the ongoing fight against pediatric cancer. I love that this group connects me to all these wonderful people around the country doing what they can to help fund research that is ALREADY making a difference in the lives of children battling cancer. I love that I include lots of children and their moms at my annual event and how grateful everyone is to be there. We are honored to be of help to families who aren't as lucky as we are to support all the amazing kids who so courageously battle this disease.
Kate Meyers, Louisville, CO

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers