Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
109 Reviews
1234.954135
| 1 ... 7 8 9...11 |
Write A Review
April 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a fan of big cats and the Conservators Center has big cats: lions, tigers, leopards, and small cats, too: bob cats, servals, caracals, jungle cats, lynx, ocelots, chausies, & Geoffroy's cat. They have other animals as well. The Conservators Centers does a fantastic job of caring for them all and ensuring for the safety of the animals are safe, the community, and their keepers. The animals are used now for educational purposes and in educating the public, they perform another much needed public service. The education primarily revolves around the stories of how all the animals came to be the Center and the role of some of the animals in their native habitat/ecosystem. You see, almost all of their animals are all wards of the state (so to speak); they've been confiscated by the department of agriculture, fish and game, or other government agency from their owners who held them illegally, or found they could no longer care for them. Yes the Conservators Center does Good!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Forget Disney World--The Conservator's Center is the "happiest place on earth", for the animals who were rescued from often horrible circumstances and now have the food, care, and safety they deserve, and for those of us lucky enough to have discovered it. The love and devotion of the staff and volunteers is very apparent. I first visited last November (couldn't believe I lived 30 miles away and yet had no idea they were there until I read their story in my AAA magazine!), have returned twice more, and look forward both to more visits and eventually to volunteering. Unlike a zoo, you really meet the animals, many of whom come up to greet you, and hear their individual stories, some of which will make you cry. The facility itself is wonderful, with a new visitors' center and gift shop. They also have a very informative website that includes bios of all their residents, and lists ways the public can help support their very worthy mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Rescue organization for large and small exotic animals. A large group of lions and tigers. All animals are very well cared for and are all animals experience enrichment. My first visit resulted in my adopting 2 animals. One very beautiful lioness and one very handsome singing dog.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Wow! What a great experience! We learned so much & can't wait to go back!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Conservator's Center is an amazing place filled with special animals and people. We have been adopters for the past 2 years after taking a tour of the facility. If you haven't been, take the time and you won't be disappointed!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The most passionate and knowledgeable group of staff members! One tour moved my seventeen--year-old brother-in-law to want to sponsor Ami, one of the phenomenal wolves at the Center. Since he could not afford it on his own, he asked for the sponsorship to be his birthday gift from us. Every animal is so special and the staff works to share each and every one of them in all of their uniqueness. You will not find a group of people more in touch with their mission than the staff and volunteers at the Conservators' Center!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

They take in animals that have been abused or neglected. They love their animals and it shows. From how the tours explain the needs of their animals here and their role in the environment, to how they stay up all night in the cold with sick animals, from lemurs and binturongs to the lions, tigers and wolves. Everyone pitches in, feeding, digging ditches, cleaning compounds, watching for any signs of problems. The founders live in a double-wide, so that volunteers and interns can have an outstanding education center. They care so much for the animals in their care.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing lions and tigers run to the keepers, even without food, just to be near them. Seeing mistreated lions/tigers heal their wounds and run and play

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the number of staff to allow more tours and less wear and tear on the current staff, interns and volunteers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Give me more help :) I'm digging ditches at 68 years old.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

So many new friends, and how to really care for exotic animals in aplace where they and I can be safe and appreciated

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Loved, appreciated and important!

April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Conservator's Center was wonderful. I visited with 6 members of my family ranging in age from 8-75. Upon arrival, we were welcomed and told heart warming stories of some of the animals we were about to see. Our tour guide also told us about each animal, where they came from, and talked to us about how important their roles are on our planet. It was really neat being able to get so close to the big cats, and hearing the lions roar was something so awesome I can't even put it in words! The wolves were a favorite too, we just couldn't get over how big they really are! I am so happy this place was able to take these animals in and give them a safe, clean place to live and at the same time, allow regular folks like us to see & learn about them up close. Although we live about 4 hours away, we plan on visiting again this summer and will bring friends with us!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Conservators' Center is an amazing place full of great people and animals. I started out at the Conservators' Center as a Summer Intern. We started the day at 8 and usually didn't end until 4 at the earliest. The Conservators' Center has a mission of Conservation, Education and Rescue. Many of the animals are rescued from bad situations where unqualified people were "caring" for them. Through outreach and tours CCI works to education the public on many species that are at risk but not part of the traditional AZA zoo population. The staff and most volunteers have dedicated their lives to CCI and work very hard to care for the animals, often spending what little free time and money they make on improvements to the site as well as basic transportation to the site. My internship had a huge impact on me and although I do not intend to have a career working with exotics I do see myself continuing to volunteer with CCI in my free time as I have continued to go back regularly as a volunteer after my internship ended. The

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing. In the perfect world I wouldn't have to drive an hour from where I live to go volunteer but it's worth the drive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

My volunteer experience has been great. I wouldn't change a thing.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My experience has taught me to have more patience with both animals and people. No matter how much of a relationship you have with a tiger if it doesn't want to shift so you can get into the enclosure and clean its not going to and you'll just have to try again later that day. I'm much better at working with a group of people and being more outgoing with new people. I also met some of the most selfless caring people I have ever known by volunteering. I can't imagine my life without having met them.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

This volunteer experience made me feel great.

April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was an intern during the summer months of 2011. I was very impressed with how organized the Conservators' Center was/is. I interned for 6 weeks and really got to see all of the work it takes to run this facility. I saw firsthand how dedicated the workers are to well-being of the animals, donors, volunteers, and visitors of the center. This center is full of love for the animals. During my time there, always recycled and only threw away what we absolutely could not reuse. This center is very green-friendly.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my every day life. I receive their newsletter and see how they have put their hard work and donations to use by building a new tour center that also serves as an education center, where they teach classes to people about wildlife conservation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish they receive more donations to help with all of the costs of things the precious animals require!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My experience had a profound effect on me. I received insight on how non-profit organizations work, through bad times and good, and experienced firsthand how much volunteers do to help the facility. I became emotionally attached to several of the animals, and I believe I truly helped make a difference in some of their lives. When I revisit the Conservators' Center this summer, I will see the effort my fellow interns and I put forth to improve the well-being of a certain New Guinea Singing Dog.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

My experience made me feel humble about the hard work I did. I was in the blistering heat 40 hours a week and really felt useful to the animals and the staff at the center. I developed a new found respect for the staff and all the hard work they put in every day, not just 5 days a week like I did. I will never forget my experience at The Conservators' Center.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

2 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer