Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
April 25, 2012

more

April 25, 2012

I've been fortunate to be a part of this organization for the past few years. Prior to coming here, I had no idea what this type of research entailed and all the benefits of it. The great part of Conservation Canines is the non-invasive survey technique coupled with rescuing dogs from local animal shelters. Its great to be able to study endangered/threatened animals knowing you are not harming them in any way. In fact, I rarely ever see whatever animal we are studying, just what it has left behind. But perhaps one of the greatest things is our working companions. Many of our rescued dogs faced being euthanized due to their high energy which made them unsuitable for many homes. These guys make the perfect workers(even thought its all playtime to them) and best friends you can ask for.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2012

more

April 24, 2012

Hi, I´m a wildlife biologist from Uruguay, South America. The work of Conservation Canines is invaluable, the are the best example of a new era on non-invasive research. Through the use of these conservation dogs, researcher´s can have access to a lot of information about wildlife without even get closer to the study animal. They found scats and other wildlife signs, that are very useful to wildlife studies, specially molecular studies. With one scat and through molecular studies you can know the species, sex, breeding status and a lot more. The dogs find easily these signs and help the researcher to find more samples on less time. I contact researcher´s of these group to get some advice on how apply and train dogs for conservation on my country, and they give me her complete support and help. This is an amazing conservation project that deserves theTop-Rated Green Nonprofit recognition. Thanks by your time!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012

more

April 22, 2012

Amazing program. Enthusiastic dogs and people! The dogs health and well being is definitely the main priority. When they aren't on a project, they have a nice place to stay in Washington where they can rest up or train for the next project. When you watch a dog work to find scat, it is very apparent that they love it. Great research is being done because of these active, motivated dogs that were given a second chance.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 21, 2012

more

April 21, 2012

Conservation Canines is a great program with a big heart. Most of that heart comes from the energetic dogs who love what they do and the handlers who get the privilege to work along side of them. From homeless to heroes, these dogs are making field research more scientifically rewarding and less invasive for the wildlife we are trying to save.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 21, 2012

more

April 21, 2012

I've seen several demos of these dogs at work with their handlers. They obviously LOVE what they do, and work so hard to please - that is, to accomplish the tasks the team sets out to do. Because then they get to play! Of course, these are are not your average dogs; they are in top physical shape, at ideal weight, groomed meticulously, full of stamina. They are helping to gather vast amounts of data to help scientists learn how multiple factors are affecting wildlife in their natural habitat, without intruding on the wild animals themselves. And I love the fact they are placed in a loving, screened home at the end of their scat-detection career.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2012

more

April 21, 2012

After 7 years of experience in wildlife ecology, one of the biggest problems I see with the way research is conventionally done is the impact scientists themselves have on the wildlife they are trying to conserve. When I found Conservation Canines, I was amazed at their commitment to non-invasive research techniques that produce even better data than more traditional methods. I had the pleasure of volunteering two years in a row, seeing the dogs in action and even doing a little training myself. The dogs consistently blew me away with their skills, even straight out of the shelter almost instantly catching on (with the help of experienced trainers, of course). Not only does Conservation Canines save the dogs themselves, but the dogs help save a huge variety of wildlife species with better, more efficient and less invasive data collection than mere humans are capable of.

Photos

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money so they can hire a bunch of management staff, save more dogs and take on more research projects without needing to consider funding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 21, 2012

more

April 21, 2012

I have had the honor and pleasure of being the driver on the research vessel Moja, working with CK9 Tucker and his handler Liz Seely, for the past three years on the Southern Resident Killer Whale Project in Washington State. Liz and Tucker are the most amazing team, able to cooperatively find killer whale fecal matter in the dynamic and unpredictable waters of Puget Sound. Although I have gotten to witness this team in action hundreds of times, it never ceases to amaze me that they can guide our research vessel right to a fecal sample, sometimes from as far away as a mile. As a research who has been conducting whale behavior research on the Southern Residents for the past 7 years, I honestly believe that the Conservation Canines - scat detection project is our very best hope for finding out what is impacting the declining Southern Resident killer whale population the most. This information will help guide policy for the recovery of this endangered population of whales.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2012

more

April 21, 2012

There is really no limit to what these dogs can do. The research that comes from the work of dog and human is so amazing. It's wonderful to see these dogs get a second chance...especially when that chance brings so much to the community and the world at large!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 21, 2012

more

April 21, 2012

Anytime an animal can be rescued from the shelter is a great thing, but the things they train these dogs to do is truly amazing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 21, 2012

more

April 21, 2012

This incredible group utilizes canines from animal shelters to complete non-invasive population studies for various forms of wildlife. The talent of not only the canines but the people involved with the program is extroidinary. I was completely amazed the first time I witnessed the tracking and sorting capabilities of these animals. Who would have every thought you could use a dog to help track a killer whale?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers