Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
May 21, 2013

more

May 21, 2013

As a biologist I was lucky enough to work alongside Conservation Canines and was impressed by their professionalism and work ethics. Whether it was getting up at 3am, crawling through honey bushes or working under 86F heat, they always provided a remarkable assistance and lead to find those precious faeces!! They made this survey possible and have opened a world of new possibilities to improve ecological surveys.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 25, 2012

Working alongside many of the remarkably dedicated canines and their handlers in the northern Appalachian Mountains and the Canadian Rockies is one of the most memorial experiences of my life. The ex... more

May 20, 2013

A great group of people and dogs, amazing to watch as they work. It's really wonderful how much they can do to advance the research which aids in the preservation of our planet's wildlife, all with little or no interaction with the actual wildlife.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 25, 2012

Working alongside many of the remarkably dedicated canines and their handlers in the northern Appalachian Mountains and the Canadian Rockies is one of the most memorial experiences of my life. The excitement these dogs project while working in the field is matched only be their exceptionable ability. What better way to help the world's wildlife than a method that has so little interaction with the animals. This is one of the best homes in the world for any dog with a desire to play fetch and be active. My wife and I raised our yellow lab from 4 weeks old until he was almost 4 years old. When we decided he was too hyper to be around our new baby girl, there was no choice in our minds where he would be the happiest. I am immensely proud that my loving and wonderful dog has become a Conservation Canine.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Conservation canines have worked with us to detect the endangered Pacific pocket mouse and the American badger in San Diego County. They are extremely professional and a pleasure to work with! Very highly recommended.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 16, 2012

The Conservation Canines at the University of Washington do amazing work to help scientists better understand the well being of wildlife throughout the world. The really cool thing about this program,... more

October 30, 2012

As the Marketing and Communications Director at the University of Washington, I get to work with Conservation Canines in a unique sort of way. I get to help them tell their story and through this process I get to learn about all the work the dogs are doing to help us better understand what is happening in the natural world. Their work has helped our scientists have a much more thorough understanding of what is happening in a variety of ecosystems. They are able to detect killer whale scat from a mile away, they can smell turtle eggs and lead researchers to hard to find nests, they can detect salamander in New Mexico and they track down the tiniest scat from pocket mice in the Sierra Nevadas. Their sense of smell and tenacity to play with a ball has provided lots of insight into the impact that mankind is having on certain threatened and endangered species around the world. Plus, who doesn't love a cute, furry, happy faced dog?!!! They are definitely one of the most fun aspects of my job and the handlers who work with the dogs are fantastic to work with as well. And, all of this from dogs that were rescued from shelters (many of them from kill shelters). What a life changing experience for these dogs, their handlers and now lots of other animals in our natural world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 16, 2012

The Conservation Canines at the University of Washington do amazing work to help scientists better understand the well being of wildlife throughout the world. The really cool thing about this program, is that it uses almost exclusively dogs that are found in shelters. Quite a few of the dogs were rescued from kill shelters and now they are doing a very meaningful job. The dogs detect the scat of a variety of species and the scat is then analyzed in the Center's lab to glean valuable information about wildlife without using invasive tracking and tagging. Through DNA analysis of the scat, scientists are able to learn everything from an animal's diet to its stress level to its reproductive health. The dogs are able to detect scat even in the deepest snow fall, which has proven useful in research done on moose, caribou and wolf in the Alberta Oil Sands. The dogs spend up to six months in the field, depending on research funding and the data required. Before a study begins, dogs train for up to a month to identify a specific animal's scat. The Conservation Canines have sniffed scat on three continents for studies of more than a dozen species including bear, tiger, leopard, jaguar, bobcat, wolf, wolverine, caribou, moose, cougar, badger, lynx, pocket mouse, killer whale, and sea turtle. These dogs need our private support to supplement the dwindling government grants. Private support would enable the Conservation Canines to conduct pilot projects at a reduced cost and demonstrate to prospective clients just what the dogs can do. It is amazing the amount of data that scientists are able to study based on the scat samples. And, the best thing is that wildlife doesn't have to be trapped or tagged to get extremely detailed information.

Photos

Videos

Segment of Timeless Discoveries that talks about Conservation Canines

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I came across this group while browsing environmental studies run by colleges. It seemed so "duh" to me I couldn't resist learning more about it, and once I did I was near tears at how amazing this program is. This is more than just your typical "support dogs who need homes" non-profit, this is a smart non-profit, set up because there was an objective by the University of Washington that they couldn't fulfill on their own, so they looked for alternatives. This non-profit is a perfect example of the type of thinking we need for the future! Using the resources and systems we already have in place to make improvements in other areas. And what kind of freak doesn't love dogs?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

Not only is the Conservation Canines team providing valuable insight for important research projects around the world, they have given shelter dogs new leases on life! The researchers associated with these projects work tirelessly to get the scat samples and reward the dogs as they do their work. The humans and dogs associated with the Conservation Canines rock!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

Based on environmental merit alone, Conservation Canines deserves recognition. That said, their use of dogs rescued from shelters adds more substance to an already worthwhile program. A great example of how we should work *with* nature for its benefit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

Conservation Canines (CK9s) is truly an incredible program. In the years that I have known the CK9s, they have traveled to six different countries and throughout the United States to aid scientists studying endangered and threatened species. Their dogs work to detect scat from the Pacific pocket mouse to the Indochinese tiger and the Southern Resident killer whales all for the chance to play ball. CK9s are fantastic ambassadors for the field of conservation biology worldwide and it is always rewarding to see first hand what they working to accomplish.

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2012

more

April 26, 2012

I have had the honor of watching these handlers and dogs in action. They are all extremely professional. Nothing is more important to the handlers than the well being of the dogs. The dogs are extremely hardworking and happy. They have a wonderful place to live. The work they do is extremely important to our future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2012

more

April 26, 2012

The rewarding field research done by Conservation Canines is beneficial to wildlife and conservation. The program trains rescued dogs to do non-invasive research with great skill. The staff and dogs are dedicated and impressive in their work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers