Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.894745
Write A Review
January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

This is an great organization with passionate and committed volunteers, staff and board members. It's good to know I'm supporting my local community of Contra Costa County, and it's an organization that helps both animals and their people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

My husband and I are new volunteers, recently retired. We wanted a small "no kill" dog/cat rescue, re-homing group to give time to and we found it with Contra Costa Humane Society. We work mostly in their facility called Kitty Corner, doing the morning cleaning chores once a week. We immediately met a shy, scared cat named Savannah who desparetely needed some quiet time to get over her fears, so offered to foster her to make her more adoptable. And, we became "failed foster parents"--Savannah is now in her new forever home with us, and ashe rules the whole house as all cats do! She is so special, she now has her own email address and will be blogging once a week for about 6-9 months to tell whoever reads her blog what is is like to saved from euthanasia. And that is what Contra Costa Humane Society, its staff and wonderfull volunteers did for Savannah.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

16 years ago our family found the most wonderful dog through the Contra Costa Humane Society. After leaving Hewlett Packard about 5 years ago I wanted to find a non-profit organization that I could volunteer with and make an impact. Contra Costa Humane Society is an amazing organization. We are making our community a better place for humans and animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 19, 2012

more

January 19, 2012

My high school son was looking for volunteer jobs & found the Contra Costa Humane Society. Since he was only 14 at the time, an adult had to accompany him. The experience of volunteering with this organization has been such a rewarding experience for both of us! Carol, Kristy, are just wonderful to work with...and the added bonus is knowing you are helping some of the most vulnerable members of our society. Some of the things we have participated in: the Animeals Program at our local Petco store, the bake sales for "Kitty Corner" & outreach to people at our local Whole Foods about all the wonderful programs that CCHS has to offer. We look forward to offering our help & support to this great organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 19, 2012

more

January 19, 2012

I volunteer in the Animeals program with the Contra Costa Humane Society. We go to the same sites as our local food bank. When people who qualify for food donations come to pick up their food, they can also pick up for food for their animals, which we provide through donations received by CCHS. To help cut down on pet overpopulation, we tie the ability to receive free food into proof that animals are spayed/nuetered. We provide financial assistance for those who agree to spay/nueter, but can't afford it. If people refuse to spay/nueter after the first few pet food pickups, they can no longer qualify for free food. We have seen 80% compliance in spay/neuter. People tell us they couldn't keep their pets without the food we provide. This is a great program and should be implemented in other communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 19, 2012

more

January 19, 2012

I needed help with placing a pet and thy gave me fantastic advice. I'll go back when I can get another dog!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 19, 2012

more

January 19, 2012

Contra Costa Humane Society is a wonderful group to work with! Their commitment to the health and welfare of animals is awesome.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 19, 2012

more

January 19, 2012

Kitty Corner is a part of the Contra Costa Humane Society. Cats brought here are ones who have not been adopted by any other means. It's their last chance. Kitty Corner isn't a shelter, it's really a temporary loving home for these kitties. Life is so good for these kitties. Caring volunteers always keep the space immaculately clean, with fresh food and water. The cats are loved, pet and played with throughout the day. They roam freely, with lots of toys to play with and things to climb or hide away in. There are very large cages, used only in special circumstances like if a cat is ill or needs extra help adjusting to the new space. The cats are monitored regarding their personalities (and health) so that the best match possible for a home can be found. Kitty Corner is the best place I've ever seen for cats, with just one paid employee and volunteers who care and are committed to finding these cats a home and having them have the best life possible in the meantime.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 19, 2012

more

January 19, 2012

Best volunteer experience Ive had! The staff was very accomodating and always super appreciative.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 18, 2012

more

January 18, 2012

Great people who have a true compassion for helping animals no matter what type or breed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us outreach to find animals their forever homes, assemble food packages for needy families so they don't have to choose between food for themselves or their pets, help research animal topics to educate people to be humane. Volunteer