Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

The Container Recycling Institute is the ideal combination of expert/deep on policy and layperson friendly. In other words, while CRI has facts and figures galore, they always present and distill them in such useful ways. And let's not overlook the friendly, responsive staff---not something to take for granted. 5 stars, plus a hip hip hooray for CRI.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2012

more

April 30, 2012

The Container Recycling Institute has provided invaluable expertise in our zero-waste campaigns in Vermont. We have received numerous reports, advice, and other resources as needed. Every request for information has been promptly and thoughtfully provided. I would highly recommend this organization to any individual or group working on solid waste and recycling issues.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2012

more

April 30, 2012

As an environmental economist studying the economic and environmental impacts of our policies for managing our discarded resources (typically called "wastes"), I've been very impressed with the work of CRI in their efforts to promote higher level recovery of the resources in used beverage containers. CRI consistently brings reliable empirical data and well thought out analyses to their advocacy for beverage container deposit-refund systems as a very effective way to get more containers recycled, and less resources wasted from container disposal in garbage and trash.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2012

more

April 30, 2012

CPI has professionally and exuberantly assisted our State wide resource recovery association with education and outreach materials, as well as Technical assistance. We found the Professional staff at CPI to be well spoken, engaging and very knowledgeable. Overall, our involvement with CPI for speaking engagements and industry literature review was enjoyable, profitable and very well received by our clients.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved both as a volunteer and contractor for CRI for many years. The organization has been an intergral part of policy development around container management and continues to push law-makers towards decisions based on fact. Without CRI the United States would likely not be acheiving the recycling rates that they are, and thanks to CRI they are likely to improve over the next few years. Their work is professional and reliable and serves not only organizations, governments and industry in the United States, but throughout the world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 29, 2012

more

April 29, 2012

The Container Recycling Institute (CRI) is an amazing organization. I first came across them in 2004 when I started a volunteer recycling advocacy group, Moab Solutions, which, after 8 years is about to become a 501(c)(3). (www.moab-solutions.org). Hundreds of thousands of pounds of recycling and trash have passed through my hands since 2004 as I started doing massive cleanups in the streams, on trails and along the byways and highways of this gorgeous region. (Moab, Utah). We took lots of photos of the trash and recycling we came upon to try to publicize to the community the huge amounts of recycling littered on the land. We also were working hard to try to have recycle bins placed everywhere there were trash cans in the city parks and along our parkway system. (We installed and maintained, on a volunteer basis many recycle containers.) After years of working on the city, they have placed and maintain many public bins. I came to rely on the great information about recycling rates and issues provided by CRI as I was learning more and more about waste. And the truth they were presenting about the beverage industry's fight against taking responsibility for the waste they themselves cause was very enlightening. And the horrific worldwide effect of that waste. Reading some of their reports, like "Trashed Cans", was life-changing. For me, it meant limiting buying aluminum and redoubling my efforts to get as many cans recycled as possible. CRI's recent report on jobs created by recycling is spot on. (Returning to Work: Understanding the Domestic Jobs Impacts from Different Methods of Recycling Beverage Containers). They are the "go to" group when one wants reliable facts and statistics on recycling and wasting. I see their name sited in a variety of publications from Readers Digest to environmental magazines. Their waste counter tells the real story. It displays an everchanging number - the number of containers wasted in the USA. I have it on my site's recycling factoids page. It is very powerful. A organization like the Container Recycling Institute is vital to bringing about real and meaningful change in a world gone slightly mad. Any support CRI receives will be translated into hard work stopping the waste that is doing so much harm to the planet.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

CRI has been a central voice and resource in the movement to end wasting and move towards rational, efficient resource managment for as long as I have been in the solid waste and recycling industry (1991 - present). CRI monitors resource management issues and policy, and produces reports and studies that are broadly sued in relevant policy areas. CRI also provides analysis of packaging and resource management issues and events that provide critical context and historical continuity.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

I first became aware of the Container Recycling Institute when I enrolled in a state certificate program for resource management and recycling. I was so impressed with CRI's mission that I pursued a volunteer opportunity with them. I am now happy to say that I am gainfully employed with the organization. It is such a rewarding experience to be working every day to reduce the amount of waste being sent to landfills and to educate others on the importance of closed loop recycling systems that decrease our dependence on virgin materials. I'm grateful for the opportunity to be doing something that I am passionate about!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

As an environmental engineer specializing in water quality issues, I'm grateful to the CRI for its efforts to reduce the type of nonpoint source water pollution caused by hundreds of thousands of littered beverage containers. Stuff flows downhill. And the best proof of that comes after any major storm event in any major city, when plastic bottles, aluminum cans and other forms of litter get washed into storm drains and out into the public waterway. It's a serious and expensive issue, bad for the public image, and potentially harmful to wildlife. I've heard the argument that deposits aren't necessary because bottles and cans are a "minor portion" of the litter stream. Anyone who really believes that needs to join me in a stream or lakeshore cleanup.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers