Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
124 Reviews
1234.959685
Write A Review
April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I would like to tell you our story about Jerimiah our Lemuar and how we had to find him a home he had grown into an adult and was becoming more and more diffult to manage especially to females, I was starting to be afraid of him and knowing I would have to be the one to feed him and change him was getting harder. We called many places and no one wanted him, I even called the Asheboro Zoo thinking they would take him because they had lemuars but they would not they told me to put him down. I was so angry with that response I could hardly think straight. Put him down, a perfectly healthy lemuar with no health problems no way I said storming out of my room, I was outraged a zoo that is equipted supposably would tell you to do that, well with that response I was more now than ever more determined that if I could not place him in a faclity that would be educated enough and equipted to handle this presious creation of God's work of art that I would somehow find a way to handle him at my own home some how some way. But I wuold not and I repeat I would not put him as they say down. So I continued to call and finaly my prayers were answered God turned me to the right phone call and they told me about the Conservators Center, I spoke to Mindy and she talked to Doug and we were asked to bring Jerimiah to meet them. They saw this lovely creature and said that they would take him on a trial basis. We gave a good size donation along with our help and built his house inside of the cage that they could put him in until they could fix up his permanant place. These two people along with their voluntiers are a Gods blessing to us as well as the wildlife animals that can no longer live in the homes of people who think that having a wild animal is something that they can handle. As small wild animals they are cute and cuddley but as they mature they endow their natural wildlife habits and can become harmful to people that know very little about how to handle them. I feel that I was called by God to take Jeri in as a small baby and then find him a home once he grow up becuase God knows how much my husband and I love animals of all kinds and we would make sure Jerimiah was taking good care of and loved. We love Jerimiah very much and we know that Mindy and Dough do as well and that they are God's care takeres for these beauitful creatures of God's and he will provide for them through people like us and you because if you are reading this you must love these babies too. May God bless you and alll, Kathy and Ron Humble the previous partents of Jerimiah and lifetime adopting partents for Jerimiah which now has a companion Cookie, a female Lemuar. If you can help out with their cause I am sure God will bless you greatly with his love and graciousness.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Conservators' Center (CCi) provides a home to big cats (like lions, tigers, and leopards), small cats (including servals, caracals, lynx, jungle cats, Geoffroy's cats, bobcats), fox, wolves, New Guinea singing dogs, binturongs, and more. They provide badly needed healthcare as well as a comfortable and loving environment for these animals, for whom the alternative is often inhumane conditions or euthanasia. The volunteers and staff at CCi really care about all of the animals, although each of us has our our favorites, just as the animals have their favorite people. Over the course of many years, I have volunteered for many tasks - feeding/watering, cleaning cages, and most frequently, construction. I love the opportunity to be outdoors, close to the animals, constructing a cage or building enrichment for the animals to climb, swing, or lounge on. It makes me feel like a kid again. Knowing that I can do something to help these animals, while being a part of a caring, dedicated community really takes me outside myself to be a part of something larger that is important. The work and the atmosphere centers me. I truly believe I get far more than I could ever give. The animals are all beautiful and interesting and you can get much closer to them than you can at a zoo, so you can see and understand them better. It's something that everyone should experience on a tour (the tour guides are great!) or as a volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Simply amazing. This shelter is saving our wildlife while educating the public and promoting animal rights and safety. The Conservators Center is breathtaking and a gift to this planet.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My family and I really enjoyed our visit to the Conservators Center. We could tell that every single person we met who was involved with the Center was totally committed to preserving these animals and providing the best environment and life possible. During our visit there was an altercation between two female tigers and their roars were very loud and scary to us visitors. We were really impressed with the staff's calm response to the problem and their quick separation of the tigers. We also liked the how our guide explained the Center's mission regarding wild animal rescue. We will bring our family and friends on many more visits!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Conservator's Center is a bit off the beaten path but well worth the visit. Some friends and I went to see the "tree toss", where old Christmas trees are put in the cages for the animals to play with. What a great place! Every animal has a story and the volunteers talk about them as if they were their children. The highlight was when the lions began to "talk" to each other across the compound. Their roars sounded like we were in a stadium listening to loud speakers. Absolutely awesome! I'm looking forward to another visit in the summer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter wanted to go on an animal tour for her 9th birthday. I am so glad a friend recommended The Conservators' Center! We picked the Feeding and Enrichment tour. The tour had a good size group, was very informative and the animals were entertaining. It met all of my daughter's expectations and the rest of the family enjoyed much more than we thought we would. I would highly recommend this tour.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Conservator's Center is an incredible facility that provides large cats and other animals with a wonderful environment in which to live, grow, and educate. I was always amazed by my time volunteering there, both with the animals themselves and with the people who care for them. The facility is attentive to the needs of each animal, and every worker there obviously cares a great deal for the work they do. The animals themselves are happy, healthy, and well-adjusted, and are clearly content to live where they do. I love this center, and hope to continue supporting it for many years. If I still lived in the area, I would be volunteering at every opportunity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 8, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
January 1, 2011

