Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
124 Reviews
1234.959685
| 1 ... 6 7 8...12 |
Write A Review
November 5, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 5, 2012

This place is AMAZING - the work they do is to be admired! I have never encountered wild animals up so close, learned so much about them or been so inspired to return to a place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Awesome visit. Great view of the animals. Staff were knowledgeable and eager to share the wonderful stories of each of the animals. Will definitely visit again!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

i visited the conservator's center last week with my five children. they had a great time, and learned a lot. i was very impressed with their professionalism, cleanliness, definitely the care for the animals, and safety guidelines. i think what they're doing for those animals is just awesome! it made me want to work there! i will spread the news about them to everyone i can think of. ~mandy jones

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I took our six-year-old son and 18-month-old daughter to The Conservator's Center recently. We all had such a great time while there! We were very impressed with our tour guide - it was obvious to us that she was incredibly passionate about the mission of this organization. She was so knowledgable about each animal, and not only did she give us detailed information about their backstory, natural habitat, and habits..she shared the animal's individual histories as well. It really opened our eyes to the plight of these animals and the seriousness of their situation. You certainly can't get this kind of personal experience at the local zoo. It was amazing to be so close to the animals and to have the opportunity to feel a closeness with them, and not to feel rushed (which is how I feel whenever I go to the zoo). The facility itself was clean and well maintained. My husband and I can't wait to go back for one of the enrichment or twilight tours to find out what else we can learn. Our only suggestion is that they email you the consent form with your tour approval or put it on the website - it would have been easier to fill this out at home and bring it with us. The kids were getting restless waiting for everyone in the group to fill this out. And, hopefully they would save money on paper and ink for the forms. Great job, guys. We'll be seeing you again.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This is one one my favorite places on the planet. The animals are so peaceful and at home and loved here. And the people give everything they have to make sure the animals continue to feel that way. I was introduced to the Center by a work colleague. My first tour was a photography tour that I gave my husband as a birthday gift. Since then. I've been on at least 30 tours - I've brought groups, students at the college where I work, etc. I've also done three service learning courses with the Center as our partners so students are working directly with these passionate people for the good of the animals. I'm a lifetime adopter of Ugmo lioness and will be starting as an outreach volunteer soon. You won't find a place where people care more about their animals and their happiness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I visited the Center on Easter weekend 2012 for the first time. I fell in love with all the good things going on here and can't wait to visit again in the future. My favorites were Arthur tiger, ALL of the wolves and finally the singing dogs. Megan was our tour guide and also Cody helped out when it came time to tossing the scented treats up and over the fences. I wish everyone at the center and ALL the animals continued happiness in everything they have left to do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been volunteering with the Conservators' Center since fall of 2011. Every time I drive out there, I am amazed with the staff, animals, and facility. I was immediately welcomed into the family made up of amazing, dedicated individuals. The compounds are utterly amazing and I can only imagine the time it took to plan and build each cage to the needs of the individual animals. Each animal is wonderfully content and well cared for. I recently adopted Victoria, a 23-24 year old Geoffroy's Cat - you KNOW they're well cared for when they can live to that old age! Being able to spend a Saturday helping the public to experience the magic of the Conservators' Center never fails to make my day. It IS magical to stand in the compound listening to dozens of lions oof, singing dogs sing, and wolves howl. I can't wait to continue working with this wonderful organization!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

win the lottery and give them all of it!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel like I'm actually making a difference - everyone leaves well educated and inspired!

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I visited the Conservator's Center with my 7-year-old not too long ago. I was so impressed with the staff and the place itself--I'm not a fan of zoos; wild animals should live in the wild. But the reality is, many are bred in captivity or removed from their natural habitat by people who then can't care for them. They can't be re-introduced into the wild and need and deserve to be provided for in an environment that suits their nature as closely as possible. Conservator's Center is the solution to this problem. And its thrilling and expertly guided tours through the compound serve to educate people and hopefully deter further exploitation of wild creatures.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a bigger, permanent structure for their visitor's center/staff offices. Give them some bigger enclosures for some of the animals. They are working on it but their funding is limited so some of the animals are more confined than they would like.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

How did you learn about this organization?

A relative who lives near it.

April 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I recently visited the Conservator's Center and took 3 friends, because I purchased a Groupon. I was surprised at its remote location and had no idea what to expect, but it sounded interesting. We went on the Treat Feeding and Enrichment Tour. What a fabulous experience!!! We fell in love with the animals and the place! The animals are obviously happy and well cared for. The staff respects the animals and allows them to engage with the visitors only to the extent that they wish to, but the animals seem to enjoy the visitors and to be stimulated by their presence. The animals "communicate" with staff and visitors, play soccer, and enjoy cardboard boxes just like house cats do. I enjoyed the Center so much that I took 3 more friends to visit a few weeks later, and I plan to take another group to visit soon. It is rare to get to view and interact with exotic animals in such close proximity, while still totally respecting them. The Center always places the animals needs and public safety first, and that has made the Center a wonderful place to visit. I am actively encouraging people to support the Center by visiting and making donations. I think about it and the animals every day, since I visited there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Very special people taking care of very special creatures. Animals that humans, in their ignorance or apathy, would have let starve or be mistreated. This facility provides quality of life for many types of wild animals in a rural setting only enhanced by the animals presence. I originally brought my son to visit on his birthday because tigers are his favorite animal. Little did I know that I would become a donor, albeit a small one. The volunteer who led our tour took the time to frame a picture of one of the residents and give it to my son. It hangs on the wall in his room to this day. Thanks to the staff for providing a wonderful experience.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

2 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer