Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
124 Reviews
1234.959685
Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review
October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've spent thousands of hours over the last 7 years volunteering in all areas at this amazing Center, working behind the scenes in animal care, building secure habitats, raising young animals, and leading public tours. My husband and I began volunteering because we love animals, but we stayed because we saw how incredibly HAPPY the animals are in their lives here, how KNOWLEDGEABLE the founders and staff are about all aspects of captive management and larger conservation issues, and how ETHICAL the business and care practices are at all levels. This is a truly special place. So many reviews mention the passion, the respect and care, and the beautiful relationships that they see when on tour. Speaking from the inside, all of this is very real -- a reflection of the heart of the Center. I'm so happy it's visible to visitors; I'm even more honored to have been a part of it for such a long time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Endow it with the funding to make its educational mission easier to accomplish.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I've had the opportunity to visit the Conservators' Center twice as a guest - the first time with 100 elementary school children on a field trip and the second time on a photo safari tour. Both times I was treated to a wonderful experience with tour guides who truly cared about the animals they are entrusted with and the guests to the center. Our tour guide for the elementary students was able to answer every single question the students posed - and anyone with young children knows they come up with questions that can be quite challenging! Our field trip tour was one our students still talk about months afterwards. My photo tour almost can't be described (by me anyway) because it was so amazing. My tour guide knew exactly when and where to take me to get the most wonderful photos of the animals. He was able to get wolves to howl and Lions to call to each other - giving me amazing photo memories that I treasure.
October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 5, 2012

My husband and I have visited there several times over the years and find it a remarkable place. I teach at a junior college and every new class I show my students the Converservator Center website. ... more

October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It is a wonderful place!! All of the animals are so loved and the staff are caring and loving individuals who really love the animals. I tell everyone I know about this wonderful place. It is not every day you can up close to a lion or tiger. Here they are right in front of you and are so beautiful. The most interesting animals to me are the Binturongs ( or bear cats). They are so cool. They smell like corn chips and take other animals as pets. :)

Linda Cohen :)
April 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have visited there several times over the years and find it a remarkable place. I teach at a junior college and every new class I show my students the Converservator Center website. The animals are genuinely loved and it shows. I highly recommend going there for a wonderful experience. I love the zoo but to see a lion you have to use your binoculors. Here they are a few feet away. But not to worry. The staff are very professional and know how to handle the animals and things there are very safe. -- Linda Cohen :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My three friends and I went on a tour and were treated with great respect by the volunteers. You could immediately tell that they all have a true connection with these animals and are truly devoted to their well being. They answered all of our questions, let us take our time admiring all of their animals and we all even got to roar with the lions and howl with the wolves. It was an unforgettable experience and one we hope to have again soon!!!!
October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I went on three (3) different tours (Adult Adventure, Treats & Toys and Adult Twilight) at the Conservators' Center this past summer (2014) when my daughter, Courtney, was working a 6 weeks Summer internship there between her Junior & Senior years of college. It's like nothing you've ever seen or heard before. Definitely something you have to experience yourself to truly know what it feels like to meet & learn about an animal you never knew existed, to be only a few feet from a tiger when he stands up on his hind legs for a treat, turning a corner & coming face to face with the wolves for the first time or hearing the lions oofing to one another. Hearing the stories of how all of these beautiful creatures came to be at the Conservators' Center will both make you laugh & break your heart. You'll never look at a picture of someone holding a tiger cub with envy because you'll think about Arthur Tiger and his life before coming to the Conservators' Center. The love & dedication of each person involved in caring for these animals is evident in everything they do 24/7 365 days a year. The tour guides are extremely knowledgeable. The Visitors Center staff are friendly & helpful. The keepers, interns & volunteers are insane - working long hot & cold hours to ensure the needs of every animal are met daily. The animals are happy, engaged & healthy living in a place where they are loved. My daughter continues to work at the Conservators' Center as an Animal Care volunteer because being there makes her happy. I'm happy being there too. We're both looking forward to the upcoming Pumpkin Prowl & Tree Toss tours!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been to the center 4 times and I never tire of the tours, the enthusiasm and dedication of the staff and volunteers and the experience of seeing these beautiful animals. I loved it so much that I adopted one of the lions. This is a dream come true for me as I have always loved big cats. I highly recommend this as a lovely day trip for anyone who has a love for animals. You will always remember this experience!
October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Conservators Center is an amazing place. You can see the love for the animals and everything that is done to keep them healthy and happy. We have visited several times and have more trips planned. It is great to see that these animals will be able to live out their lives in comfort and love. The center is also a great education on not just the animals they house but on animal trafficking and profiting off of animals. It always warms my heart to visit with the animals and to hear the amazing stories.
October 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My first experience at the Convservator's Center was the best birthday present I've ever gotten. I got to see Servals and a freaking cute young Caracal. I found out what Binturongs are and why they are important! I heard the wolves howl, met some New Guinea singing dogs and a Dog who pretended to be a New Guinea singing dog just to find his Furever home, and saw their beautiful and graceful neighbors Ramsey and Savannah Leopard. I could tell that all of these animals were loved and cared for regardless of the situations they came from.

Then I had an experience that changed my life forever. Standing less than 5 feet in front of Matthai Lion, face to face with one of the most beautiful creatures I've ever seen, I witnessed the sheer power of somewhere between 10 and 20 lions oofing (think roaring) which is the way they say greet each other! Imagine something so powerful that it both physically and emotionally rattles your core! I do not have the words to explain how powerful this is!

After seeing the lions we got to chuffle with the tigers who are also beautiful and powerful creatures! I may be partial to the lions (My wife and I adopt Kiara, a beautiful lioness off of the tour path) and have a sweet spot for the beautiful tigers and leopards, but don't let them steal all of your attention! The conservator's center is home to almost 90 animals, every single one special in their own way, each one loved and cared for in every way they need.

The Conservator's Center is an experience that should not be missed. Every single volunteer and staff member loves what they do and cares for and respect the animals. You can hear it in the stories that they tell about the animals that they love.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do absolutely nothing. Everything that I've seen fits together so perfectly.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

What an amazing operation. The care, dedication, and passion that this place has for these rescued animals is evident throughout. The staff clearly loves what they do and their relationship with the animals is wonderful. You are able to have a very personal, up close experience that is also very safe. We enjoyed this wonderful and unique place and are so very grateful for how they care for these beautiful animals.
October 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first visited the Conservator's center over a year ago. I fell in love! I love the animals, their stories, and the way the animal's care comes first! Many of these animals have some sad stories. Most are geriatric. Seeing them being cared for & living out their golden years surrounded by love is a very humbling experience. You get to observe these animals up close. You not only hear the lions oofing or wolves howling or singing dogs singing... You FEEL it. It's something you have to experience. I've brought several people to go on tours & one of them now volunteers there. I find myself trying to find different ways I can help the center because I believe in their mission & that seems to be the effect the center has on people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create more "customized" tours would be a great way to raise more money.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

go through our orientation and help with animal food preparation, gardening, or a minor maintenance project Volunteer