Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

This nonprofit is great for so many reasons. The scat-detection dogs used in their data collection are mostly rescued from animal shelters and pounds where they might have been euthanized otherwise. The method (scat- detection) is non-invasive - it has no harmful effect on the subject animals being studied. It is helping to learn the causes of decline, and the ways to save, endangered or threatened species. At the home facility they even compost the dog poop produced, minimizing impacts on the local landfill and waterways.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

Volunteering for CK9 has been an amazing experience. Working on the Southern Resident Killer Whale project on the San Juan Islands has shown me the powerful ability of a working dog to effectively locate scat in adverse conditions, and how hard work by these dogs and their incredibly talented handlers turns into results that aid conservation biology efforts. The teams are very well educated in the biological, social, and political issues that impact the species-at-risk, and the non-invasive methods and high appeal of the working dogs is a great way to promote and educate the public on recovery efforts and ethically responsible conservation biology. The fact that rescue dogs are given a home and a lifestyle that suits their energy level is an added benefit to an already amazing program. I can attest first-hand to the difference it makes in the lives of the dogs, who live for the reward that follows finding scat and for the chance to play with their handler, who becomes their partner and friend. The work being done by Conservation Canines is important for habitat-scale management of threatened species, and also at the personal level for the canines and biologists that partner to do this intense, high-risk and high-reward work consistently throughout the year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

Conservation Canines is an incredible non-profit that can achieve environmental goals that others can only begin to imagine. Using scat detection dogs for non-invasive wildlife research has real impacts on saving endangered wildlife worldwide, and it is achieved by hard-work and passion by the CK9-ers. I have had the chance to work as biologist on CK9's southern resident killer whale project and I am consistently impressed with their professionalism and dedication to the field of conservation biology. Handlers interactions with their dogs is inspirational and it is obvious that the dogs love what they do. I have never met happier dogs! Living with these dogs, I can attest that they are difficult for the average owner to keep up with, but it can be incredible to see the dogs given the chance to excel. Conservation Canines is a unique non-profit in its ability to impact environmental change on a global scale, and impact the lives of dogs by giving them a second chance. I cannot recommend this non-profit enough.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the amount of funding this organization receives so they can have the tools they need to complete the amazing work that they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

I worked with Conservation Canines (CK-9) in the field as a summer intern. it was such a great experience to work with such a wonderful organization. The dog handlers are so dedicated and passionate about their work. They will be up until 2am filling in data and making plans so that samples won't be missed the next day. Whether they are working in the blazing sun battling sun burns, or making a trail in 5 feet of snow, they keep up a great attitude. The goals of the projects are all conservation focused and obtain results like no other sampling methods allow for. Everything about CK-9 is admirable from the dogs to the staff and should be supported for future research projects to utilize.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them with extra funding so they can take on more research projects.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 25, 2012

Working alongside many of the remarkably dedicated canines and their handlers in the northern Appalachian Mountains and the Canadian Rockies is one of the most memorial experiences of my life. The ex... more

May 20, 2013

A great group of people and dogs, amazing to watch as they work. It's really wonderful how much they can do to advance the research which aids in the preservation of our planet's wildlife, all with little or no interaction with the actual wildlife.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 25, 2012

Working alongside many of the remarkably dedicated canines and their handlers in the northern Appalachian Mountains and the Canadian Rockies is one of the most memorial experiences of my life. The excitement these dogs project while working in the field is matched only be their exceptionable ability. What better way to help the world's wildlife than a method that has so little interaction with the animals. This is one of the best homes in the world for any dog with a desire to play fetch and be active. My wife and I raised our yellow lab from 4 weeks old until he was almost 4 years old. When we decided he was too hyper to be around our new baby girl, there was no choice in our minds where he would be the happiest. I am immensely proud that my loving and wonderful dog has become a Conservation Canine.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 21, 2012

more

April 21, 2012

Conservation Canines is a great program with a big heart. Most of that heart comes from the energetic dogs who love what they do and the handlers who get the privilege to work along side of them. From homeless to heroes, these dogs are making field research more scientifically rewarding and less invasive for the wildlife we are trying to save.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 21, 2012

more

April 21, 2012

After 7 years of experience in wildlife ecology, one of the biggest problems I see with the way research is conventionally done is the impact scientists themselves have on the wildlife they are trying to conserve. When I found Conservation Canines, I was amazed at their commitment to non-invasive research techniques that produce even better data than more traditional methods. I had the pleasure of volunteering two years in a row, seeing the dogs in action and even doing a little training myself. The dogs consistently blew me away with their skills, even straight out of the shelter almost instantly catching on (with the help of experienced trainers, of course). Not only does Conservation Canines save the dogs themselves, but the dogs help save a huge variety of wildlife species with better, more efficient and less invasive data collection than mere humans are capable of.

Photos

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money so they can hire a bunch of management staff, save more dogs and take on more research projects without needing to consider funding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 17, 2012

more

April 17, 2012

The Conservation Canine program provides the world with one of the
most excellent non invasive methods of species detection. I feel that
through my personal experience, I have grown as an individual coming
to appreciate the value of life along with the impact humans have on
the
world. I find it incredible that not only does this program
utilize their skills to save the lives of endangered wildlife, but to
save the lives of our canine companions. These people, and these dogs
have truly had one of the most positive and profound impacts on my
life. Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers