Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.894745
Write A Review
January 18, 2012

more

January 18, 2012

I adopted a cat from Contra Costa Humane Society; they were amazing. They were really interested in making sure that the right match was made, and were caring, responsive and thoughtful. CCHS is one of the non-profits I feel very comfortable donating to -- they've expanded their efforts to protect animals since I first heard of them, for example, by opening the awesome Kitty Corner. I can't say enough good things about this organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 18, 2012

more

January 18, 2012

The organizers were very knowledgeable about the cats coming and going. The communitcation between the volunteer shifts was a work in progress but nonetheless a positive experiance. If my work schedule didn't change i would still be volunteering. I did however fall in love a big kitty in kitty corner and adopted him a few weeks later-best decision i ever made!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 18, 2012

more

January 18, 2012

My husband and I ran into a volunteer from CCHS outside of Kitty Korner (CCHS) and she led us to the most amazing place ever! The volunteers were accommodating, devoted and friendly. They love the animals dearly and devoted every spare moment to the animals who need new homes. If it weren't for meeting this volunteer on that certain day, we never would have found that special addition to our family that we love so much, talk to in the garage before we even open the door to greet him, and sleep with every night. Thanks to CCHS and their completely unselfish ways, one animal at a time is getting another chance.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 18, 2012

more

January 18, 2012

I volunteer at the Contra Costa Humane Society, specifically Kitty Corner. Everyone I work with and all of my fellow volunteers are always so helpful and cheerful and everyone cares about the welfare of these animals. Our director always updates us with news of the cats and how we can all help to make their lives better. It really is a great organization that is helping the community and their animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 18, 2012

more

January 18, 2012

When trying to find a reputable organization to help save animals from certain death at our local shelter, I was referred to CCHS. I completed an application to foster and I currently have one foster chi in my home. CCHS takes their time to make sure they place the right dog with the right home. Hosting adoption events for their Kitty Corner and having such great volunteers to help with the animals is the best thing ever. We all volunteer our time, gas, homes, anything necessary to save a life, but CCHS makes it a wonderful and very supportive experience for us. We have support and they go above and beyond the call of duty when it comes to an animals care. I am extremely happy to be a part of the CCHS volunteer foster program. I will continue to foster for them and together we will save one live at a time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 18, 2012

more

January 18, 2012

Over the last several years, CCHS has completely reinvented itself into an animal welfare organization that has implemented REAL community-changing programs. In particular, AniMeals has been a real boon to our community! Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 18, 2012

more

January 18, 2012

Through the Spay/Neuter Assistance Program (SNAP), Contra Costa Humane Society helps low-income residents of Contra Costa spay/neuter their dogs and cats. Working with several vets, we connect people who meet the income requirements with vets who agree to provide lower-cost services. We also chip in to make the services more affordable. Our clients usually have to also pay a small amount. This is very gratifying and important work, because there are too many unwanted animals being abandoned. Our clients are always very grateful when we can help them get their pets spayed/neutered.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 18, 2012

more

January 18, 2012

Volunteering at CC Humane has been an extremely rewarding experience! Not only is the organization a worthy one, but the staff and volunteers are welcoming and committed. CC Humane has great programs worthy of any volunteer's time & effort; such as Kitty Korner a wonderful, loving, on-site foster facility for the cutest kitties ever! My favorite program is Animeals wherein CC Humane partnered with the Contra Costa Food Bank to offer dog/cat food to the Food Bank's clients. This allows the Food Bank clients a small food base for their pets as well as an arena for us to educate and assist with pet questions, spay & neuter information and possible programs that can assist with the cost of neutering a pet. As a dog trainer, I'm always happy to answer questions or give my opinion on a training issue. Overall, from the Board of Directors right down to the volunteers such as myself, all are committed people working for the good of our entire community!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 17, 2012

more

January 17, 2012

We volunteer for Contra Costa Humane Society on a weekly basis for the AniMeals program that provides pet food & supplies to pet owners in need in our community. We have seen first hand how appreciative our community is for the help this program provides. We also volunteer at fundraisers & events encouraging our community to learn about us & how they can help us make a difference. Contra Costa Humane Society works passionately with the local animal shelter to get pets adopted, spayed/neutered & to provide a sanctuary for cats in need. We are proud to support & volunteer for Contra Costa Humane Society.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us outreach to find animals their forever homes, assemble food packages for needy families so they don't have to choose between food for themselves or their pets, help research animal topics to educate people to be humane. Volunteer