Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.894745
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

My husband and I are new volunteers, recently retired. We wanted a small "no kill" dog/cat rescue, re-homing group to give time to and we found it with Contra Costa Humane Society. We work mostly in their facility called Kitty Corner, doing the morning cleaning chores once a week. We immediately met a shy, scared cat named Savannah who desparetely needed some quiet time to get over her fears, so offered to foster her to make her more adoptable. And, we became "failed foster parents"--Savannah is now in her new forever home with us, and ashe rules the whole house as all cats do! She is so special, she now has her own email address and will be blogging once a week for about 6-9 months to tell whoever reads her blog what is is like to saved from euthanasia. And that is what Contra Costa Humane Society, its staff and wonderfull volunteers did for Savannah.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 19, 2012

more

January 19, 2012

My high school son was looking for volunteer jobs & found the Contra Costa Humane Society. Since he was only 14 at the time, an adult had to accompany him. The experience of volunteering with this organization has been such a rewarding experience for both of us! Carol, Kristy, are just wonderful to work with...and the added bonus is knowing you are helping some of the most vulnerable members of our society. Some of the things we have participated in: the Animeals Program at our local Petco store, the bake sales for "Kitty Corner" & outreach to people at our local Whole Foods about all the wonderful programs that CCHS has to offer. We look forward to offering our help & support to this great organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 19, 2012

more

January 19, 2012

I volunteer in the Animeals program with the Contra Costa Humane Society. We go to the same sites as our local food bank. When people who qualify for food donations come to pick up their food, they can also pick up for food for their animals, which we provide through donations received by CCHS. To help cut down on pet overpopulation, we tie the ability to receive free food into proof that animals are spayed/nuetered. We provide financial assistance for those who agree to spay/nueter, but can't afford it. If people refuse to spay/nueter after the first few pet food pickups, they can no longer qualify for free food. We have seen 80% compliance in spay/neuter. People tell us they couldn't keep their pets without the food we provide. This is a great program and should be implemented in other communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 19, 2012

more

January 19, 2012

Contra Costa Humane Society is a wonderful group to work with! Their commitment to the health and welfare of animals is awesome.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 19, 2012

more

January 19, 2012

Kitty Corner is a part of the Contra Costa Humane Society. Cats brought here are ones who have not been adopted by any other means. It's their last chance. Kitty Corner isn't a shelter, it's really a temporary loving home for these kitties. Life is so good for these kitties. Caring volunteers always keep the space immaculately clean, with fresh food and water. The cats are loved, pet and played with throughout the day. They roam freely, with lots of toys to play with and things to climb or hide away in. There are very large cages, used only in special circumstances like if a cat is ill or needs extra help adjusting to the new space. The cats are monitored regarding their personalities (and health) so that the best match possible for a home can be found. Kitty Corner is the best place I've ever seen for cats, with just one paid employee and volunteers who care and are committed to finding these cats a home and having them have the best life possible in the meantime.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 19, 2012

more

January 19, 2012

Best volunteer experience Ive had! The staff was very accomodating and always super appreciative.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 18, 2012

more

January 18, 2012

The organizers were very knowledgeable about the cats coming and going. The communitcation between the volunteer shifts was a work in progress but nonetheless a positive experiance. If my work schedule didn't change i would still be volunteering. I did however fall in love a big kitty in kitty corner and adopted him a few weeks later-best decision i ever made!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 18, 2012

more

January 18, 2012

I volunteer at the Contra Costa Humane Society, specifically Kitty Corner. Everyone I work with and all of my fellow volunteers are always so helpful and cheerful and everyone cares about the welfare of these animals. Our director always updates us with news of the cats and how we can all help to make their lives better. It really is a great organization that is helping the community and their animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 18, 2012

more

January 18, 2012

When trying to find a reputable organization to help save animals from certain death at our local shelter, I was referred to CCHS. I completed an application to foster and I currently have one foster chi in my home. CCHS takes their time to make sure they place the right dog with the right home. Hosting adoption events for their Kitty Corner and having such great volunteers to help with the animals is the best thing ever. We all volunteer our time, gas, homes, anything necessary to save a life, but CCHS makes it a wonderful and very supportive experience for us. We have support and they go above and beyond the call of duty when it comes to an animals care. I am extremely happy to be a part of the CCHS volunteer foster program. I will continue to foster for them and together we will save one live at a time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 18, 2012

more

January 18, 2012

Through the Spay/Neuter Assistance Program (SNAP), Contra Costa Humane Society helps low-income residents of Contra Costa spay/neuter their dogs and cats. Working with several vets, we connect people who meet the income requirements with vets who agree to provide lower-cost services. We also chip in to make the services more affordable. Our clients usually have to also pay a small amount. This is very gratifying and important work, because there are too many unwanted animals being abandoned. Our clients are always very grateful when we can help them get their pets spayed/neutered.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us outreach to find animals their forever homes, assemble food packages for needy families so they don't have to choose between food for themselves or their pets, help research animal topics to educate people to be humane. Volunteer