Every year, I make the trip down the mountain - 4 1/2 hours - to visit some of my best friends at the Conservators' Center! There is nothing to compare to the experience! It is simply one heart-open... more

April 8, 2012

Every year, I drive 4 1/2 hours to visit this incredible facility! They give new meaning to the word heart-centered, for that comes across at every turn and each encounter. I feel so grateful for the wonderful service that they offer on behalf of these beautiful creatures who now live there. I am happy that they have a forever home at the Conservators' Center! Thank you!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Every year, I make the trip down the mountain - 4 1/2 hours - to visit some of my best friends at the Conservators' Center! There is nothing to compare to the experience! It is simply one heart-opening moment after another!







The tour guides and keepers go the extra
mile in making the visit a memorable one. The anecdotes, stories and rich histories all help to bring the experience to life. Of course, the animals simply show up to be their magnificent selves! Our job? Enjoy!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

First-hand tours at the facility each year. Direct communication online with staff and Arthur the tiger's own facebook page!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would add an overnight apartment stay. I think that's coming! I would love to be able to follow the tour guides around for an all day tour. Adding that to my wish list!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

How did you learn about this organization?

When I first visited the Exotic Feline Rescue Center in Indiana (2007), I wished that they were closer to where I live in North Carolina. The assistant director spoke highly of the Conservators' Center and suggested that I get involved locally. I did!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Conservaor's Center does vital work sheltering and caring for exotic animals, particularly big cats. They have nmany beautiful creatures in their care, and the staff is so devoted and atentive. They offer unique and informative tours of their facility and do truly marvelous work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

“I am extremely proud to be able to recommend the Conservators Center for an outstanding and informative time in this facility. I have known Mindy Stiener through my wife for 2 years. When I first met Mindy she was extremely welcoming me to her facility as well as her entire staff. I immediately noticed that Mindy was a standout in many core areas of my philosophies including Animal Welfare, habitat enclosures, employee awareness, customer experience, and Developing the team. Shortly after meeting Mindy she embraced my feelings with exotics and gave me the most enjoyable one on one experience I have ever had. Over these past few years I have gotten a more sense of understanding of what it actually takes to run a facility like this. The awareness to the public is bar nun. I wish we could have more facilities like this that actually educates the public. From my experience Mindy was able to assist in teaching, coaching, directing, within the facility while multi tasking and developing the knowledge of her team. In my professional opinion the conservators center is a true life experience which everyone needs to experience. It was great to watch Mindy in her environment and have the opportunity to recommend her and her facility for this review. I can tell you that I would not hesitate to hire Mindy into a position within my Organization due to the fact of their passion, desire and motivation for the welfare and education they deliver. The Conservators Center has a unique way of making thier customers and team feel comfortable. I can most definitely see a goal to give there customers a great experience so they would come back and recommend to friends and family. Any great Organization no matter what the product or service they offer should understand this is the key for any business to not only survive but to flourish. I strongly feel that the Conservators Center would be an strong asset to educate and communicate the life of exotic animals. Please feel free to contact me at anytime if you have any questions about my experience with Mindy Stiener and her Facility feel free to contact me @ 910-257-3016.” April 5, 2012

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

go through our orientation and help with animal food preparation, gardening, or a minor maintenance project Volunteer