Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
109 Reviews
1234.954135
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I can't put into words what it feels like when the lions 'oooff'. Or the joy I feel seeing a 500 lb cat playing in a cardboard box. The Conservators' Center is one of the most unique places I have ever experienced. The staff and volunteers are all there because they love what they do...and it shows. I'm forever taking new and old friends and visiting family to visit, and they are always simply amazed. I will always support the Conservators' Center.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more land and money. I would love to build them a vet clinic area.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It is not a stretch to say that The Conservators' Center is my favorite place. I say it every time I visit, and to anyone who will listen! It is a remarkable facility focused on education, rescue, and conservation, and they take their mission seriously. The animals are incredible, special beings, with unique stories and needs, and you can learn about and see nearly all of them on any one of the many tours the Center offers. The tour guides are informed and energetic - they love their roles as educators and guides. And you will fall in love with a lion...or a tiger...or a lemur...or a serval...or a lynx...or a fox....or a binturong...or, if you're like me, with all of them! Visiting CCI is an experience you won't soon forget, and I'll wager one visit won't be enough. I am so grateful to have found this amazing facility so close to home!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

This charming facility cares for animals that have been pets and other stuff that were improperly cared for. They care so much about the animals, that the animals live longer than in zoos. They all... more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Conservators Center is such an amazing place. They care so much for the animals that they have rescued. They also help and give advice to other rescues around the world. I feel at home there and the animals are very well loved and cared for. It is just amazing.

More feedback...

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This charming facility cares for animals that have been pets and other stuff that were improperly cared for. They care so much about the animals, that the animals live longer than in zoos. They allow people to be close to the animals and teach people about how majestic they are. I have never felt so close to a group of people and animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I first discovered the Conservators' Center through a friend who works there. I grew up as an animal lover, and her ability to tell the stories of the animals before they came to the Center was beyond compare. Some of the stories were chillingly beautiful, while others were heart-breakingly sad. Many animals at the Center came from mishandled human captivity, either through simple neglect or outright abuse, while some others came from homes that loved and cared for them, but simply could not meet their needs. I was amazed at their ability to take in all these animals, despite their limited budget, and provide good, consistent care. Each animal lives a comfortable, well cared for life, getting top quality veterinary/medical care, consistent food, and companionship both from members of their own species and from trained, dedicated staff. The Conservators' Center is truly an amazing place to visit and see.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I LOVE the Conservators' Center! There is no place I would rather spend my free time. From the first moment you pull onto the long gravel drive, through the winding road through the woods, you are then welcomed by the friendly staff if the gift shop. The tours are both knowledgeable and fun, with each animal exhibiting their unique personalities. The intimate enclosures give you the feeling of a closeness with the animal that cannot be experienced anywhere else. I highly recommend the Center!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Very special people taking care of very special creatures. Animals that humans, in their ignorance or apathy, would have let starve or be mistreated. This facility provides quality of life for many types of wild animals in a rural setting only enhanced by the animals presence. I originally brought my son to visit on his birthday because tigers are his favorite animal. Little did I know that I would become a donor, albeit a small one. The volunteer who led our tour took the time to frame a picture of one of the residents and give it to my son. It hangs on the wall in his room to this day. Thanks to the staff for providing a wonderful experience.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I would like to tell you our story about Jerimiah our Lemuar and how we had to find him a home he had grown into an adult and was becoming more and more diffult to manage especially to females, I was starting to be afraid of him and knowing I would have to be the one to feed him and change him was getting harder. We called many places and no one wanted him, I even called the Asheboro Zoo thinking they would take him because they had lemuars but they would not they told me to put him down. I was so angry with that response I could hardly think straight. Put him down, a perfectly healthy lemuar with no health problems no way I said storming out of my room, I was outraged a zoo that is equipted supposably would tell you to do that, well with that response I was more now than ever more determined that if I could not place him in a faclity that would be educated enough and equipted to handle this presious creation of God's work of art that I would somehow find a way to handle him at my own home some how some way. But I wuold not and I repeat I would not put him as they say down. So I continued to call and finaly my prayers were answered God turned me to the right phone call and they told me about the Conservators Center, I spoke to Mindy and she talked to Doug and we were asked to bring Jerimiah to meet them. They saw this lovely creature and said that they would take him on a trial basis. We gave a good size donation along with our help and built his house inside of the cage that they could put him in until they could fix up his permanant place. These two people along with their voluntiers are a Gods blessing to us as well as the wildlife animals that can no longer live in the homes of people who think that having a wild animal is something that they can handle. As small wild animals they are cute and cuddley but as they mature they endow their natural wildlife habits and can become harmful to people that know very little about how to handle them. I feel that I was called by God to take Jeri in as a small baby and then find him a home once he grow up becuase God knows how much my husband and I love animals of all kinds and we would make sure Jerimiah was taking good care of and loved. We love Jerimiah very much and we know that Mindy and Dough do as well and that they are God's care takeres for these beauitful creatures of God's and he will provide for them through people like us and you because if you are reading this you must love these babies too. May God bless you and alll, Kathy and Ron Humble the previous partents of Jerimiah and lifetime adopting partents for Jerimiah which now has a companion Cookie, a female Lemuar. If you can help out with their cause I am sure God will bless you greatly with his love and graciousness.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a fan of big cats and the Conservators Center has big cats: lions, tigers, leopards, and small cats, too: bob cats, servals, caracals, jungle cats, lynx, ocelots, chausies, & Geoffroy's cat. They have other animals as well. The Conservators Centers does a fantastic job of caring for them all and ensuring for the safety of the animals are safe, the community, and their keepers. The animals are used now for educational purposes and in educating the public, they perform another much needed public service. The education primarily revolves around the stories of how all the animals came to be the Center and the role of some of the animals in their native habitat/ecosystem. You see, almost all of their animals are all wards of the state (so to speak); they've been confiscated by the department of agriculture, fish and game, or other government agency from their owners who held them illegally, or found they could no longer care for them. Yes the Conservators Center does Good!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Rescue organization for large and small exotic animals. A large group of lions and tigers. All animals are very well cared for and are all animals experience enrichment. My first visit resulted in my adopting 2 animals. One very beautiful lioness and one very handsome singing dog.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Conservator's Center is an amazing place filled with special animals and people. We have been adopters for the past 2 years after taking a tour of the facility. If you haven't been, take the time and you won't be disappointed!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

prepare fruit salad food bowls for the animals, help with landscape maintenance, assist with a construction project for the animals