Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.777785
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
January 3, 2014

more

January 3, 2014

Is incredible that so few people can make so big things!!! Emily, Carolina and all Constru Casa Team are people that make dreams come true building houses for local families.. I was volunteer the past summer and was an amazing experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

As a child of 14 years I was reading books about the Indsman in America and got a lot of compassion with them. These people were forced to give up their land and freedom to the white people. I then had a dream to build houses some day with them. When I met my wife Esther some years ago she told about here experience as a volunteer in Guatemala. My dream came back and we decided to sponsor and volunteer building a house for a Maya family.
It is incredable how easy it is to help the Maya people and give them a better life. They don't need much and are always proud and happy. They learned to survive in a beautiful country with almost nothing. People we helped were so greatful. It was hard to believe that we made the difference to become a better life by helping them. A very important experience in my life which I can recommend everybody who wants to explore his own belief system and help other people in the mean time.
Thanks to my wife who gave me this beautiful opportunity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 15, 2013

more

July 15, 2013

For almost 10 years now I volunteer for Constru Casa. I first met Carolina around 2002 when I was on sabbatical in Guatemala to study Spanish. Since than I've visited Guatamala about 10 times. I was a volunteer in the office in Guatemala, went on honeymoon to Guatemala and we volunteered and donated a house with my husband. We came back in 2012 and took his children to volunteer at Constru Casa Site (18 year and older). I learn so much from the Guatemalan people and it's an inspiring place to work and meet the local people. An unforgetable and for me lilfechanging experience! Because of the experience in Guatemala I changed my job 10 years ago from commercial company to non profit organisation (and now I am stimulating corporate volunteering). I learned so much and it's relativating my life in Holland. The organization is very professional and I see the donated money comes right where it should come. I can recommand Constru Casa. Right now I am a (volunteer) boardmember of Constru Casa Holland.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wish they had more support from the Guatemalan government...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great organization. Small in size, but huge in what they mean for local families. I raised the money to build an entire house and thereafter i joined 2 weeks on the construction site.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Integrate interaction between donors and individual families who benefit. Perhaps 1%club is a good example.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 13, 2013

more

July 13, 2013

My first experience was in 2006, and immediately I was sold. I turned back to the Netherlands as an other human-being. After then I returned 3 times and every time was the time of my life. Now I have a lot of friends in Guatemala. The gretatest to me is the jadeworker in San Juan del Obispo.
My last experience was in 2010. It's difficult to work again to me, because my knee has been worn.

Once I hope to go back for visiting my friendstogether with my wife

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make no changes

More feedback...

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 26, 2013

more

June 26, 2013

I worked for 2 weeks for Constru Casa at San Mateo and San Gaspar near Antigua. I learned a bunch of very useful skills, I will need in my career as Civil Engineer ,while helping other people. The workers at the construction site were very friendly and patient. Constru Casa’s staff was helpful, and organized. They made sure everything was working out fine. The homestay Constru Casa organized for me was excellent. The family was friendly and the food was good. Constru Casa is making a huge difference on the lives of hundreds of Guatemalan families. I highly recommend them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013

more

June 25, 2013

A friend and I traveled to Antigua in 2012 to volunteer with Constru Casa and I could have never imagined what a tremendous impact this organization would have on my life. Constru Casa has built an impressive network of team members, volunteers, local masons, and community organizations to support its mission of providing basic, dignified housing to families living in extreme poverty. Carolina Van Heerde and her team are right on the ball with their communication. From my initial contact I had with the volunteer coordinator to the final day of my trip, they ensured that everything ran smoothly. I met husband and fellow volunteer on this trip, and we plan to return to Antigua in the near future to join Constru Casa for another project.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

Constru Casa has become a big part of our lives. My husband, Jim, and I have moved to Antigua, Guatemala because of Constru Casa. Jim has been volunteering with them for around six years doing construction of homes and raising money. We have seen first hand how the homes built by Guatemalan masons, the family and volunteers can bring stability to a family as well as better health. The solid construction helps keep the families safe from earthquakes, mudslides and rain saturating their home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We donated a house and we also volunteered in the construcction. It was vey hard for us since we are older and had never worked on construction before. There were 2 cildren in the house and both seemed to do well in school. The entir idea is to help children get a better future. We were very please that this family went from a house made of sticks and stones to a block room house. Unfortunately due to the weather we were not able to see it completed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is electricity at most of these sites so there is no reason not to have power tools. We even told them that we will donate them, but they refused and said manual work and tools worked better for them. They can get better quality and work faster with better tools. We never got a picture or any news of how the house looked, when or if it was completed. How the children are doing or if the family was able to continue improving their house.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

Every year my high school sends high school juniors to Guatemala and through a Google search I found out about ConstruCasa. After completing my first, of hopefully many, partnerships with them I am very pleased with how on top of their game they are from everyone in the office to the workers out in the field. I always felt like everyone at ConstruCasa was looking after our needs and making sure our experience was a good as it could be. Up until now they have been very flexible, accommodating, pleasant, and in general a great pleasure to work with. I highly recommend ConstruCasa to anyone looking to do community service work with a group of high school aged students or any other group!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers