Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

Conservation Canines is an incredible non-profit. Every team member is dedicated, hard-working, cares deeply about the Ck9s and the environment. We are all here to make a difference and working the scat detection dogs is a part of that. They are great ambassadors for endangered and threatened species all over the world. Every day this program is out doing their best to help change the world, it's a thrill to be part of it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 22, 2013

I have been so fortunate to work with this non-profit for the last 4.5 years. It has changed my life. I met my two best friends via the program... they happen to be furry, fluffy and have four legs ... more

September 5, 2013

I started out as an unpaid volunteer 7 years ago and I'm still with this non-profit. It's a job I feel really good about: rescuing shelter dogs, training them to do fieldwork, getting them out there to do something they were born to do, hopefully saving or at least bringing attention to the plight of endangered species around the globe, and making life-long best friends while you're at it, both canine and human ;) What's not to love? This is an amazing organization, truly original in scope.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to go to more wildlife conferences to get the word out about how fantastic this kind of non-invasive survey method is but we are always stymied by lack of funding.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

I have been so fortunate to work with this non-profit for the last 4.5 years. It has changed my life. I met my two best friends via the program... they happen to be furry, fluffy and have four legs each. Max is a blue-heeler who packs a lot of 'tude and Scooby is a black lab who thinks he's a 70 pound lap puppy. I have traveled the world with them, collecting back data that I hope will aid in wildlife conservation. What's not to love about this nonprofit?! Help us continue to adopt more dogs to conduct critical wildlife surveys. We need your support!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

My life changed a year ago when I was accepted to work with Conservation Canines. I've been fortunate enough to work on two projects and meet two of the most loving, hilarious, and furry co-workers. Both dogs that I have had the pleasure of getting to know were out of options before they came to us. To know that this organization not only gives many doggy lives a second chance, but allows them to excel in their field while inspiring others (I'm amazed every day) makes me proud to work for CK9. I can only hope to continue working for this unique non-profit where we will strive to better wildlife conservation efforts on both a local and global scale!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

I first found out about Conservation Canines over a year ago when I was looking for interesting field jobs. As a field biologist and dog lover this combined two things I loved... conservation work and playing with dogs!! I worked for CK9 this past winter and met and worked with a great pup, Winnie!! It is so great that not only are they doing great work in conservation they are also rescuing some awesome dogs and giving them a home when they otherwise couldn't find one. I hope to continue working with CK9 and my girl Winnie in the future!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 16, 2012

The Conservation Canines at the University of Washington do amazing work to help scientists better understand the well being of wildlife throughout the world. The really cool thing about this program,... more

October 30, 2012

As the Marketing and Communications Director at the University of Washington, I get to work with Conservation Canines in a unique sort of way. I get to help them tell their story and through this process I get to learn about all the work the dogs are doing to help us better understand what is happening in the natural world. Their work has helped our scientists have a much more thorough understanding of what is happening in a variety of ecosystems. They are able to detect killer whale scat from a mile away, they can smell turtle eggs and lead researchers to hard to find nests, they can detect salamander in New Mexico and they track down the tiniest scat from pocket mice in the Sierra Nevadas. Their sense of smell and tenacity to play with a ball has provided lots of insight into the impact that mankind is having on certain threatened and endangered species around the world. Plus, who doesn't love a cute, furry, happy faced dog?!!! They are definitely one of the most fun aspects of my job and the handlers who work with the dogs are fantastic to work with as well. And, all of this from dogs that were rescued from shelters (many of them from kill shelters). What a life changing experience for these dogs, their handlers and now lots of other animals in our natural world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 16, 2012

The Conservation Canines at the University of Washington do amazing work to help scientists better understand the well being of wildlife throughout the world. The really cool thing about this program, is that it uses almost exclusively dogs that are found in shelters. Quite a few of the dogs were rescued from kill shelters and now they are doing a very meaningful job. The dogs detect the scat of a variety of species and the scat is then analyzed in the Center's lab to glean valuable information about wildlife without using invasive tracking and tagging. Through DNA analysis of the scat, scientists are able to learn everything from an animal's diet to its stress level to its reproductive health. The dogs are able to detect scat even in the deepest snow fall, which has proven useful in research done on moose, caribou and wolf in the Alberta Oil Sands. The dogs spend up to six months in the field, depending on research funding and the data required. Before a study begins, dogs train for up to a month to identify a specific animal's scat. The Conservation Canines have sniffed scat on three continents for studies of more than a dozen species including bear, tiger, leopard, jaguar, bobcat, wolf, wolverine, caribou, moose, cougar, badger, lynx, pocket mouse, killer whale, and sea turtle. These dogs need our private support to supplement the dwindling government grants. Private support would enable the Conservation Canines to conduct pilot projects at a reduced cost and demonstrate to prospective clients just what the dogs can do. It is amazing the amount of data that scientists are able to study based on the scat samples. And, the best thing is that wildlife doesn't have to be trapped or tagged to get extremely detailed information.

Photos

Videos

Segment of Timeless Discoveries that talks about Conservation Canines

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

Conservation Canines (CK9s) is truly an incredible program. In the years that I have known the CK9s, they have traveled to six different countries and throughout the United States to aid scientists studying endangered and threatened species. Their dogs work to detect scat from the Pacific pocket mouse to the Indochinese tiger and the Southern Resident killer whales all for the chance to play ball. CK9s are fantastic ambassadors for the field of conservation biology worldwide and it is always rewarding to see first hand what they working to accomplish.

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 25, 2012

more

April 25, 2012

I've been fortunate to be a part of this organization for the past few years. Prior to coming here, I had no idea what this type of research entailed and all the benefits of it. The great part of Conservation Canines is the non-invasive survey technique coupled with rescuing dogs from local animal shelters. Its great to be able to study endangered/threatened animals knowing you are not harming them in any way. In fact, I rarely ever see whatever animal we are studying, just what it has left behind. But perhaps one of the greatest things is our working companions. Many of our rescued dogs faced being euthanized due to their high energy which made them unsuitable for many homes. These guys make the perfect workers(even thought its all playtime to them) and best friends you can ask for.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2012

more

April 24, 2012

Hi, I´m a wildlife biologist from Uruguay, South America. The work of Conservation Canines is invaluable, the are the best example of a new era on non-invasive research. Through the use of these conservation dogs, researcher´s can have access to a lot of information about wildlife without even get closer to the study animal. They found scats and other wildlife signs, that are very useful to wildlife studies, specially molecular studies. With one scat and through molecular studies you can know the species, sex, breeding status and a lot more. The dogs find easily these signs and help the researcher to find more samples on less time. I contact researcher´s of these group to get some advice on how apply and train dogs for conservation on my country, and they give me her complete support and help. This is an amazing conservation project that deserves theTop-Rated Green Nonprofit recognition. Thanks by your time!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012

more

April 22, 2012

Amazing program. Enthusiastic dogs and people! The dogs health and well being is definitely the main priority. When they aren't on a project, they have a nice place to stay in Washington where they can rest up or train for the next project. When you watch a dog work to find scat, it is very apparent that they love it. Great research is being done because of these active, motivated dogs that were given a second chance.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 21, 2012

more

April 21, 2012

I have had the honor and pleasure of being the driver on the research vessel Moja, working with CK9 Tucker and his handler Liz Seely, for the past three years on the Southern Resident Killer Whale Project in Washington State. Liz and Tucker are the most amazing team, able to cooperatively find killer whale fecal matter in the dynamic and unpredictable waters of Puget Sound. Although I have gotten to witness this team in action hundreds of times, it never ceases to amaze me that they can guide our research vessel right to a fecal sample, sometimes from as far away as a mile. As a research who has been conducting whale behavior research on the Southern Residents for the past 7 years, I honestly believe that the Conservation Canines - scat detection project is our very best hope for finding out what is impacting the declining Southern Resident killer whale population the most. This information will help guide policy for the recovery of this endangered population of whales.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers